Futurism logo

Brigid

Mythology series #8

By Ravena Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Brigid
Photo by Hayden Scott on Unsplash

Brigid is an Irish goddess. The name Brigid means exalted one. she is the daughter of The Dagda. She is the wife of Bres and has a son Ruadan. She was part of the Tuatha De Danaan.

Brigid is the goddess of healing, hearth, protection, poetry, fertility, wisdom, blacksmithing, and domestic animals. Imbolc is her holiday and Saint Brigid and her are the same.

She is a goddess of many many things. I view her as a goddess of the home. She is warm and safe. She's the goddess of fire and the hearth. There is an eternal flame burning in Kildare and is maintained by 19 nuns, that burns for Saint Brigid. She is the goddess of protection and domestic animals. She is strong. she is the goddess of smith's work. She is known as the goddess of poetry and the poet's goddess. She is the goddess of healing and fertility. she is a mother goddess and she is the goddess of wisdom.

In many stories, Brigid is the wife of Bres, the half-Fomorian ruler of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Their son, Ruadan, wounded smith god Gioban in the second battle of Magh Tuireadh but he was killed in combat. Brigid then went to the battlefield to mourn her son. This was said to be the first cry heard in Ireland. In the story The Sons of Tuirean, Brighid was the wife of Tuireann and had three sons. They killed the god Cian when he was disguised as a pig.

in 453 C.E. she became Saint Brigid and was known as the patroness of farm work and cattle, protector of the home from fire and calamity.

It is said that you will always be protected by repeating Brigid's genealogy.

"This is the genealogy of the holy maiden Bride,

Radiant flame of gold, noble foster mother of Christ,

Bride, daughter of Dugall the Brown*,

Son of Aodh, son of Art, son of Conn,

Son of Crearer, Son of Cis, son of Carmac, son of Carruin,

Every day and every night

That I say the genealogy of Bride,

I shall not be killed, I shall not be harried,

I shall not be put in a cell, I shall not be wounded,

Neither shall Christ leave me in forgetfulness.

No fire, no sun, no moon shall burn me,

No lake, no water, nor sea shall drown me,

No arrow of fairy nor dart of fay shall wound me

And I under the protection of my Holy Mary

And my gentle foster-mother is my beloved Bride." ---Carmina Gadelica, by Alexander Carmichael

She was born at sunrise and had a tower of flame reaching from the top of her head to the heavens giving her home a look of being on fire. She was called the flame of Ireland, the fiery arrow. she was a goddess of the forge.

The household fire is sacred to Brigid each evening the woman of the household should cover it over to keep the fire overnight asking for the protection of Brigid on all its occupants.

I will smoor the hearth

As Brighid, the Fostermother would smoor

The Fostermother's holy name

Be on the hearth, be on the herd

Be on the household all.

-Carmina Gadelica, by Alexander Carmicheal.

On Imbolc, Ireland makes Bride's Crosses. Brigid's crosses are usually three-legged; in other words, the triskele. It is a solar symbol. It is also sometimes made as a cross of reeds woven into an even cross. Rituals for Bride are still preserved in the Outer Hebrides. The women of La Fheill Brighid construct an image of the Goddess as Maiden. They dress her in white and place a crystal over her heart, and place her in a basket. The female head of the household invites Bride into the house with sacred songs and chanting. There is also a tradition of leaving bread, milk, and a candle for Brigid.

Brigid called me yesterday on Imbolc. I'm looking for a house with my bf and 2 daughters and my son and I found this lovely house and am hoping we are chosen for it. So I called Brigid. She is a mother goddess and I feel that she is the best goddess for a home. I think with her help we will get this home.

religion
1

About the Creator

Ravena

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.