Futurism logo

Of Selkies and White Lawn Nighties

and the little black notebook

By Sharalynne MiddletonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

The storm broke as I climbed the stairs; I thought “Hallelew! this humidity will be done and I can sleep tonight.” I watched as the lightening crackled across the bay, finding home in the shore, the lights flickered once, then - POP we lost power. I LOVE a good storm I crawled into my pulling up the quilt and I settled in to enjoy the crackle and POW of the Thunder-Gods rolling their bowling balls across the sky. I fell asleep sometime after midnight. The storm front moving past and a gentle rain coming down. Combining with the soft rhythmic swhsish of the waves across the sand and the shore the breeze; the night captured my consciousness and we dived into sleep.

Some hours later as I became aware of a steady presence in the room -a prickle across the back of my neck and forearms. Snatching up my sheet I sat bolt upright in bed. A flash of lightning illuminated the room and I smelled ozone as KaBOOM the house shook. That was it – I bolted for the door and scurried into the adjoining room, where my mom was staying.

There is always something comforting about being able to burrow under the covers with mom. No matter how sleepy she is, she will lift the blanket and murmured sleepy – “What is it Love, a nightmare? Come here… you will be safe with me tonight.” Those magic words are talismans against any monster I found growing up, and I am not ashamed to say I hope I never outgrow them.

In the morning, I went back into my room. My Walkman was strewn on the floor, the earplugs pulled out of the jack. The purple cord tangled around the top of the ‘Orlean’s – Still the One’ cd I had been listening too. On my nightstand where my walk-man SHOULD have been – was a small black moleskin notebook.

I went over to the stand and picked up the black notebook and thumbed through the first page of dedication. The writing was old and faded. It was a journal! Intrigued. I went over and curled up in the winged chair and pulled the red-white-and-blue pinwheel quilt down around my shoulders, the white nighty I was borrowing was very thin in the morning chill. The watery sun was streaming through the east window; the willow tree casting long dancing shadows over the pages, I started to read:

“… a moon lit night and thrilling to be out under the stars light swelling on the water, sparkling, twinkling. The salt tang on the wind, the iodine of the seaweed and darker smell of the sea water as it lapped the shore. I smell the powdery fragrance of the tiger lilies in their circle garden nodding their head in the moonlight combined with the sweetness of honeysuckle on the breeze.

The damp is coming through my new white lawn nightgown, the wind is finding me – hardened –little acorns. It is the one I’ve sewn for my trousseau - something that should be saved away for my far away marriage someday. But tonight, in the summer nights sweet meeting under the stars that he will he be there? Did he hear that I had arrived on the island?”

Ok, so, I am totally hooked into this diary. Who IS she? and WHO is she meeting? I can only guess for what in that new nighty she is wearing!

“Alys! Breakfast is ready – Journey cakes with real maple syrup for you! In honor of your good grades! Come on down and set the table please.”

“Ok Mom! I’ll be down in a minute.”

I tuck the diary under my pillow anchoring it to my bed. Throwing some water onto my face, a quick brush through my blonde hair, I note with pleasure, it is getting sun streaks in it from being in the salt air. A tank top and khaki shorts and I am ready for the day. I have a lot to do before I can settle into the provocative journal!

Finally, my long day done - after tonight’s lobster and clam bake – I am stuffed. The cousins are all tucked in to various be beds and settees sofas and pull outs! I just gotta read a little more of the journal before I go to bed tonight. I carefully pull out the diary. I feel like an interloper, my breath coming quickly as I stare guiltily at the page:

“as I run lightly on the beach the sand crunches lightly under my feet. At the water’s edge there is a log and I untie the blue ribbon at the neck of my gown and let it fall in a pool around my feet. A breeze teases around my breast and a ripple of excitement crosses my skin. I step into the water. The heat from the day is raising from the sand and the water is a welcome shock as I dive in. I look down to see my body is limed in light. The bioluminescence is tracing an outline of my body as I swim. It is faery magic.

A quiet voice startles me “I was wondering if you would come tonight.”

The selkie swims towards me, his dark head like a seal and his body is also limed in the magic of the water. As we come together, I can feel the current of the water eddy warmth around me. His arm slips around me, hugging me in a quick embrace. I can see he is smiling – his teeth flashing white “I see you didn’t want to get your suit wet.” I giggle and look quickly back at the house. Good, there is still no lights on. “What! How on earth can you think about that? It was so hot on the mainland and it took an age to get out here!” How long have you been on the Island then?”

His slow smile and in his soft Boston accent “About a week. I’ve been opening up the hotel and helping others with their houses.” “Have handyman’s tool belt will travel.” His thumb traveling up the back of my neck, as if to illustrate how he has been useful.

“Come here Megs? – he said as his hand cupped the side of my face. He stood then, water flowing off of him – like some Neptune sea god or an Adonis. The Noctiluca flashing in rivulets down his chest and arms. Lowering his head, he kissed me. A soft, teasing kiss – a quick dart of “tag you are it” and off into the water he was gone.

“Wait for me Wills! And I swim after him in quick strokes. He is out of the water on the island before I am. I see he has already set up a blanket for us. Standing with a towel out for me he wraps it around me in a hug. “I see you didn’t get your suit wet either” I tease him as I glance down and see his suit on the log beside the blanket.

“Are you disappointed of the view?” he asked. What could I be disappointed of? His arms were sculpted by pounding his hammer, thighs by running cross country track and broad chest was, I imaged, tan from the summer sun. No, Wills was something to be enjoyed, and he knew it.

“Oh, I don’t know. Maybe, I just need to see more of it” I told him playfully. I pulled him closer and gave him a real kiss. One that started as a quick ‘hallo, and welcome to summer’ that quickly turned into a summer heat. We hadn’t seen each other since Christmas but that hadn’t changed how we felt. “IT” was still there. We pulled apart to look at each other, as if to gage each other’s reaction.

Wow, kinda steamy! Who was this Megs and Wills. When did this all go down? I was going to have to ask Mom in the morning. A quick glimps at the clock – it is 1:30am – I have to go to sleep - I dropped the notebook and it opened to the page and I read:

“Wills – I’m Pregnant.”

There! My declaration over – it is out in the open and there is nothing more to say. We both stare at each other. He reads my surety in my face. The tears running down my cheeks. He steps forward and takes me in his arms. Kisses the top of my head and asks “how far along are you?” When I want to here: “Dearest! I love you. It will be all right, we will make it work.”

I went to close the little black book and something fell out it was a telegram

Deliver to Margaret Alys Tucker with the instructions of to use it in good health and happiness. Period. Stop

Upon the death of William Travis the sum of $20,000 US dollars is payable to… Dearest you are my heart and soul; I give my everything. Use this to build your future and pay it forward to your youngest’s future.

I stared into the face of Alexander Hamilton’s face as he is printed- and counted 20 one-thousand-dollar bills fell into my lap and flutter to the floor… and the realization that my name is Alys Margaret Tucker… and I was wearing a white lawn nighty with a blue ribbon.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sharalynne Middleton

I remember trying to write when I was about 2. Writing out lines of connected N, M, W, C, and S's and then telling my story back to anyone that would listen. That would include my mom or trees!

So, you might say writing is a passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.