Futurism logo

Marsh Vegaa: The Shark-Toothed Dolphin File

"War, war may never change. But yet the day will come where the sunlight outshines that darkness."

By LUiS Wrote THiS StoryPublished 5 years ago Updated 10 months ago 5 min read
2
Written by LUi$ Thompson

Marsh Vegaa Ch. I

Today was the coldest day of the season so far. Finding new places to build settlements became clearer after traveling far and wide through the Commonwealth with my mutant companion "Strong." While building some beds and water supplies may have been simple at first, using my scientific knowledge to build a proper power source may take some time. To maintain a peaceful and thriving community, tower defenses and weapons must be built and distributed to all settlers. My hope is that the "Heroes of the Old Days" will return one day and wipe out the overwhelming population of mutant creatures.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.II

The wasteland is rotten fruit brushed against the youth's lips. The horror I had to witness today was horrifying. "Strong," my mutant companion, and I had traveled from the Red Rocket gas station to Slag, a new settlement established during our adventures. During our expedition, we came across Slag while looking for ingredients to upgrade our weapons and armor. When we arrived at our destination, the ghoul-like settlers asked for my assistance with a subgroup of mercenaries legendary mutants in the woods behind Slag. "Strong" and I had been ambushed by two assault bots, possibly sent by The Institute, on our way to the mutant camp. Leading these bots directly into the mutant camp was a victory waiting to happen.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.III

Today appeared to be a brand new day. "Strong," my mutant companion, was abandoned at the new cinema settlement. On my way back to the Red Rocket, I met Danse, a lone Paladin Armor Wearer. He spoke briefly about the wasteland that is Washington, D.C. When the bombs fell, this was ground zero. Rumors of him being covered in a blue aura had established him as Earth's protector. However, as a result of the fallout, this being unknowingly gave his loved ones cancer. I can only imagine what this land looks like now and how it might have looked after the radioactivity has subsided.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.IV

Paladin Danse and I had recovered information and intercom recordings on a fallen Brotherhood of Steel team several weeks into our adventures together. It appeared that a monstrous beast had attacked their campsite. The team used the power cores installed in the back of their power armor to unleash a blast powerful enough to destroy the beat. Could there have been a hive that, if fully hatched, would have spawned a new breed of enemies? I had agreed with Paladin Danse that if possible, we would locate the commanding officers in this Boston wasteland.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.V

As Paladin Danse and I continued our search for the commander of the deceased Brotherhood of Steel squad, the idea of traveling to Diamond City occurred to us. With a heavy heart, Paladin Danse and I managed to get imprisoned earlier in our journey. It all started with a few Mr.Handy Robots, which were designed to protect the facility they were guarding. Mr. Handy Robots had overridden its programming to keep Ghouls from breaking in through a rusted decaying wall, killing everyone in the building. This complex robot had compelled us to enter the enslaved area in order to find the ingredients required to flush out an airborne pathogen capable of killing any infected scientists.

Marsha Vegaa Ch.VI

Life on this desolate wasteland can conceal the human race's pure evil intent. My wallet's balance happened to barter with multiple vendors on my journey through Diamond City. I had planned on fulfilling a few bounty hunter contracts in exchange for enough bullets to last until the next campfire. One of which, unfortunately, eventually led to my departure with Paladin Danse. During our exit from the city, we had entered a corridor filled with raiders on the west side of town. We discovered paintings of demonic features after entering the rancid raider dungeon filled with blood, limbs, and gore. We broke the master lock on the basement door to find a passageway that broke through the earth's core, only to be met with more darkness and gunfire.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.VII

I traveled, bartered, and shot my way to two thousand caps for a residence permit to live in Diamond City—ironic that in this new world, the meek do not inherit this Earth, but rather its wasteland. I found shelter, a bed, a synth-phobic community, and, finally, a new perspective on life in this wasteland in my new home. I reflected long and hard on how the demonic painting dungeon Paladin and I had entered earlier this week had provided us with the battle of a lifetime. I decided to part ways with Paladin Danse in order to find someone in town named "Piper" who had an ear to the ground for what shook and moved around these parts. My next step was to demolish the old Movie Cinema settlement and build a new home in Diamond City.

Marsh Vegaa Ch.VIII

"Piper" and I followed the Freedom Trail through the wasteland until we arrived at the Common Grounds. This was a Merlak site with a Merlak egg colony for the taking. We entered an insane battle with the Merlak Queen after leaving. The acid spitting from the monstrous castration nearly melted my skin and bones. The giant enemy was destroyed by a few strategically placed mines and a couple of missile launcher shells. Exiting brought "Piper" and me into contact with a group of mutant gunners, which would have consequences later in our journeys.

Mash Vegaa Ch.IX

Finally making its way into Boston's Common Grounds, the monster SWAN emerged from a radiation-ravaged lagoon. "Piper" and I were able to catch a glimpse of the beast before devising our strategy. After dispatching a few cannibalistic raiders, the two of us razed the small camp that had taken up residence in a building next to the monster's lair. I decided to parkour around the raider building's rooftop and battle SWAN with a handcrafted bolt-action sniper rifle. After dodging the behemoth's rock derby, I killed the monster and looted his body for any rare supplies worth selling at the Diamond City Market.

Copyright © 2021 LUiS Thompson

science fiction
2

About the Creator

LUiS Wrote THiS Story

When he's not designing or laying down brutalities in Mortal Kombat, LUiS Thompson is establishing a foundation the writing communities.

Link: https://6351bedfab123.site123.me/

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.