Futurism logo

Message in a Bottle

Chapter 1

By MathsitectPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Chapter 1

Message in a Bottle

Nobody can hear you scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. That’s what everyone thought. For years. But that was before, something my mother used to tell me, before we realized we weren’t alone. And you need to understand that. We are not alone.

That we had never been alone.

That this whole time they were watching us, like some sick twisted reality show, in the shadows pulling strings. The entire time “humanity” looked out at the stars they didn’t realize how many eyes were looking back. And laughing.

I am not certain where to begin, because I myself am not certain where it all began. But I will try my best to tell you what I know, because I don’t think I have much longer. I know you’re on Yelt. Earth, I mean Earth. I was there too, please believe me. And I know this is going to sound crazy, and I don’t know who you are, but I am enclosing plans to help you escape The Ruin, but I’ll try my best to explain first.

You know how the orbit of Pluto doesn’t make sense? How it was declassified as a planet? If you look at a model of the solar system, it is not flat. Imagine the sun is a ball being thrown and the planets and asteroid belt circle around the sun as it is in flight, but their orbit is not a circle, it is more like an ellipse. And for Pluto it is even wonkier than the rest. People surmised there was tenth planet or a black hole- honestly a black hole would be better than this- something was pulling at Pluto but humanity had no idea what it was. I think they still don’t. You’ll know for sure; it’s been too long since I’ve been on Earth, I don’t know what Earthlings know anymore.

So, Pluto is wrong, okay? No one knows why, I think. Just makes sure you understand that.

From Earth we used to look at the stars and try and find other planets in the “goldilocks zone”, in hopes of finding beings like. We used to believe that life can only come from planets like Earth. We would track how many light years away from us these planets are. We thought we were alone. We sent out probes, satellites, and rovers to other planets. We thought Earth like planets were uncommon. In my mind I rationalized why we never had alien contact because I figured that our location in the Milkyway was too remote. We are on an arm of the Milkyway, basically the suburbs. Who wants to hang out in the suburbs? People want to visit a city so there would probably be more life in the center of the galaxy. Anyways, we were wrong. I was wrong.

There are Earth like planets everywhere. Planets want to produce life. Sometimes there are gas giants yes, but even their moons get warm enough to create bacteria. And most systems have multiple Earth like planets. Space is not quiet. Space is loud.

This is what I know so far. I think we are some sort of vacation spot. A preserved system that is supposed to be a sort of renaissance fair for people to visit. Except it is cheaper and easier to have the whole planet be your renaissance fair and not know they are part of a renaissance fair. We are not the only system like this either; I’ve been to dozens now. They purposefully keep us ignorant. We’ve been on this planet a lot longer than we think. And when we grow too large, they create a ‘catastrophe’ to make us restart. Or reshape the planet into what is popular for tourists. But the worst part is, they look just like us. They are us. We are them.

Have you ever met a “tourist” and they don’t seem to know how to behave? Like their slang is wrong, or their clothes seem out of place. Or you’ve seen someone calmly watching horrific events? That is the Ehers visiting Earth. And to them we are nothing more than beings created for their enjoyment. Technically we don’t even register as life because the Ehers created us to inhabit Earth.

You think this is a joke? We each have our own code, and they can scan us. Ever heard of Blashcko’s lines? We can’t see them, because our eyes were genetically engineered not to see them. But the Ehers can see them. Humanity has been genetically engineered to not see clearly, to not smell as well, to not hear as well, and to not be able to use our muscles to their full capacity. We were made to be harmless, fun, essentially a petting zoo for the Ehers to visit.

I’m telling you this because a catastrophe is about to happen again. The Ruin is coming.

On the back of this is a URL, go to this site and I have placed plans of how to create a vehicle to get you outside of the Ehers reach to escape The Ruin. It’s not going to be easy; it’s not going to be legal. But it’s up to you if you want to survive.

extraterrestrialfact or fictionfuture
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.