Futurism logo

Advance Human Project (1)

Floating World

By Felista Estep SutherlandPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
AHP, Floating World

The lights have risen in my room, it's my alarm to get going for the day. What a ridiculous concept a day, or what any particular day is out here, in the middle of space floating on S4. There is a day of some kind, relevant to where we float but it’s such a ridiculous time frame that it’s irrelevant to humans.We do float or rather revolve and rotate in this particular galaxy as if we are organically part of it. I’m not at all sure how any of it works. What I do know is humans didn’t create it. Apparently, the species who did is long gone. What I find to be peculiar are the little archaic particulars amongst the wonder of a world created just for saving humans off from planet Earth. Strange.

I lay there thinking about this other species, the one who created this ship-like world. It seems nearly unfathomable to me for another species, who is far more intelligent than humans, to even bother with creating S4 to save humanity. They certainly did select the most kind and loving humans as they have subsequently been procreating kind and loving humans. Living here is the most magical experience possible, the entire mission is to live in peace while saving those who need it the most. They chose me. They saved me and every moment I’m here, I’m thankful and I feel driven to save more.

Anyway, it’s time to venture out and contribute to my S4 community. I’m truly grateful to be here. It’s nothing like I ever pictured a spaceship to be. It’s a machine but it’s a lot like Earth with a pretty big park to enjoy, I even get to ride a bicycle as part of my physical fitness routine. Imagine that, a leisurely ride on a bicycle while on a spaceship. There is a lot here that used to bug me out, like it was almost too perfect. I kept and willI keep waiting for the floor to fall out or something catastrophic to happen but until then I’ll enjoy this comfort.

Good day Bino!

“Good Day One! I’m so excited for our game later!”

Me too!

I felt myself feel truly happy and warm as I walked with Bino to the dining halls. I loved walking through the oversized, double, wooden doors that always lead to wafts of delicious savory and sweet aromas. I would have never imagined such craftsmanship and beauty on a spaceship. Growing up, everything I ever saw about spaceships showed them made primarily of metal with very little in the way of living organisms. It never seemed like there was much life outside of Earth and that couldn’t be further from the truth.

“Greetings Claire, Zeikel!” Bino greeted our usual meal mates. Claire was from Earth like Bino and me and Zeikel was born on S4. We’re all pretty close in age, which definitely feels different here on S4. I mean, Zeikel is my age but he seems much older. I think growing up in such a perfect place just enables you to grow more as an individual. Zeikel seems like he’s lived many lives before the one he is currently experiencing. He’s calm, he’s gentle, incredibly capable and intellectually brilliant. He seems to know just about anything you ask him about. Although not the smartest as Claire unspokenly holds that title. This girl is incredible! She is probably one of the smartest people on all of S4. She’s also spunky and has an incredible appetite for life! Everyone knows her and everyone loves her as much as the next person. Honestly, it’s like she grew up here the way she just fit right in. We entered S4 on the same transport and I’m not nearly as adjusted.

“One! Good to see you dear. I have a new test I’d like to run if you can come by later.” Cedric greeted our whole table with a delightful smile nodding at everyone. He seemed particularly happy this morning.

Sure! I’ll be by this afternoon!

He moved along quickly to get his own meal. A couple little girls ran past him, giggling and goofing around almost tripping Cedric. He laughs at their excited energy and whirls around instead of falling. This moment really sums up life on S4, humans love each other here, which is so unlike Earth. I can just imagine a man Cedric’s age, being painfully grumpy and yelling at children for just existing near him. That pretty much sums up Earth.

“Alright, let’s go, we have to get going on those repairs.” Bino jumps up grabbing his favorite vegetable pastry to go.

“Zeikel, do you want to update the receiving frequency for the next transport? It’s due back tonight and they are entering from the East portal, not the West as originally planned.” Claire asks as she gathers her screen and sweater.

“Yea, I’ll start out if you’d like to continue with that.” Zeikel says gently, smiling while motioning towards the design on Claire’s screen that she was working on. She is always designing something new. She has a brilliant mind and can literally design anything but she loves designing fashion.

Our portal docks are located on the south side of S4, which is where Bino, Claire, Zeikel and I all do our community contributions. We all got to know each other through our collective work, being a part of the team who helps maintain all the portal ships that go to and from Earth. Work or as we call it community contribution doesn’t last any longer than three hours a day, unless you want to keep working or contributing and most do. There’s this incredible balance of contribution time, physical exercise, education and leisure time. Our community on S4 focuses on nurturing one another. There is no money, no currency, everyone just contributes, even children and without question. Everyone has access to everything they need and to much of what each person wants. I honestly could never want more than what S4 provides!

Ugh, the pit in my stomach reminds me that’s not entirely the truth! I still want Them to pay more than anything.

After work and a mid day meal, I took a walk towards the north of S4, towards Cedric’s dwelling, which also contained his massive laboratory. Along the way there I saw Betty, Cedric’s sacred partner. She was joyfully heading to the gardens to tend to the plants for her community contribution. Her smile could have lit up the whole path when she saw me. She declared, “He can’t wait for you dear! He says he finally figured it all out! Oh sweetheart, you know how excited he gets but truly this time he was even dancing around the lab!” Betty was kind of chuckling to herself as she whirled around to continue looking at me as we passed each other.

I certainly do, I tell Betty with the warm smile she brought to my face.

I watch her walk along waving goodbye. Her long gray hair was swishing across her back, to the rhythm of her gate. Continuing along I arrive at Cedric’s and Betty’s home. Knowing I’m expected to see myself in, I enter through the lab doors heading towards Cedric’s desk. Before I even get ten feet into the building Cedric suddenly appears practically rambling about his excited eureka moment.

“One, we can connect you to S4! This should allow us to find a way to deactivate and allow your chip to be removed! Listen, I’m so sorry I never thought of this before. S4 is not just a spaceship as you know. It’s an enormous living organism that exists in perfect harmony, that has an incredible artificial intelligence for a central communications system or CCS. It’s the CCS that should be able to disable your chip because it should recognize it as a threat that needs to be neutralized safely, for the sake of the host, you!” Cedric waits with wildly hopeful anticipation of what my response will be.

Thank you for reading. If you haven’t already please read the first installment of this story Advance Human Project, S4.

extraterrestrialspaceartificial intelligence
Like

About the Creator

Felista Estep Sutherland

I’m here to offer my creations created in a place far beyond my own modern reality, a place that is past the perceived hells and in a magical space of total existence, that holds no laws, no boundaries and only infinite possibilities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.