Futurism logo

Elemental Discourse

There's a little more than what's observed that takes place when it comes to the dealings of Earth. God, a council, and a little, mysterious black book.

By C. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Elemental Discourse
Photo by Spencer Pugh on Unsplash

“Another meeting.”

“Well, duh, Air. We do this every day,” Fire responded while walking over to stand by Space in the break room, “I don’t know about Air sometimes. Like we haven’t been doing this since the beginning of time.”

“Well, from speaking with him, because he was created first he likes to take leadership, but he also voices how he doesn’t appreciate not being mentioned as the real first people Universe created. So maybe that’s why he’s like that,” Space said calmly.

“I mean, yeah, we’re people but we’re more like angels than real humans. Heck, humans don’t have our powers. Like you create the freakin’ skyline, and I have to hand it to you, yesterday’s was chef’s kiss,” Fire spoke and kissed his fingers from his mouth.

“Why, thank you. I was feeling a bit inspired yesterday. I do try to do my best every day. You never know what’s being put in the book,” Space said with wide eyes.

“The little mysterious, black book Universe brings to each meeting?”

“Most certainly that book.”

Fire closed his eyes and let out a breath, “Wow, I was wondering if anyone else had noticed that book. He’s had it out the past couple of hundred years.”

“And He nor Gabriel have made any mention of it.”

“None! It drives me crazy. This random, secretive black book that he now totes and sits with on his throne in silence,” Fire scoffed.

Space moved over and pulled the chair out from the table and began to sit, “Have you noticed when we give our 2 ideas for the new day, he writes them down?”

Fire abruptly sat across from him, his hands gripped on the table, “He’s writing our ideas down?”

Space sat back in the seat, his arms crossed on his chest, “Has to be. He only writes after one of us has talked. Gabriel also looks back at him sometimes when Earth brings another crazy idea.”

“I would give up my gift for a century to see the notes Universe has written about me in that book.”

The two men sat in silence for a few moments.

“It’s probably some serious critiques on us,” said Space.

The silence continued until the clicking of heels was heard down the hall until finally appearing in the doorway.

“Hey, guys,” Water spoke, her tone calm and smooth as she looked in the room.

Space and Fire both responded with a “Hello” until she walked away from the door then Earth appeared.

The three men all stared at each other until Earth continued walking as well.

“Earth is a weirdo too,” Fire said with disgust.

“He is very standoffish, I must admit,” Space replied.

“Like, what was up with his ideas to have an earthquake to knock all the Sequoia trees down? Or his idea to have all the volcanos erupt at the same time?”

“He’s very destructive, very end of time- ready for the apocalypse.”

“That’s exactly what he is,” Fire said pointing at Space, “Speaking of him, are our bets still on?”

Space uncrossed his arms, “Are you sure you want to do this again? The last bet you lost horribly.”

“That was a century ago, I’ve accumulated the funds back. I’m putting 100k down.”

Space chuckled, “We haven’t even made the bets yet. You’re very eager to lose.”

“No, I’m confident this time.”

“But you always lose,” Space said with his palm upon the table, “You’re thinking is too brash. You don’t have the calm, sensible thinking to get these bets right. And you know it's my turn to make the conditions?”

“Shoot!” Fire said as he pounded his fist on the table, “Darn-it, I forgot.”

“See,” Space responded then scooted his chair forward and rested his elbows on the table, “So the bets are: Air will make a complaint about me having control over the colors of the sky.”

“But Gabriel told him 200 years ago to leave that idea alone.”

Space twiddled his thumbs, “Okay, so you’re betting against that. Fine. Next one; Earth will propose something crazy like the Earth’s core going cold. Something of that magnitude. You betting for or against?”

Fire chuckled, “No, I’m gonna bet against that, he’s extreme but he won’t compromise the world. That would take his whole job away.”

“Ok. Sure thing. Third; Air will have a fit or a breakdown.”

Fire rolled his eyes, “Aw, man. I can’t remember the last time he had one. I’m gonna say ‘no’, final answer.”

“I say ‘Yes.’ Next; Water will make mention of the great pacific garbage patch,” Space said then was interrupted by Fire.

“Yeah, no need to bet on that. It’s a given.”

“But, who do you bet will be the one to suggest a solution? Air or Earth?”

Fire breathed through his teeth and made a hissing noise, “I don’t know, I’m going to…go…with Air. Man, I hope.”

“Air? Okay. I’m going with Earth,” Space said then cleared his throat, “Okay last one. I’m adding some purple in one of my ideal skies; the other, multiple hues of pink. Which do you think will get chosen?”

Fire scrunched his eyebrows, “but this one we won’t be able to know until the next day.”

“Precisely. That gives you time to really ponder on it.”

Fire leaned back and crossed his arms, “Okay. Pink. How much are you putting in? I’m assuming you’re going to match me?”

“Of course,” Space responded with a smile, “I bet Universe will choose the purple. Ready for this meeting?”

Fire threw his hands down, “Dang-it. Why did you tell me your choice?”

Space had already walked out of the room as Fire looked around unsure if he made the right choice.

He finally stood up and left the break room and headed down the long hallway to the golden double doors. The two angels standing outside opened the doors for him to enter the large white room.

“Thank you for joining us, Fire. Shall we begin?” Gabriel said as he stood stoic behind his podium, “Universe will join us in just a minute. Please have your two ideas prepared for the presentation. As stated yesterday, if we have addressed your idea and it was turned down within the past 200 years, please do not bring it forth again.”

Fire looked over at Space who raised his eyebrows and then diverted his eyes to Air who was already sitting with his fingers massaging his temples. Space brought his hand up from under the table so Fire could see him do a countdown with his fingers. Three, two, and then one.

“I just don’t understand how or why I am still not allowed to have any say on the skyline. I am literally controlling all the activity that takes place within the skyline. I’m fed up, Gabriel. This is not fair!”

Fire shook his head as he looked over to see a smirk appear on Space’s face.

“Air, we are not going through this again. I told you-”

Air interrupted, “Why aren’t we going through this again? I asked you 200 years ago today! It is time we brought this back to the table.”

As soon as Air stopped talking the choral appeared in the firmament and let out the most gentle, three-part harmony as Universe entered from the golden doors in the back of the room. All of the elements rose from their desk and chairs and placed their hands on their chests. Universe in all of His magnificence came in with his black book and sat on his throne for this room. All of the elements looked at His bright glory, bowed, then sat back in their seats.

As they began to sit, Fire mouthed “The book, the book!” to Space. Space widened his eyes and nodded his head up and down.

“Let us begin,” Gabriel bellowed.

“Earth, what have you brought forth.”

Earth rose from his seat and cleared his throat just for it to still be raspy, “I have brought forth the ideas of heating the earth's core 50 more degrees.”

Water let out a heavy sigh, “No. That will interrupt the oceans.”

Gabriel nodded in agreement.

Earth shrugged then continued, “Ok, well, with the help of Space, kick the moon off its course so it will impact ear-”

“Thank you, Earth. Your ideas will be considered.”

Earth sat back down as Air rose and began without being asked, “As already brought to your attention, Gabriel, my first idea is a request to have input on the skyline. My second is we switch the seasons. I believe it is time for a bit of change.”

Gabriel looked at Air under his eyebrows, “Thank you for that idea, Air. And no, you will not have control over the skyline.”

Air sat down in a fury and closed his notebook.

Water stood up and began, “I would like to propose a whirlpool and I think it’s time for a body of water in the deserts.”

Fire looked at Space and smiled.

“Please elaborate on the whirlpool and that would be a “no” for the ocean in the desert,” Gabriel spoke back.

“To elaborate,” Water started, “Several whirlpools to suck up the trash of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch.”

Fire hung his head.

Earth cleared his throat and added, “I propose I crack the crust of the earth and it will create a massive whirlpool around the circumference of the planet and that will suck all the garbage down. All and any of it.”

There was a silence in the room and Water sat back down side-eyeing Earth.

Space rose and began his proposal offering a purple or pink hue of the sky, while Fire rose and gave his vow to continue to hold fast until he is needed in any situation.

After Fire finished and began to sit down, he peered back to see the light of God write in His black book. He looked over to see Space’s eyebrows raised in a “told you so” face.

“Today’s meeting has now adjourned until tomorrow. All of your ideas,” He looked at Air, “and comments have been written down and taken into consideration, or not. Good evening.”

Space and Fire both sat at the break room table with the 200k in front of them. Fire sat with his chair back from the table and elbows resting on his knees.

“I can’t believe I lost.”

“There is a chance you’ll get 50k of it back if the sky turns pink tomorrow.”

“Yeah, true. What are you going to do with your winnings?” Fire asked.

Space shrugged his shoulders, “What I always do, throw it out in space and wait for the humans to get it. Nothing we can spend it on!”

“Another meeti-”

“Air, stop telling me about the meetings. It’s the year 2221. Another 200 years have passed. Cut it out. Matter of fact, don’t ask about being able to paint the sky either,” Fire hissed.

Air scrunched his face and walked away.

“I couldn’t take it anymore Space. We do this every day. I’ve let it fly for some years but I reached my breaking point!” Fire grumbled.

Space laughed and crossed his arms, “I see. Can’t let that anger build up in you like that.”

“I know, but you all already expect me to be boisterous given my hot disposition so I kept it calm.”

“True, have you gained your money back since our bet those years ago?”

Fire rolled his eyes, “yeah, I’m getting close. Has that money you sent out into the space been found?”

“Actually, it was found. This man on Mars is named Zenon Tusk. Saw it mentioned on the news. And since it’s been 200 years that money is now worth like 2 trillion.”

Fires mouth went agape.

“Yep, all that money because Universe chose a purple skyline.”

“I wonder what Universe wrote about it in that curious, black book?” Said Fire.

“Guess we’ll never know.”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

C. Harris

a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.