Futurism logo

Once More Around the Sun

spaceboy

By Michael LejuezPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

I had to learn their complex systems and be able to independently navigate my way around the deep space ship they engineered. I think they were surprised at how quickly I got the hang of things and frankly, so was I. I even made a close friend with one of the suit engineers, a young intern named Devan.

Throughout all the training and lessons to understand the systems, there was never any real time to get to know any of the scientists here. But it is different when you are asked to stand or sit still for what could be hours at a time as someone fits different pieces of a space suit onto you.

Because of this, Devan and I were actually able to learn more about each other. He was extremely energetic and filled me in on how excited he was to be working on this mission to spread humanity out amongst the galaxy. He was greatly interested in my mutation and let me know that all the scientists here viewed me as some type of superhero with my ability to venture into deep space without the same effects on my body structure. He made me aware that humans could lose two percent of their muscle and bone density every month in microgravity due to atrophy. That I was a true anomaly invigorated the scientists here and gave them hope for a better tomorrow. That excited me as well and gave me a strong feeling of purpose, which is far from where I was only a few weeks ago.

It was all an evolutionary chance, a mutation that changed my life forever. A mutation which altered my bone and muscular makeup, to the point where it did not degrade at the same rate as other humans. At any other time in human history this mutation would have gone unnoticed, but humanity was on the precipice of a dire future for Earth, with dwindling resources from overpopulation and climate change forcing resource wars and mass migration of all animals across the planet searching for safety.

NASA believed our safety was amongst the stars and they discovered my mutation after doctors were about to take bone marrow from me to make some extra money. They ran all kinds of tests to identify the compositional difference from other humans and this data somehow made its way to NASA. From there, they brought me into their scientific facilities to go through further testing, determining my structural resilience to atrophy from deep space exploration.

They explained to me that engineers had created the propulsion technology to take us to the far off reaches of our galaxy, but had not yet been able to develop the AI to efficiently bring back conclusive results. They believed I could last out in the emptiness of space for months to several years without damaging effects based on their results, allowing me to potentially identify a possible new world for humanity.

They started me off with small journeys, my first to the moon base and back. They wanted to see how my body reacted initially to the hostile environment, coming back with no health issues.

They then sent me to Jupiter to extend my duration to a few weeks in space, capturing pictures of the planet and experiencing something I only could fantasize about when younger. I returned after those few weeks and as I walked on my own weight through the complex, eyes analyzed me with amazement, soon learning that normally astronauts would have to take months to recover from the trip I had just taken.

I felt a sense of isolation at that moment, more so than when I orbited Jupiter all alone with nothing but the onboard devices keeping me alive. As if I was no longer human to the people around me, but a familiar voice soon broke me out of my transience.

“How was your journey?”

Devan was there to greet me.

“Felt longer than a month.”

“Let’s get you out of that suit.”

NASA kept me on a short leash, making sure I was never too far from operations. It was not long before I had my new mission to head to the outer rim of our solar system, a journey that would take about a year. I was tasked with identifying the presence of asteroids heading towards Earth and establishing their size and speed. Devan helped me put on my suit before heading off and I noticed a new band on his finger.

“Hey that's new.”

“Yes, Luna and I are getting married this weekend.”

“Wow congrats! Well here’s to a happy one year anniversary when I return.”

“Thanks, I’m sorry you won't be able to make it but I’ll have some pictures for when you return.”

“I’m counting on it. I’ll bring back some pictures of my own for an anniversary gift.”

I made my traditional walk out to the space deck, eyes on me again, now with much less nerves than my first flight. This would be my longest journey so far but I would get to see sights that no human had the opportunity to witness with their own eyes. It would be a lonely journey as well, but there were several refueling stations along the way to help alter the pace of what otherwise would have been a very static voyage. I walked the last leg of the shuttle bridge, the crew finishing up their final checks as I stepped into the shuttle. The door was then sealed until it was time for takeoff, the engines beginning their low growl before the final countdown was initiated. The shuttle took off with a controlled shutter and I was off on my longest journey yet amongst the stars.

The rings of Saturn shone amongst the dark as I passed the stellar body, taking several fly by pictures before the ship guided me on into the expanse towards the outer rim. The ship had an onboard system to highlight dangerous debris, picking up large asteroids within the belt just on the edge of the system. It was a massive wall of heavy planetary chunks of a long ago time of chaos when the system was still forming. The system picked up a few pieces which were able to move through the belt, but none that would endanger Earth, thanks largely to Jupiter and its protective size to suck most of them in before getting to us. It was dark out here and cold, the grasp of the sun's rays unable to still puncture the thick blackness. I thought to myself how incredible it was to be able to make it all the way out here, but the silence was growing on me and the ship’s systems once again provided the only noise onboard. I had brought a music sleeve this time though, making sure to upload my favorites for the long journey. I would be here for another 4 months before making my way back to the refuel station to get me home. Back through the darkness towards the light.

Luckily the fueling station had some entertainment to keep me preoccupied before heading back home on the last leg of the return journey. This deep space excursion felt much longer than a year, but garnered some great shots on the edge of the solar system. Devan and his wife were about to get a whole photo album for their anniversary.

The welcome home was standard NASA protocol and they even brought the wheel chair out for me just in case. It was not necessary though and I returned to the facility feeling the same as when I had left. Again the eyes of amazement and bewilderment left me feeling more and more like a test subject than a fellow colleague as I walked through operations for diagnostics. Devan was waiting for me there.

“You better have gotten some great shots of Saturn for my wife, that’s her favorite planet.”

Devan helped him with his suit to release the clamps sealing it.

“Oh shit! I think I forgot to turn the cameras on when I passed.”

There were a few worried glances from the other scientists in the room before Devan and I started laughing with each other.

“Don’t you worry Devan, I may have found a ring she'll like even more than the one you got for her.”

There was another brief limbo period before the next assigned mission which I learned would be a 10-15 year journey to an exoplanet double the size of Earth. I made sure to put a few extra songs on my digital sleeves for this one. I don’t think I truly grasped how long those years would feel like, but I left as Devan completed putting my suit on, giving each other a friendly handshake and sending off with a notion that nothing too drastic would have changed by the time I returned. I was wrong though with those years feeling as if they were doubled by the time navigation set my return journey for home. The exoplanet was double the size of Earth alright, but also too far outside the goldilocks zone from its star to be habitable for humans. NASA probably could have estimated that one from back home, but they had to test out the extent of my capabilities.

My physical capabilities surpassed all initial beliefs, once again returning to operations on the strength of my own two feet. The deep space isolation had gotten to me though, the darkness and emptiness of space having seeped into this anomaly of a man. I was withdrawn from everything around me, having spent so much time in my head to keep me preoccupied in the expanse. A test subject to be dissected and researched. I did not say a single word to Devan as he removed the pieces to my suit even as he tried to engage with me. I could notice he was older and looked a bit more tired but no joke or acknowledgement seemed worth the energy. My next journey was awaiting.

A 30 year trip this go around. This one took me to a planet with potential, one within the goldilocks zone and conditions suitable for life. It had promise and when I arrived at it, imaging and video showed signs of all types of fauna and life already establishing itself. A planet full of incredible and vibrant colors that surpassed even that of our Earth. It was what humanity was searching for and I had helped them find it. A feeling I had not felt in a long time suddenly came to the surface, a sense of excitement. It reignited something inside me that I had felt when I first began at NASA, that there was a purpose beyond just myself. When it was finally time to head home, the return journey did not feel so lonely and empty. I would be able to share the lush green and blue images that enveloped the planet with Devan and operation, a second Earth.

The customary wheelchair was present as usual but I ran right past it, the excitement of my journey and discovery obvious to everyone around me. As I entered operation, I made my way right to suit maintenance to share the news with Devan. An unrecognizable face stood in his place though and I had remembered the extent of time this journey had truly been.

“Where is Devan?”

“Hello sir, I replaced him 10 years ago but he should still be living here. You had a long jou-...”

I immediately made my way for the exit, suit still fully on. I found a ride and typed in Devan's name, a picture of an old man popping up on the screen in front of me. I pressed accept and the ride took me to a secluded property on the edge of a peaceful lake. As I activated the front door with a command, an older woman gently answered and asked who it was.

“Luna, it is great to finally meet you, I was hoping I could speak to my old friend Devan, is he around?”

“Yes, please come in Spaceboy.”

Hearing the nickname made me laugh and cry at the same time, emotions I forgot I still had. The front door opened for me to enter and I heard voices emanating from a distant room. I entered it and saw a family surrounding a bed. As the family members cleared for me to see who was lying there, Devan’s old but familiar face smiled up at me.

“Let's get you out of that suit.”

His family extended their arms towards mine and embraced me in the circle around him.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michael Lejuez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.