Futurism logo

Cursed by the Gods

History Would Be Different if They Listened to the Women

By Em ShortPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Cursed by the Gods
Photo by Jake Melara on Unsplash

I stood on the cliff looking out at the horizon. I could feel the tightness of dread sinking down into my chest. Thousands of ships sprinkled the sea on their way to our shore. Their dark sails hid the rising sun. Death was coming. Tears fell from my eyes as I turned back to looked at the walled city. Screams filled the air as I watched my home burn. I let out a scream as I fell to my knees.

I awoke with a gasp. I shivered as the cool night air touched my sweat-drenched skin. I looked at the flowing white curtains, beckoning me to the balcony. I stood from my bed and walked out into the dark night. I looked out at the sea, remembering the nightmare. I was cursed by the gods to bear witness to the future, but never to be believed. Breathing in the sea air, I devised a plan. I would go to Heleus, surely he would understand.

“Heleus,” I said shaking my twin awake. “Heleus, wake up!”

“Cassandra… what is it?” He looked at me groggily.

“Have our brothers returned?” I asked scared.

He looked at me confused, “No. They are due to return in the morning, bearing no issues on their course. What has gotten into you?”

“Their return will bring the end of Troy,” I whispered.

“Do not speak like that. You do not know what you are talking about!” Heleus said sharply.

“Do you deny your own visions, Heleus?” I asked looking at him. “You may carry my burden… but you do not carry my curse. Warn them!” I whispered harshly. “Send her home.” I quickly left the room before my brother could respond.

The golden structure shone brightly in the moonlight as I anxiously approached the temple of Apollo. I bowed my head as I entered his sanctuary and walked towards his altar. I lit a candle and knelt in front of his statue. “Apollo, Apollo. I beg you for forgiveness from my transgressions against you. Great Apollo, please… let them listen.” My prays were broken as the city erupted in cheers. My brothers were home and so was the impending war.

I solemnly walked back towards the palace, hoping Heleus was able to speak some sense into the brainless men of my family. The palace was bustling with commotion on the return of their sacred princes.

“Cassandra!” The warm smiling face of my oldest brother Hector came into my view.

“Hector,” I smiled as he hugged me.

“Your beauty continues to grow, young sister.” I blushed at his comment.

“You are too kind, brother. How was your trip?”

“Successful,” he said not meeting my eyes and I instantly knew my prophecy was unfolding.

Paris quickly came to my side and picked me up, laughing as he spun me around, “Little sister! How I have missed you!” I laughed as he put me down. “Come,” he said taking my hand. “There is someone I want you to meet.” I glanced at Hector, who held a look of concern. Paris led me to a beautiful blonde woman. I could see the joy in my brother’s face as he looked at this young beauty, but I could only feel contempt for this vixen. “Cassandra I would like you to meet Helen.”

I could do nothing to hide my emotions as I spoke, “Queen Helen of Sparta?”

Helen quickly glanced at my brother who spoke harshly in my ear, “Princess of Troy!”

I glared at him as I felt my heart quickening, “Send her home, Paris! She does not belong here… nor does she belong in your bed.” I looked at the young woman, “Your arrival invokes the wrath of the gods, Helen. Go home… before you kill us all.”

“Cassandra that is enough! You are unwell,” Paris said grabbing my arm.

I ripped my arm out his gasp and looked at our father, King Priam, who watched us closely, “Send her home, Father. Her arrival brings the death of Troy.”

“Troy will never die, so long as one of her sons carries the sword. Heleus, take your sister to her room. She is clearly unwell.” My father said walking past me towards Helen.

“Come, sister,” Heleus said holding out his arm for me. “Perhaps you need some rest.”

I took his arm sadly and let him lead me, “So you do not believe me either, Heleus?”

“I do. I have seen it too.” I felt my hopes lifting as he spoke. “Father will not hear it. He said no one can penetrate our walls.”

“He should not underestimate the Greeks. Especially King Odysseus-“

“What more have you seen?” Heleus asked as we reached my room.

“I have seen it all, Heleus. I have seen it all.”

literature
3

About the Creator

Em Short

IG: @emshort_ TikTok: @emshort_

Writer. Filmmaker. Creator. LI/NY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.