Futurism logo

Demon Jumpers

The Box Chapter 1 (Excerpt 2)

By Adrian GardenerPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Demon Jumpers
Photo by Steven Su on Unsplash

“Little brother are you okay! What were you thinking just running off like that?! And into a random dimension too?” Kassi said while squeezing me until I died.

“That's not any random dimension captain Kassi. That dimension belongs to the Sapphire Dragon.” Freed said.

“Whoa wait those exists? I thought they were wiped out during the 200 year war?” Nathan asked intriguely.

“They were, but the dragon's eggs were found in the Sapphire Dimension on Planet Peon. Once that was common knowledge, Lord Deewup did not hesitate to own what was called the universe's deadliest dragon.”

“What makes them so deadly?” Tess asked.

“They somehow possess the power to change the environment around them and create illusions that attract their prey. They are more dangerous when they're young, as they will eat anything that has a pulse, the older ones are less aggressive but still dangerous.” Freed said calmly, “Now, we must get you to your rooms, this history lesson will continue if you so choose to know more about this universe” Freed then continued down the hallway.

We got to our room which ended up being one huge penthouse. Everyone had a room to themselves with the common area being in the center of the huge loft. The whole loft was colorful and vibrant. Making the room feel like a fiesta more than a spot to rest at.

“I will knock when it is time for you to be present at the table, but please take your time,” said Freed.

“This looks bigger than the ship Cap,” Tess said while opening the fridge.

“Don’t go disrespecting The Rendezvous” Nathan replied, he then leaned towards my ear and whispered, “This is way better than the ship but don’t go telling Tess I said that. She would have a field day with that.”

I walked to the balcony and looked at the view which was the most calming thing I had seen all day. The lush trees with the ocean backdrop. I leaned in and took a deep breath, I guess I needed this. I just hope it didn't all go to shit.

“Listen up team, this is a one day rest. We head to the Novo Dimension after this little parade that is being held. We can’t waste anymore time. Tess, I need you to do a planet check for any Universal Government ships or armadas. We aren't safe in this dimension and I’d like to know what we are dealing with. Nathan, I need you to check our supplies to make sure that we aren't traveling low on anything and Kenji, just sit and look cute. I can’t have you in danger especially after that stunt you pulled earlier.”

“Kassi c’mon! I had me holed up in the ship now I’m holed up in this mardi gras themed room. Give me some type of responsibility.” I pleaded.

“I rather not, you almost lost your head to a 200 year old myth that was clearly brought out the woodworks and that's something I’d rather not play with right now. Stay put, don’t worry, we’ll be in and out of this peacock factory fast and efficient.” Kassi said with a smile.

They all left shortly after while I stayed in the big ass loft all by myself. I found a square remote and pressed a button which made a holographic screen appear in front of me. It was showing the banquet that was being held at the palace and how thousands of big name players and politicians were showing up to show their respects to Lord Deewup. I watched it for a while until I heard a knock on the door. I turned the volume down on the screen and proceeded to the door. I opened it up to see a young girl with long platinum blonde hair in a pink dress.

“Hi, you must be Kenji Hatake. My name is Deity. May I enter?”

Before I could say anything, she had already walked in the room. How did she know who I was? Either way, she had just barged in without me giving her the okay.

“I don’t know who you are, you can't just --”

“I’m Deity, I just told you dummy.” She laughed as she walked to the balcony. “I’ve always loved this view! Sometimes I come up here late nights when everyone is sleeping and I just look as far as the eye can see. I’d do anything to see what's out there.”

I walked to the balcony and stood next to her.

“Yeah the view from here is beautiful. Never seen anything like it.”

“I won’t take up too much of your time Kenji, I just wanted to warn you that tonight my father has set a trap to catch you and your sister. The Universal Government is on their way right now to catch you guys. Your ship is also in Hangar J, where its being hacked and cleaned out so you guys can’t escape.” Deity said.

“Wait, what? Why are you telling me this? And wait .. Your father? You're the princess?”

Deity chuckled and skipped off the balcony and inside the loft, “you're quite the cutie, Kenji Hatake. Yes I am the princess and daughter of Lord Deewup and your sister and friends are in trouble. I must go as I told my bodyguard that I was going to the bathroom and its not ladylike to take more than 5 mins in the bathroom or so my late mother says.”

“Deity, how do I save my friends? I can’t find my way around this huge palace of yours and what if I --”

Deity put her soft index finger to my lips. “Kenji Hatake, even if you don’t get to your friends, I’m pretty sure that luck that has followed your sister through every dimension she's been in will get her out of this little jam also. I just had to tell you so you could pass the message. Now I must get going. Hopefully we see each other again. Bye Kenji Hatake” Deity then hopped along closing the door behind her. Now I had to find the Kassi, this little vacay went to shit too fast. I got dressed and opened the door and sprinted down the hallway. I made my way to an elevator and spammed pressed the button. Where was I gonna find Kassi, Nathan, and Tess? They could've been anywhere in this 80 floored, 5000 roomed palace. The elevator door opened and I was met by a 7 foot monster in armor.

“You must be Kenji Hatake. Sorry to inform you, but your invite for tonight's dinner has been revoked.”

And once again I was met with the butt of a gun. Great.

I woke up to cold steel on my cheek. I was bound and gagged with my ankles tied and shackled to the ground and all I could see was a bald headed man sitting on a chair reading a book. I moved a bit and he became aware that I was awake.

“Settle down Hatake. All that moving won't get you anywhere. Matter of fact, move again and I’ll personally knock you out again. I got what you call a vendetta against your sister so hurting you will definitely hurt her more” said the bald headed man.

Great. An enemy of Kassi. Made me wonder how many people my sister really crossed and here I was dealing with the most of it. I looked around to see no windows or means of escape. I must've been in the dungeon to the palace.

“No use looking around Hatake. The dungeon won't hear you scream and you can't hear the party going on upstairs either. So when the festivities start you won't hear your sisters screams” he laughed and put his eyes back to the book. Footsteps were heard in the distance and the 7 foot man that had knocked me out earlier had come into the room.

“The princess wants your protection for the rest of the night,” the 7 foot man said with a deep voice. He looked at me then back at the bald headed man.

“Seriously? That little brat just likes to spite me now ever since I dropped her crystal necklace. Fine, but who will watch this other brat?”

“Who cares. No one comes down here anyway. I have to get back to the lord's side. So please make haste.” The 7 foot man then walked away and the bald man closed his book and put it on the steel chair.

“Guess I won't watch you die after all Hatake.” He laughed maniacally and walked away.

I laid there thinking of ways to escape, I wiggled a bit but could feel the hopelessness crawl into my membrane. Until I heard footsteps again. They were lighter and smaller this time. That's when I laid eyes on Deity. She walked up to my cage smiling, swinging the keys around her finger.

“I tell you to pass information and instead you get captured by my bodyguards. I must say Kenji Hatake, you are not resourceful like your sister. Stories I’ve heard make her the most exciting space pirate I’ve heard in years.”

She unlocked the cage and took the gag out my mouth. She then proceeded to unlock my cuffs and shackles and helped me up.

“Where's Kassi and the crew? Did they capture them?” I asked as I fixed my clothes and got ready to leave, but I was grabbed my Deity.

“They’re okay but the whole palace is aware that you've been captured and even your sister knows, my father is holding her here until the Universal Government gets here but for her to make a move is your death or so she thinks. We have to move out of here quietly and somehow get her the information that you are safe and sound. First, we have to take out the guards that will make their way here.” Deity said happily.

“And how do we do that, we have no weapons. Your smile tells me you have a plan?” I said curiously.

“I do! You are like your sister! Knowing things before it happens” Deity clapped her hands with excitement. “I’d like for you to meet Esconder.”

Suddenly, a reptile with a crystal-like hide with a long tail appeared on Deity’s shoulder. I stepped back as I was caught off guard.

“I believe you two have already met, well in circumstances that were uncalled for really.” Deity said with a smile.

It was the Sapphire Dragon. The universe's deadliest dragon was perched on the Deity’s shoulder like a parrot on a pirate's shoulder. It was calm and relaxed and looked at me with no killing intent.

“Deity .. How did you .. It almost killed me ..” I stammered.

“He didn't mean to! My father refuses to feed him anything, so it's up to me to make sure he's okay, but somehow we’ve developed a bond and now I take him places. We speak telepathically believe it or not”

I had seen too much in my lifetime and definitely didn't have any time to ask anymore questions.

“Will Esconder get us to my sister and the crew safely?” I asked.

“Of course! Matter of fact, I activated my alert charm so you'll get to see in action how Esconder feeds! It's quite delightful.” Deity said happily.

Without notice, footsteps were heard coming towards the room.

“Come Kenji Hatake, Stand next to me. Esconder will handle the rest.” Deity said while holding my hand.

I stood next to her and watched as six men ran in the room with weapons pointed at us. The bald headed man came in last and looked at me with disgust.

“Step away form the princess Hatake. I won't hesitate to shoot you where you stand and deliver your limbs to your sister.”

Deity then stepped in front of me.

anime
1

About the Creator

Adrian Gardener

A black writer looking to share my many different worlds with the many people who will one day walk within my worlds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.