Futurism logo

After Doom's Day Thoughts

Wandering the rainbow aftermath of an ending no one expected.

By Tiva HopePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Things can still be fun when no one has anyone.

Walking along the beach, my vehicle getting farther away as the sand and water rush between my toes. It’s nice that the beach and ocean clean up programs worked to keep them free of trash. Beautiful gems, stones, and metals of all sorts can be found all over the sand because of how the machines were programmed. I’m having a lot of fun, finally relaxing some for the first time. I twirl and frolic in the waves as something catches my eye. I see the chain first; it almost looks like snakeskin. It is uniformly sized though and partially buried.

I start to walk up to it since I wasn’t far since I could see it with my gas mask on. It’s a really cool one, I found a bunch of filters and tools for, so I’ve kept them for a while. It’s a full-face shield that has air filters at the top to keep from fogging and reduce sight limitations. The masks are small enough I keep them all in a stacked container in my vehicle. Thankfully, there isn’t anything immediately hazardous to skin in the air so I can still wear whatever, especially in the heat. The toxins in the air have gotten so bad a huge portion of the global population died off all at once.

Grabbing the chain, it comes out of the sand with ease and a glimmer. It’s a heart shaped locket, covered in swirls of twisting metal and gems embedded in the back. It doesn’t seem to be able to open very easily. I’ll have to bring it back with me and test a few ways of opening it.

The sun feels really nice on my skin as I’m walking back. I feel absolutely amazing, I didn’t know I could exercise while genuinely enjoying the sun and sea. Coming upon my vehicle while happy I notice all the things I originally loved about it. Really tall both inside and out, I put a 12-inch lift on it so it better be tall. I really didn’t care about where it fit because I’d blaze a new trail. It was a big thing with lots of seats in it, I was born after Doom’s Day, so I don’t really know what it was. I scraped off the letters “Shut le us” so I think it shuttled people around. I pulled everything out that wasn’t attached to the engine. Made the whole vehicle airtight, purifiers and plants inside for air and food. I made a custom bathtub shower wet room. Separate toilet area and a bigger kitchen space than I’ve seen in places that I explore sometimes. Finding recipes is my favorite when adventuring.

It’s always just so beautiful by all the old little shops. Shoe stores, stacked on lamp stores, next to candy stores that are over fudge factories. I wish I was born at a time when these shops were lively. Oh, to see what shoppers did before the Doom’s Day drop. I have not seen very many people my entire life, so it’s hard to imagine a whole bunch in one place. I mostly grew up in an old Library that a single woman cared for. I’m not sure what would have happened if she hadn’t found me as a baby. Lucky for me there was all kinds of books about how to care for babies and her being a librarian she read them all and got to work. I’m very thankful for her. I do supply runs often for us but she’s been needing different strange ingredients lately that I have to travel and search for. There was one time I can remember that there was a traveler that came by the library while I was still incredibly young. They gave her 3 books, a big bag and a small bag. I have never known what was in either bag, just that the books stay close to her ever since and I am not allowed to touch them. I shall just keep gathering these ingredients as explained and find out in time I suppose.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.