Futurism logo

Oh Hell!

I'll Do It

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished about a month ago Updated about 8 hours ago 10 min read
Like
Pexels

Carrie sat there watching, but silent. It wasn’t the pale Carrie, but the one I had been used to seeing. The others were also quite somber. “I didn’t expect that,” she finally said “You were only gone a few minutes. I’ll get you something to drink.” She stood up and headed to a small table in the corner of the room. There were a few snacks and drinks spread out there for us, I guess, or the employees. I still wasn’t sure where I was. It was hard to remember. And then I remembered the hospital.

“We decided to come in and save you,” Uriel said. “It’s not something we usually do once one has made the decision, but…we felt sorry for you.” Mars groaned. “Especially Mars,” She added. He frowned. "So…what is the game plan?" She continued.

“Why are you asking me?”

“You’re the man.”

“You didn't say that on the other world.”

“That was another me.”

“Really? How did you know about this conversation then?”

“Because I’m an advanced being and realize that we are all connected. I can communicate across dimensions. You could too, if you hadn’t forgotten who you are, and if you weren't so stubborn and mean. Do you have to be hit on the head to do what’s right? To do what you agreed to do and came into the world to do? You're the problem here.”

“He’s like the Watchers, “ Mars said. “Let me tell you a little about your family. They were hard headed. They looked at the Earth and saw all of its potential and saw that the humans weren’t taking advantage of it. In fact, the humans were divided into little groups constantly fighting and as the groups grew they fought more instead of less.

"They thought they could step in as rulers on this unruly planet and force their ways onto the humans. They got blamed for corrupting the humans by human writers, but it was the opposite way around. When they became human they were corrupted by the humans. To keep the peace they had to become more violent than the humans and before they knew it they were locked in this dance with the human being forever, or until they correct their mistake. Guess what…it hasn’t been corrected and probably never will.”

“So we advanced souls come in to try to save our relatives who went astray by correcting their mistakes. Some of us come in the flesh, some in the spirit, but we are both doing the same thing…trying to take the poison out of the human psyche,” Carrie said.

“And what is that poison?” I asked.

“The Big Lie, of Course. It consists of two parts. One is that you don’t have any value unless you have control over at least something. The second is that the amount of value you have is proportional to what you have control over. No matter how hard, we can’t seem to get that out of the human psyche, or culture.”

“Well why do we keep coming?”

“I told you, dummy. To save our relatives from being trapped here and connected with these beings until the mistake can be corrected. You can’t hear, can you?”

“I can hear. I just think that you are full of it, if you know what I mean.”

Uriel started laughing.

“Stop that horrible noise,” Carrie said with a horrible grimace on her face. That made Mars grin from ear to ear. “They won’t take me seriously!"

“I wonder why that is,” I said.

“Probably because they are …”

“Watch it, Carrie!” Mars admonished. She was silent for a moment.

“Never mind,” she finally said. An awkward silence.

“You're Mars…a pagan god,” I said. “And you are Uriel, an archangel of the one God. How do those two things go together?” Mars and Uriel looked at each other and then back at me.

“The one god isn’t the one you are thinking of, maybe,” Mars said. “Any god you can speak of is only a representative of the one that is really the creator of everything, no matter what your religions on Earth say.”

“They are ignorant,” Uriel added. “That’s why they called the watchers and their children gods too. I feel sorry for those poor beings thinking that they could straighten out human beings. The humans are beyond hope.”

“Is that a good attitude for an angel to have who is trying to save humanity?”

“You are the one trying to do that. I am not going to make that mistake. I’m here to keep you safe. I won’t be attached to these beings like a ball and chain hoping, in vain, to break free and sometimes see the light of day and taste freedom again. They really aren't worth it. After you recycle some more and see the futility of your attachment to their salvation you’ll be saying the exact same thing. They just aren't worth it, and deserve to be ground back down to the elements from which they came: the background material to support meaningful things in the universe."

I shook my head. I didn’t know if I could even trust her, or him, or whatever this being was to protect me, if they felt that way about all humans. It looked like a woman, but was massive. She smiled, as if reading my mind, and I don’t doubt that she did.

“Some of us have duties that we carry out regardless of how we feel,” Uriel said. “The problem with you humans is that you only do that when you have something to gain for yourselves. In a snap you override your morals and ethics when it comes to that. And” she held up a hand, “to be fair, it isn’t every human. Humans are wonderful one on one most of the time with only few being useless and diabolical, but as a collective, humans are horrible. Unless the collective changes or a new one is not created, there will be pain and suffering for everything they meet and for those who are caring and kind. Awake, you would call them.”

“I would call them woke,” I said. “Even though the evil ones and the useful idiots are trying to demonize the word. They’ve been trying to for centuries, but it isn’t working. We are too woke for that.”

“Well being that we are all woke and all of that nonsense,” Mars asked, “what is your next step, Woke Master?”

“I haven’t a clue.”

“You will listen to us,” Carrie said.

“You’re crazy Carrie… across dimensions. Why would I listen to you?”

“I’m your guardian, that's why, you little fool. If I’m crazy and was chosen to be paired with you what does that make you? Now roll up your sleeves and get to work. Shit or get off the toilet.”

“Rude now on top of everything else,” I commented. “What’s the next step, robot?”

“I happen to be a higher life form, not a robot, thank you. First thing you need to do is learn something called manners. You have all of the bad ones. It’s time for you to acquire the good ones. Do I have to mother you? Do you have to be breastfed?”

“I’d like to see that,” Mars said.

“I would too,” I added. “But as tempting as it may be, no you don’t have to breastfeed me. From what I know, reptiles don’t really do that.”

“Let’s stop all of this arguing,” Uriel said. “What is the problem?”

“A bit of leftover drag from his visit to Hell, I would say,” Mars said. “Remember the other Carrie there was a blood sucker. He’s still pissed and doesn’t even know it. So human.”

I softened a little bit. I looked at Carrie, who had been a client and a person I had respected a great deal. I felt embarrassed. She smiled a bit and then looked away. She looked back at me.

“I understand your reactions to me,” she said. “I ‘m sorry for what you went through, but…” My eyes narrowed and my jaw tightened. She noticed. “I understand,” she simply said.

“Good. Just kiss and make up and let’s get on with it,” Uriel said. I looked at Carrie. I remembered being with her in the other world and making passionate love with her. That had been…not too bad. She tilted her head slightly and looked at me askance.

“What do we need to do,” I asked, breaking an awkward moment of silence.

“We destroy the world,” She said. “Like the floods of old except this time with fire. We wipe every man, woman and child out, or at least we let them do it themselves, as they have always wanted. All we need to do is give them the weapons and let them take care of it themselves.”

“We can’t destroy everyone, that’s crazy!” I said.

“We won’t kill them. We’ll let them kill themselves. We’ll give them the weapons and then their free will can decide whether to destroy each other or not. We’ve been limiting their knowledge and technology to stop them from doing it. Now, it’s all bets off. They want freedom, they will have total freedom and the consequences that go with it.”

“Whoa be the innocent,” Uriel said. “But even they have been clamoring for freedom. Let’s see how they handle it. And you, Dr. John, will do the work of talking them into not killing themselves. That’s all you have to do. And if you fail…no great loss.”

“And what will this, talking them out of it, look like?”

An explosion rocked the building. Someone was bombing the neutral zone. The hospital down the street was blown to bits and they were working on destroying just about every building on the block. “Don’t worry,” Carry said. “They won’t bomb our building because they know better. We’ve always been in charge. The whole human race are, how do you say it, ‘useful idiots.’ They’ve been that way for that last 10,000 years.”

***

The idiots destroyed everything and we didn’t even have to duck or take cover. We sat drinking coffee and watching as if nothing was happening as the innocents were being blown to pieces and buried in the rubble of collapsed apartment buildings, high rises, and residential buildings. I had never seen such carnage in my life. A war had just ended. What was going on? How had this just started? Would they fight forever?

Where were we? What kind of place would be spared. What kind of headquarters were we in. The sound was deafening, but all that seemed to hit us was the sound. No shock waves, nothing. I wondered who really ran this world, and how powerful they were. How is it that no one knew about this? After only about an hour everything went silent. All that destruction in an hour?

“Well that was hard, Carrie said, wiping her brow. “Anybody hungry?” They shook their heads.

“I can’t believe this,” I said. “Is anyone hungry? Do you know how many thousands of people just got murdered?”

“Nobody got murdered. They just got sent home,” Carrie said. “They are eternal beings. Nothing to cry about.”

“Pretty hard hearted.” I said. She simply shrugged.

“Wake up,” Uriel said. “Don’t you know who you are and what you are? No one has been destroyed. All they are is dust in the wind.”

“The pain and suffering left over from such evil will cause their friends and neighbors to suffer generation after generation. Don’t you get it?”

“They’ll get over it,” she responded.

“Yeah. People who are dead seem to get over everything,” I said.

“You’d be surprised,” Mars said. “I think they even carry their foolishness into the quantum field, but who knows? The collective consciousness is a real mother, isn’t it? Whatever will be will be. Que sera sera.”

“I can’t believe this.” Carrie sat there looking more shaken than the others.

“I am so sorry for what the unenlightened will have to go through. This is just the beginning,” she said, staring off into space. She refocused on me. “Now you go to work, Dr. John. It starts by you trying to pull the innocent out of the rubble so they won’t suffocate. And don’t forget the dogs and cats. It is a shame they have to suffer because of what humans have done.

“Because of what you Extra Terrestrials have done!” I said angrily.

“We didn’t do anything,” Mars said. “We offered, humans took. Free will.”

humanityextraterrestrialevolution
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.