Futurism logo

Cupids Saga

two shorts about a famous God

By Jessica TaylorPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

The wrath of Cupid

The lovers call me Cupid. My superior calls me a pain in his ass. Ever since the dawn of my beginning I have been known to make men blind to the wiles of women and women stupid when it comes to the stupidity that men can create.

It is a game I enjoy playing throughout the ages; it brings me joy to watch as I place an arrow in my bow, pull it back and let it fly into the ass of some unknown fool. Though as my arrow strikes it does not leave a wound upon the physical being; no; it places a laudatory sense upon the heart leaving the mind to loose control.

But this is not a story of how my joy creates a mess in the hearts of men; no; this is the story of why spring is the season of love. This will explain much as long ago my superior decided that I needed no respect and tried to take what dignity I had by placing me in a skirt and diaper. Needless to say I was unhappy; for years I allowed my dignity to be ripped from my essence and along with it my pride in what I had been appointed to.

When I was a younger god I loved the job I had been given; to watch as I found similarities in the passersby; it created a glow in my soul and placed my mood in the clouds of heavens eternal high.

Hundreds of years passed before my superior grew jealous; I could see it in his eyes; they would grow green; his attitude became more and more impossible to deal with.

My features didn't help my situation for I had the chubby cheeks that a baby had my body was short and stubby; maybe that's why he decided to put me In a skirt and diaper. I guess he thought it would be more humiliating than normal.

Whatever his reason had been I had been placed at the edge of my own darkness. Forcing myself to keep the ruse of helping men and women to find each other in tides of love. It was my only solitude for so long; I kept quiet doing what I was placed to do; each day growing angry at my superior and all the humility he had placed with each millennia and the commercial images he had sent to the human population.

Finally one spring day I snapped; I do not know what year it had been but I finally had lost it.

I sat there thinking how I had let the turmoil of my soul go on for way too long; it was getting too much to bear. I was watching everyone else rise above while I remained a minor waste.

It was so vibrant; the flowers had just sprung their first bloom and they smelled so wonderful; yet I had not taken the time to breathe in their fragrance for so long it was like I had been born anew.

I lost control; I stood up with ferocity in my heart; I rose out of the ashes of my gloom and took my bow to aim. I let loose a fiery arrow right into the ass of some unsuspecting fool. He was a tall man with eyes of blue and hair of black curls, his face was slim as was his body; I took to noticing him playing shy at a pretty girl across the way; she was average in height, brown hair blowing within the cooling breeze, she slightly lifted her head to reveal her soft brown eyes; they seemed so filled with pain and sorrow but nevertheless she smiled at his rosy cheeks and chuckled as he fumbled over to where she was sitting. Their conversation took to flight and soon they were both laughing to the others jokes and I felt happy at their first meet.

I turned seeing another only this time a female; her eyes took to glance at a gentleman with green eyes and strawberry blonde hair; i again took my bow to aim and struck her in the soft spot of her ass that she had been sitting on.

I started laughing and looked for my next target. The day had progressed with much pleasure radiating from my soul. I could feel myself glowing with much anticipation. And as the day came to a end my being felt liberated, but it did not end with just one day.

The season progressed and I kept my bow firing without end; people fell for each other several stayed together; some did not; I did not care wether or not they had anything in common I just picked people at random and shot my arrow into their asses. At the beginning of summer I had felt like a champion and looked to the sky where my superior held his home; knowing he was watching my fury being unleashed upon the unsuspecting world.my eyes glowed red with anger and I reached my hands to the sky and yelled " you see now; not so big in your way to stop me; you don't have the balls."

I laughed with an evil tone; I was reborn; I felt fury to begin anew; amazed at my spirit I decided spring would be my time to free my heart from the evil depression I held throughout the year.

I am Cupid; the creator of loves; some everlasting; some shorthanded; I will make men crazy to the wiles of women and women stupid when it comes to the stupidity that men can create. I am Cupid!

Cupids winter

By Jessica Taylor

Imagine if you will, the first autumn snowfall; the dusk begins to call upon the day to close, street lamps glowing slight with tinted hope. A trail of green dusted with white, trees tower against the night, sparkling over lighted pathways. A little down the path sits a bench, elegance with style, ivy lopped around the bottom legs, and the feel of cool metal beneath you as you stay awhile.

It is there she waits for you; under her bonnet blue; patience her virtue for this moment in time. She is beautiful, how she glows this evening, her dress glistening like stars in the summer nights.

You stand slightly out of her eyeshot, examining her every move, you watch as she pulls out a book and you smile, thinking to yourself about how much you love her. Your wanton desires kick in, and thought increases, more now her features become obsolete and your focus directs to how she makes you feel.

She means everything to you, makes you feel wanted and needed, she gives without the need of receiving, and receives without the knowing,her heart is stubborn, which makes her even more desirable, she plays your heart, teases your mind, releases your soul. It is then you realize she is your saving grace, and she has completed you, the other half of you to make you whole.

You wait a few extra moments to calm your every nerve, then start towards this maiden who had stollen your heart, your mind and every ounce of your soul, she sees you then and stands to greet you.

Your thoughts run ragged once again letting your actions speak a million unspoken words, you lean in close and place your lips on hers and in that one kiss the world stops and nothing goes askew, this moment is yours and hers, this moment, this action, it all becomes a memory made, and in that one kiss heaven opens up the gates, angels start to sing, and the only thought you have is "she is mine"

I watch as a perfect love unfolds. moving on I sense trepidation and sadness overwhelm my immortal self, a force not to be reckoned with. I feel this gravity pulling me ever towards it and I follow with curiosity.

The feeling growing steady and strong; my heart starts to ache with the need to quench the thirst of this pain.

Now imagine if you will; looking into a window and seeing a home full of life. Children running around with smiles on their faces; in the background a woman cooking dinner; the smell wafting through the air; from the looks of the meal it was chicken pasta and some sort of vegetable. This house I knew well; I was a constant visitor here; she was a pretty lady tall yet not so slender; eyes of blue; hair of brown; her personality a slight bit of fun crazy.

Yes I knew her well; I had sent love her way so many a time before, but each time her fear made her step back and let loose the ones I had sent her. She was ragged and worn; exhaustion filling her mind and tears in her eyes when she slept alone.

She had built a solid foundation for her family; her six kids were strong but they were troubled; she knew it too; especially after an innocent man had been killed because of their troubles.

I watched her bare the news of her one true love being accused of a crime that he had not committed; one that went without mercy; he was sentenced to life in prison with the slight chance of parole if his behavior was good. Her children being the culprit of the accusation that placed him there. Evidence was falsified; all due to her troubled children that she had desperately tried to help. She felt bad about all of it and did her best to raise her kids right but after their father died they became more out of place and all being boys it was not an easy task. Her late husband was her first love but not her destined love, married at a young age and twins that first year.

Yes I knew her well; well enough to say that her children were brats and her heart was kind. And despite everything she was here in this time and place. Her youngest now thirteen, and her love now dead due to the other prisoners beating him to death in the prison courtyard. Even now after he was found not guilty of the crime and the true killer killed in another attempt to do wrong; she was beside herself; he would have been free and she would have loved him as she always had. But here in this time it was her bout of bad luck to receive ill news.

Her children watched as she went along with life and on this night realized that they did so much wrong that could never be fixed; the would have to live with the consequences for as long as they lived.

And she would not love another until they were grown; so each time I sent her love I would watch her as she would step back and play matchmaker for someone else. They would turn out to be happy and their lives full of love, so why was my heart and soul so drowned in sorrow and pain. Then it dawned on me that I had never failed this much before not with one person.

I was cold and tired watching her hearing her tears feeling her pain knowing her every emotion, and this is the winter within me.

religion
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Taylor

My deepest desire is to be able to help people; since I am too shy to be a professional speaker I decided that writing is my next best option. However, I do love the feel of the pen upon the page and the clicking of my keys on my keyboard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.