Futurism logo

Letters to Brighid

Week 2

By Ashtore DriverPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Charm of Cloak and spear(from a class put on by Rev. Kirk Thomas)

Call I the Cloak of Brighid the High One.

Call I the Long-Striking Spear of Lugh

From the Hand of the Shining Ones

To the Grove of the Gate

I ask the blessing of the Cloak and Spear.

Brighid of the Waters

Brighid of the Kindling

Brighid of the Milk of Blessing

O Triple Lady of Water and Fire,

Goddess of poets, healers and Smiths

Weave for me warding, Hearthmother, Wise-One

Your Starry Cloak settle me upon me here.

High One, accept my sacrifice.

(An offering of Milk and Bread is given)

O Lugh the Victorious, my Light and my Guide

Clever One, Sure Hand, Sorcerer and Bard

Prince and King, Slayer of Balor

Master of Wisdoms, hear me.

Let your Long-Striking Spear be over my fire,

Like Lightning in every direction burning and turning.

Long-Handed One, accept my sacrifice.

(An offering of Whiskey and Black Feathers is made)

By your blessings Shining Ones

Let the Starry Cloak be upon me,

Let the Nine Pointed Spear be over me,

That no ill come upon me

And my might be made great!

I had a very unproductive day today, I was so hot and uncomfortable that I spent way too much money to make myself feel better. I wrote out the charm above to try and get away for a bit and I think it helped but I napped and spent so much money that its ridiculous.

Retail therapy is a thing but in the end I just felt worse. I’m getting an AC, a small one, tomorrow and it will be useful but I really should have not bought the hair dye.

I am getting reimbursed for the water bottle so I don’t feel bad about that but I really didn’t need 30 dollars worth of sushi delivered.

I did enjoy it at the time and I tipped well, sometimes you nee to get away from everything going wrong and that is what today was.

I can get through this and come out the otherside, maybe not smelling like roses but dirt and sweat but I can live with that.

My cat is sitting on the window sill, the screen has a hole and it makes me nervous. I'm on the second floor and I don’t want him to fall.

I love words but sometimes they are strange and feel prickly against my skin.

They don’t can't fit all the thing I want them to say and make you me understand.

I’m overwhelmed and I want to get away but ants are crawling all over my brain

My skin crawls

Tears seep out and dry out my skin

My tongue feels heavy and useless in my mouth

I want to scream

But I need quiet and alone

My words don’t match

Like puzzle pieces

That fit together

But not the same puzzle.

I miss the sound of his voice

When he would sit silent for hours

And share our days.

I feel like the extra screws that

Come in the box

The ones you know belong

but you already finished the table.

All the peices are there but

is it going to fall?

How do I fit now that the table is assembled

And everything falls to the ground?

I have been a little out of sorts the last few days and not because of the heat.

Ever since that day I have been unable to sleep much passed 8 am, no matter how late or early I go to bed. It’sFlike it took some great shock to get me into a regular sleep schedule or I am just afraid of what will happen the next time I sleep in too long. The second sounds right even if I think the first sounds better in public. For a joke.

I have had some strange dreams too, I never or rarely used to remember my dreams.

I’m in a lot of pain, physically, I did a lot of walking today and now I am paying for it.

It's nice to get out but the smoke is pretty bad right now and I worry that my friends and family aren’t safe. I worry I’m not safe but only after it was pointed out by a friend. J is a lovely friend, we had a great painting day Wednesday, it was unexpected but a pleasure all the same.

I hadn’t painted in years and it was nice to just put some paint down. J asked to keep one of my pieces and I played it off as meaningless while in the back of my mind I’m thinking of all the reasons why they are getting nothing special. Depreciation is what I go to first but I didn’t say anything, I just said they were welcome to it.

I kind of panicked about ordering food for us, I hope I didn’t overstep. J seemed to like it and I made sure it was gluten free.

Canyou look in on them for me? Keep them safe or at least help them when they need it and helm them get what they need?

Gonna have to shop for more Whiskey soon, the bottle is almost gone, any brand you like in particular?

I got some cleaning done and am going to some laundry tonight before Tarot tonight so I can bring up clean clothes when I come back upstairs. Today I got out of my car some of the things that were in storage and since they were camping things mostly I am thinking about camping.

camping a few days either this month or the next. I am thinking of making it a thing, just to get my head on straight.

I will do some research and divination to see if it s practical right now. Its a desire that I have had for awhile but circumstances have brought the need to the forefront now again.

Brigid Prayer song (modified from brigids-grove.com and Holy Water, Sacred Flame by Diane Baker and Anne Hill)

Healing water

Sacred flame

Brigid we

invoke your name.

Chorus:

Bless my hands

my head

my heart

source of healing

song and art

Verse 2:

Breath of life

Ancient earth

Upon your hearth

I claim my worth.

Chorus

Verse 3:

Living earth

Blessed breath

In your hands

through life and death.

Chorus

Verse 4:

Sacred touch

Holy hour(s)

In this space

we feel your power(s).

Chorus

Verse 5:

Healing water

Sacred flame

Breath of air

we call your name.

Chorus

religion
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.