Futurism logo

Five shows that you don't have to wait to watch

A binge worthy list for fantasy lovers

By Sara WilsonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3

For as long as I can remember, I have always preferred to live in a fantasy world over reality. Growing up, my favorite kinds of movies and shows were the ones that I wished could be real but never were. My obsession with the unknown started with The Little Mermaid. To this day, my mom still likes to tell me how much I embarrassed her by singing "Part of Your World" at the top of my lungs through the grocery store as a child.

When I hit my pre-teen years, I wanted to be a wizard like Harry Potter. I was convinced I was muggle-born and that before long, some friendly giant was going to come tell me that I too was a wizard. It never happened. With the way politics are these days, I'm convinced my Hogwarts letter has just been intercepted by a corrupt government.

As an adult, not much has changed. I still gravitate towards the world of fantasy over reality. If that sounds anything like you then you've come to the right place. If you love the world of fantasy and supernatural as much as I do, then I present to you- a list of five recommendations that you will want to be "Part of Your World".

Haven-

Based on Stephen King's novel The Colorado Kid- Haven is about an F.B.I agent named Audrey Parker who is sent to Haven, Maine, to track down a prison escapee. She soon realizes that Haven is not normal and she partners up with the son of the police chief, Nathan Wuornos, to solve the "troubles" that can be triggered at any time for any reason within the locals. What are "troubles" exactly? They're basically supernatural curses that tend to run in family blood lines. Troubles have included harmless things such as being able to know when someone is lying to more intense things like being able to play music that causes everyone to literally become insane. It's Audrey and Nathan's job to figure out how to help these people control their trouble and protect the town.

As the series progresses, you'll meet and fall in love with some of the locals, like Duke who is a pretty important part of the plot line, and start to discover things about Audrey and her past that even she didn't know about.

Supernatural-

After their mother's murder, Sam and Dean Winchester are raised as hunters by their father, John. Sam leaves "the family business" to pursue a normal life, but Dean recruits him to help find their missing dad. So begins the fifteen year run of Supernatural. Sam and Dean face so many different creatures from vampires and werewolves to angels and demons. They fight against well known lore like Bloody Mary to even Lucifer himself. This is one of those shows that just gets better with time. It didn't captivate me right away but after about five or so episodes, I was hooked. It particularly caught my interest when the angels and demons came into play.

This show is considered fantasy but the relationship between characters is so real and relatable and that's part of what makes it so great to watch. The banter, the humor, Dean's love for pie. You really feel like you know the characters. This show gave me so many mixed emotions. Sometimes you were actually upset if a character that was considered a villain died. That's how well built the characters are. Also, for Walking Dead fans, you'll find a little Negan Easter egg in the series.

John Winchester is played by Jeffrey Dean Morgan a.k.a. Negan from The Walking Dead

The Vampire Diaries-

Set in Mystic Falls, Virginia, The Vampire Diaries is a show centered around The Salvatore brothers, Damon and Stefan. The 162 year old vampire, Stefan Salvatore, falls for a high school girl named Elena Gilbert who lost both of her parents in a car accident. Things with Elena are going pretty good until Damon comes back into town. Damon is your classic bad boy brother who at first you can't stand. Eventually, you find yourself rooting for this character over many of the others and find out that the bad guy isn't always as bad as the good guy.

You get a solid list of characters from the amazing witch, Bonnie Bennet to the badass vampire hunter, Alaric Saltzman. There's a vampire love triangle and amazing twists. You'll see characters you love become characters you hate as they switch off their humanity and do unthinkable things. You'll also meet the Originals and learn some pretty cool things about them. Which brings me to my next choice-

The Originals-

The first spin-off of The Vampire Diaries and one I never intended to actually watch. I'm not the biggest fan of spin-offs and the way the Originals were portrayed in The Vampire Diaries didn't give me a whole lot of initiative to even want to watch this. Lucky for me, I had run out of things to watch and decided to just put this on one night to fall asleep to. If I had actually been able to fall asleep, this show obviously wouldn't have made my list. I was up all night binge watching episodes on Netflix.

Have you ever mourned the loss of a tv show? That's what happened to me with this one. When the series ended, I literally felt like I lost a friend. Sounds pathetic, I know. But this show and all of it's characters were so well built and I could have watched forever. Klaus Mikaelson, the main character and the original vampire/werewolf hybrid is someone I hated with a passion when he made his debut appearance on The Vampire Diaries and was the main reason I had no interest in watching this show to begin with. He eventually became the character I was rooting for over any one in either of the series.

Set in New Orleans, this show starts off with a bang when we find out that a werewolf Klaus had once been intimate with is pregnant with his child. Klaus finds it to be laughable in the beginning but eventually cannot bear the thought of being away from the baby. Klaus has come back to the French Quarter for the first time since 1919 to reclaim his city. While there, he is confronted by someone he himself turned into a vampire many years ago, Marcel. Marcel and all of the other vampires, werewolves, and witches in New Orleans cannot stand Klaus and a battle ensues. This is where we really see just what Klaus is capable of (as if seeing him slaughter countless vampires and werewolves and witches all throughout The Vampire Diaries wasn't enough proof).

The series just gets better and better and when it's over leaves you (or at least left me) feeling like you have had a hole punched in your chest. There is another spin-off called Legacies about Hope, the tribred daughter of Klaus and Haylie that is still currently running but it's not even comparable to this gem in my opinion.

Once Upon A Time-

This is vastly different than the last three shows I mentioned. This one takes me back to my roots and really gives the nostalgic feeling of my love for The Little Mermaid. This show mostly takes place in the town of Storybrooke, Maine. Henry Mills is out to prove to his biological mother-who put him up for adoption- Emma Swan, that the town is full of fairy-tale characters and that she herself is the daughter of Prince Charming and Snow White. Of course, Emma doesn't believe a word of it right away. Much like Haven, this show features different characters per episode. Instead of solving troubles though, Emma, who becomes the sheriff of Storybrooke is helping those characters find their true identity and find their happy endings.

You get to meet Anna and Elsa as well as Tinkerbell and Captain Hook. Even Ariel makes her appearance. Unlikely romances spark up and you learn to love characters you never thought you would. The show is a really feel good type of show just like any fairy tale and even got it's own spin-off called Once Upon A Time in Wonderland.

Unfortunately all of these shows are off the air now, but that just means binge watching them is easier. No waiting for the next episode, you can just dive right in to the next one whenever your schedule allows it. Streaming services for the win!

tv review
3

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.