Futurism logo

Mine

A LITTLE BLACK BOOK STORY

By Zarinah Published 3 years ago 9 min read
2

Isla

My hands were almost numb. I looked down at my fingers, clutching my brown bag tightly in my lap. I scan the area, anxiously taking in the view, hoping that my eyes will finally find what they are searching for. Nothing. After four hours of waiting, nothing had happened. I slowly uncurl one of my hands from the bag to reach into my pocket. My fingers earnestly hunt for the only constant in my life for the last forty-eight hours. As I finally find the wrinkled paper, my heartbeat quickens as it has done each time I am forced to read the few words from the paper. If you want to see her again, be at this address with $20,000. That’s all the paper said. I didn’t even know if I was in the right area at the park, or if I should move closer to the gate, or further into the trees that surround the nature reserve. Too afraid of somehow angering the invisible captor, I remain on the bench, exposed in such a purposeful manner, that my cooperation was obvious.

The hot breeze blew the few lingering clouds across the sky, and soon the sun shone brightly, as if this were actually a beautiful day. I could not believe I had been so careless. I thought that letting her free, just for a few moments would be harmless. She was always begging to float among the stars, or to swim in the cool water of the lake behind our home. I was always afraid. Always afraid that something would happen. Always afraid that nothing would happen. Just afraid. “Don’t worry”, she would sigh into the air, “no one even knows that I exist.” Still, as I would feel my resolve weakening, I would remember the words of my first mentor and unwaveringly refuse to let her out of the luxurious prison I had created for us both.

Hot salty tears suddenly spill from my eyes, declaring a munity against my resolve, marching stoically down my cheeks, not bothering to check before leaping angrily off my chin, rudely splattering the brown bag clasped in my hands. As my tears fall, I can feel the warm air begin to chill, and unsuccessfully try yo regain control of my emotions. This is why I needed her. When she was with me, I did not cry uncontrollably or scream incessantly into the night air as I did last night. She just wanted to feel free, just for a second, and as she drifted around our room listlessly, I could not help but feel like the warden I had become. Her bright eyes were beginning to dull and her small sturdy body had begun to droop under the endless weight of protecting me. I could not stand another day of saying no as she incessantly begged for just a little freedom. Finally, two days ago, against my better judgment, I closed the little black book where I write new spells or odd happenings, and said okay.

She promised that she would stay high in the sky, hidden from curious eyes that had never seen something quite like her. I knew she would begin to fade if she did not re-energize soon, so reluctantly, I waved my fingers over the butterfly pendant that bound us and set her free. My heart sang with joy as she happily pushed out of the window, floating toward the beautiful moon that lit the night sky. My familiar was finally unrestricted and unburdened with the sole task of controlling my powers and our soul-tie let me know how happy she was. As I was laying in the windowsill, basking in her joy, I felt a jolt of terror, followed by pure agony. I could feel her moving further and further from me until I screamed her name into the night air. I called for her until my voice could no form words, I searched the sky but instead of seeing her, a note floated quietly from the sky, landing softly on the window frame.

And now, here I sit, hoping that she is okay, knowing that she is of no use to anyone but me and praying for her safe return. I could feel the now cool wind whipping around me, and the sun was once again hidden behind a cluster of thick dark clouds. Thick rain-drops began to drop relentlessly from the dark clouds, but no matter how hard I tried, I could not make them stop. Soon a storm whirled violently around my unmoving body, trying un-successfully to nudge me, just a little out of place. Just as I was about to give up and unleash a hurricane of grief and sadness from my soul, I felt my phone vibrate against my waist. I check the message, which says, “Stop the rain. Leave the bag under the bench and walk away. She will be with you soon.” I gather the little bit of control left in my soul, and almost immediately the rain stops. Looking around for some clue of who has my precious familiar, and finding none, I stuff the bag with the $20,000 under my bench and get up to leave.

As I walk away, pretending to be brave, I glance back at my now empty bench. I see a slight flash and the brown bag is gone. I run back, desperately searching as my fear grows uncontrollably once more, but before I lose control over my power, I feel a familiar tickle on the back of my neck. Instantly soothed, I wave my fingers over the butterfly pendant that has bound me to my familiar my entire life, binding us once again, and sigh into the quieted air. I don’t know who or why she was taken, but now that I have her back everything was right again.

Lincoln

I could not believe my luck, I had discovered a bound imp. I was just practicing my usual vanishing skills, when I overheard my neighbor talking to someone, or something. I quickly camouflaged with the red brick wall behind me as she rounded the corner of our shared courtyard and saw a luminous orb tucked in her hand. She looked around before releasing the orb, and my eyes widened as I realized I was looking at a rarely seen luminous imp. Only the most powerful mystics were bound to an imp. I had only ever heard of one other mystic having one in my entire life! My uncle once told me that these mystics had to be bound to something magical in order to maintain stability. He said that this bond was more powerful than any existing magic and that without them, the mystic would eventually lose control. When I asked him what that meant, he simply shook his head cryptically, saying, “You never want to find out.”

I watched as they quietly talked in the far corner of the courtyard, the imp drifting casually around her head. The mystic looked around before waving her hands over the bare ground. Immediately the most beautiful shimmering violet tree burst through the ground. She picked a few of the glowing fruit from the branches, giving them to her imp, before standing, with arms outstretched to the tree as it shrank, and was eventually reabsorbed into the ground. I stood in awe as they continued to talk and eat quietly. The sight eating reminded me of my own empty stomach and pockets. That was when I thought of my plan.

Mystics would do anything to keep their imps safe, including paying money. I would wait until they were far enough away from each other and trap the imp in a ancient box swiped from my last job. I wouldn’t take it far, or keep it for long, but I could tell this mystic would do anything for her little imp. I did a little research and discovered money wasn’t a problem. Easy money. I already knew exactly how much to ask for. Twenty thousand dollars would be just enough to cover a few month’s rent and eat comfortably until I found my next job. Unfortunately, getting the imp took longer than I thought it would, but once I had it, the mystic instantly started changing. Watching the mystic while I was invisible was torture. I almost let the imp go free, as I sat in the courtyard below our building, listening to her howl miserably. With the bond completely cut off by the box, the mystic was unable to control anything and for two days the city was in chaos. In fact by the second day, citizens were advised to stay inside until the confusing weather, collapsing buildings, and energy explosions could be explained.

Honestly, I was so relieved when I saw her sitting alone in the empty park. I was ready for things to go back to normal before someone, mainly me, got hurt. I texted the number I found on her social media just as the wind began to roar and the sky filled with rain and dark heavy clouds. Luckily, she followed my directions, I made the exchange, unseen, as quickly and quietly as I could. As I run toward the bridge, I breathe a sigh of relief. The weather is clearing and I know things will be okay.

Isla

Once reunited, I instantaneously re-gain focus. The shimmer near the bench is now moving across the park. I see my bag clearly despite his invisibility. The imp snatcher is headed toward a bridge that leads to the exit. I close my eyes, reading his life, deciding how to deal with him. I realize he is just desperate and hungry, not really understanding the dangerous game he’d just played. Hearing the voice of my mentor, I realize my powers are not for vengeance and fight the urge to snap his neck. Instead, I flick my wrist, sending the paper bag flying out of his arms, over the bridge and into the dark waters below. I watch as he becomes visible, jumping in after the bag. He frantically searches the dark waters in vain. I already knew that the bag was long gone, destined for someone, destined for greatness.

Maddy

I didn’t know how we were going to pay this month’s rent, or the last three months. If I did not come up with the money today, we were going to be evicted. Working two jobs was not covering the bills. Horace staying home helped a little, but the bills from mother’s accident destroyed our budget. I could make more money but a low-caste mystic like me needed more training. Unfortunately, training requires a lot of money something I lack.

Today was a good day to visit the lake that lays peacefully behind my apartment complex. The city was completely shut down because of some unexplained occurrences, and I was facing an even smaller check than usual. I softly flung flat, smooth stones across the water to the opposite shore, lining them up in a perfect row. Standing there in the quiet I suddenly hoped for a miracle. My heart reached earnestly across the universe willing help into my life.

I don’t know how long I stood there, felt like forever. Just as I decidedly threw my last stone to the opposing shore, I saw something flying back. Instinctively, reaching up to catch the brown package, just before it flew past me. It was soaking wet. I almost threw it into the dark water swirling before me, but a voice whispered, “look inside”. I pulled the dry contents out, sure someone appear screaming, “Mine!” Suddenly I know that there is $20,000 in the bag. As I pull out the last dollar, a note floats to the ground. Picking it up, I read the words out loud, “For Maddy.” Quiet tears rolled happily down my face as my heart calls out a grateful Thank You.

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Zarinah

An avid writer seeking to spread creativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.