Futurism logo

Chronicles of a Cloudy Gem

By Dina HanaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Chronicles of a Cloudy Gem
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Nobody can hear you scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. “My ears, damn it!” the man next to me shouts in my face, unamused by my eye roll.

I force a snarky sorry out of my mouth and continue to slump into my seat, imagining myself sinking and getting whisked away by that vacuum, as mentioned earlier, of space. Ahhh, but that would be bliss, an emotion so alien to me, as strange as this dumb planet Ajax, I and the other handful of outcasts are being carted off to.

It is bullshit if you ask me. Life royally fucks us, and WE are the ones that get exiled for it? As if I wanted to be assaulted against my will and told to fuck off to this strange, lonely place. You see, the planet I am from, Minerva prides itself on its way of running things. It runs like a system on this oh-so fantastic, incredible planet (she says sarcastically). You are assigned these roles at birth, which are meant to help the system run like a well-oiled machine. HA! We are born cogs. Enough of my angst, though. So anyway, back to this machine. When something happens, that gets in the way of how things are supposed to work in the system, the guys deemed protectors and managers go militant. They’re fucking assholes if you ask me. God forbid you to tell them that, but then again, who or what is God? (They don’t like when you talk like that either, though. They don’t want anything outside of their well-oiled machine narrative).

Back to discussing why I am on this vessel of doom. Something awful happened to me recently. Something vile, evil, downright miserable. On Minerva, the climate is straight-up chaos. Every day it seems we have to weather a storm of some sort.

Days full of turbulent wind, to the point being outside is pointless. One year it rained solar flares, and my home was lucky enough to be struck by a ball of flames. That summer was fun (she said sarcastically again). For fucks sake, we couldn’t even play outside because of the damage! I’d describe most days as gloomy anyway if I’m being 100% honest. Doom and gloom is the motto there! Just kidding, that’s not the official motto. It’s the one that I, Reagan Mynx deemed its slogan.

Why do you ask? Well, my experience on that God-forsaken planet was full of doom and gloom. Even with the doom and gloom, I found ways to manage. It wasn’t easy, but I did. If you don’t find ways to cope, those protector folks get alerted, and you have to make sure you’re living up to their guidelines because if not, this happens! By this, I mean what’s happening to me now. You get exiled to this dumb planet. Never to be heard of again, never to be seen again.

I know, cruel, right? I think so too. What I think doesn’t matter anymore anyway. On Ajax, it’s just me, myself, & I. I’m sure this will sound silly, but I am not as happy with this outcome as you think. Minerva is still my home; as awful as it felt there, I had my family.

When I tell you it’s complicated, I mean it’s very complex. I still loved our Queen Sapphire and wanted to live up to my role. I still loved my siblings and my fellow Minervites. I just wish they would hear me out. I wish they would let me share my story. I am glad you are here to listen, though. So, let me start with the events that led to the exile.

space
1

About the Creator

Dina Hana

I am a poet and storyteller. I love to share compelling stories and am ALWAYS vulnerable. Life is too short to hold things in, especially feelings.

TikTok: Wildcardyogi

IG: Wildcardyogi_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.