Futurism logo

Entropy's Last Dance

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space.

By LaraPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Entropy's Last Dance
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. Entropy dances outward, ever expanding. The grand illusion is order and form, when everything is actually descending into chaos. If they could hear, if their consciousness was really expanding, they would hear the screaming. For some of us, there is not an illusion at all. They do not hear the agony I experience as I shift from nothing into something, as form breathes out of me just to explode again into particles and light. The humans balk at something being both things simultaneously. They do not yet realize there are creatures that are not just in two places at once, but everywhere all at once, existing only to give them the illusion of order. Blinking our consciousness from place to place, we lend form and energy to their experiences at our expense.

I am the human’s personification of entropy. My true form of formlessness, I cannot recall. We are their sovereigns, my brethren and I. But we too are prisoners. Some of us do not see this. In order to continue on, we snack upon bits of consciousness. From the humans, they have eaten the idea of meaning. Those of us that consume such ideas and emotions live more contentedly. I’ve avoided consuming “meaning” as it has risen like a plague among us. For substance I choose other matter. To snack on a human, we weave our way between their consciousness and siphon it into ourselves. During the times I descend into one of them, I consume lust and rage. A creature that once was larger than life, I now shatter into bits and pieces. The form I most covet is that of a succubus, a myth to the humans. They realize not, that thousands of such creatures live amongst them.

So, I cannot give you a beginning or end. I am not even really an I, or a protagonist, many days I hardly exist. Chaos asphyxiates in our homes, but it is the only form that has a place in our hearts. My home is their home and a billion other places – In the fiery core of their earth, I sleep. Between electromagnetic waves, I dance. Through the cosmos, I blink. I run through their blood and DNA, a race between the other particles and I. I chat with quarks and let electrons chase me under a setting sun on burning red planets humans could never dream of. I play with fire with the neurons and watch them set small worlds alight in a perfectly synchronized show. I am everywhere and nowhere at all.

They may have heard there are other places, where time is actually collapsing in upon itself. Where the beginning is the end, and the end is the beginning. To them, these places are unseen. For all of my disdain for humans, my disdain for their love, for their meaning driven lives, I have given myself one task in this infinite existence. I will teach them to create such a place of their universe. I will teach them to reverse my very being. I grow weary of this existence. For their infinite number of failures, they are the only ones who I believe to have the potential to do such a thing.

They’re hardly close, I believe at this time they are still trying to put on paper an equation that encompasses all things. I am fortunate that when you are eternal such things are only a blink of a human eye. They have yet to even create a canvas long enough. Luckily, they appear to be advancing at a substantial rate, they’ve advanced more in their last century than all of the time before them combined. At this “thought” I decide it is still not quick enough. I blink my way into one of their many prestigious colleges. First, I create my succubus form, Secondly, I create my role. I find myself a maid in a hallway that is designed meticulously. Gathering my bearings, I meander around. It dawns on me I look much too like I own the place for a maid in these oppressive times. I force my form to be smaller, more downcast, more subtle. They forget that in the silence and subtlety the secrets of the in-between rest. They do not notice me, but I notice each one of them. From the forms to the chemical reactions that brings them consciousness: I am here, resting between it all.

extraterrestrialfantasysciencescience fictionspace
Like

About the Creator

Lara

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Smith2 years ago

    Lovely imagery and a very interesting take on the prompt!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.