Futurism logo

Create Consistent Characters With Dall-E 3: A Step-By-Step Guide

Here's a step-by-step process of creating a consistent character using a GPT app called "Consistent Character GPT."

By Jim MongePublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Consistent character creation with Dall-E 3

If you need to create a series of images with a consistent look, you might be pleased to know that this is possible in Dall-E 3 in ChatGPT.

A few months ago, Dall-E 3 started adding support for Seed Numbers on its generated images. Seed numbers allow you to recreate the exact same image later. Dall-E 3 normally generates images randomly each time you provide a prompt. But with a seed number, you can force it to generate the same image again.

When GPT Store was announced, creators were quick to put together GPT applications that leverage the seed numbers to create consistent characters.

In this article, I will show you the step-by-step process of creating a consistent character using a GPT app called “Consistent Character GPT.”

Let’s get started.

Generate a character

The first thing I need to do is generate a character. Later on, we’ll make variations of that character while keeping the looks and aesthetics consistent.

Head over to the GPT store and under the Dall-E 3 tab, click on the “Consistent Character GPT” app.

On the app’s dashboard, click on the “Click here to start creating character designs” button.

The first thing the AI asked me is to select whether my character is male or female.

Prompt: Great, let’s start creating some amazing character designs! First, could you please tell me if the character should be a male or female?

Prompt: Please provide a name for the character.

I named my character “Jim” because I plan to create an avatar of myself!

Next, it asked me to give more details about the character.

Prompt: Could you share details about the character Jim, such as his age, country of origin, hair style, outfit, and any other characteristics you’d like to include?

I set the following details of my character:

  • Age: 30
  • Country of origin: Philippines
  • Hair style: Black hair, short and slightly curly
  • Outfit: Black hoodie jacket, gray shorts, sneakers
  • Body: Height is 165 cm, slightly chubby
  • Skin color: Tan to beige skin tone
  • Face: No beard, smiley
  • Full body

Make sure to add the “Full body” in your prompt. The AI will only generate a face if you don’t specify.

The final question it asked is the style or theme of the image. I selected Pixar Animation because I wanted to see a 3D render of myself.

Here’s the final result:

Awesome! Now, it’s time to make variations of me.

Generate variations of your character

Right now, you can instruct the AI to change the image however you want. For example, if I wanted my character to walk, this is what the result looks like:

All the attributes from the original image look almost exactly the same. Here’s another jumping pose:

It looks super cute but the hands are always inside his hoodie. So I asked the AI to create an image of me in waving pose.

Few things to keep in mind

  • Do not expect to get good results every single time. Regenerate multiple times until you get the result you want.
  • If the character is not the same as the original, ask the AI for the seed number of the original character and instruct it to use that seed number in succeeding generations.
  • Avoid the terms “facing left” or “facing right” because it tends to rotate the image sideways.
  • This GPT app is only accessible to ChatGPT Plus users paying $20 per month.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I had so much fun creating these consistent characters with Dall-E 3 and ChatGPT. Major thanks to ailemonacademy.com for creating the Consistent Character GPT app that made this process smooth and user-friendly.

I can see several use cases for this technology, like quickly mocking up character designs for games, animations, or comics. The consistency would allow asset creators to easily generate different poses and expressions without having to redraw the character each time.

Looking to the future, I’m excited by the possibility of sketching my own character designs and having an AI generate poses based on my drawings. Rather than relying completely on AI-generated images, I could leverage the technology to expand on my own artistic visions.

This is only the beginning as generative models keep advancing. I am excited to see what other creative use-cases will be unlocked in the coming months. For now, I highly recommend experimenting with the consistent character GPT app yourself!

techhow toartificial intelligence
1

About the Creator

Jim Monge

In no particular order, I enjoy: cheesecake; coffee; painting on my iPad; painting asphalt with sweat; thinking on paper; alt rock, pop; palatable alcohol; good books; good talks; and writing pretty words about it all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.