Futurism logo

A workplace experience that makes you think twice: the most chilling of hearts!

The most important thing to guard against is a malicious mind

By Clemmens CroftonPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
A workplace experience that makes you think twice: the most chilling of hearts!
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

One day, my readers happened to talk about this topic and people shared unnerving experiences they had gone through at work.

To give you heads-up found the people involved and compiled three typical stories to tell. Apart from reading them as stories, I would like you to take them as a warning and make sure you keep your eyes peeled when dealing with people.

Not only do you have to guard against fire and theft, but you also have to guard against people with evil intentions.

01

I am the finance officer of the office.

In accordancBysignedl rules of the unit, all reimbursement sheets must be reviewed by me first and then signed by the leader in charge of finance before the reimbursement process can take place.

The reaThenature is that the leader wants to avoid risks and use me as the first barrier.

However, even though it was obvious, I had no better way to deal with it than to tremble and be careful.

He always admonished me, "You must be careful in signing the audit, I have seen your signature before signing", the meaning could not be clearer: if there is a problem, it is your responsibility, anyway, you signed the letter first.

One day last year, Lao Liu from the next section brought a few dining invoices and reimbursement applications for me to sign.

I took a look at the meal expenses incurred when a unit from a neighboring city came to visit us last month.

According to the rules, we can treat our counterparts to a working meal when they visit us, and we can just reimburse them normally.

I carefully reviewed what he brought over: the invoice amount was not over the limit, the reimbursement form was filled out correctly, and the other unit had the original formal letter.

Quiet alone

Everything was formal and I couldn't find anything wrong with it, so I readily signed off on it.

One detail: the date of the meal written on the reimbursement form was 17 June, which happened to be my birthday, so I took a look at it and was impressed.

The next day, Liu came to me with a sad face, saying that he had lost the reimbursement form and invoice that I had signed the yesterday when he brought them back to the office, probably caught in a scrap of paper, and put them in the shredder together.

He asked me beggingly, "I've had a hard time going back to the hotel to ask for some invoices again, could you please sign another one for me?"

He was a senior and he was begging me, so I couldn't refuse him. So he reached out and handed over a new reimbursement form and invoice.

I took them and was about to sign them without thinking when my pen hand hovered in mid-air and stopped.

I suddenly saw that the date of the meal on the reimbursement form had changed to 18 June, which was different from yesterday.

I asked, "Brother Liu, why is the date of the meal different from yesterday?

Old Liu was nervous and explained, "Oh, I may have misremembered it. I'm sorry, I'll tear it up and fill it out again."

After a while, he came back with a new claim form, this time with the number 17 written down honestly and the amount the same as yesterday, so I signed it.

In the end, I took a look at the letter from the other party's office, which said "Please accept the research in the local area on June 17-18".

When I got home, I talked about it in passing to my dad, who is an old finance man in the organization.

I thought it was just a careless mistake, but he exclaimed.

"This greedy old fox, you almost fell into his trap, thank goodness you were careful!"

I asked, puzzled, "What?"

He said, "This old Liu, who must have had extra invoices on hand, wanted to pocket the over-reported meal expenses under the guise of this research team."

"The other side was in the local area on the 17th, and 18th for 2 days, logically it's not wrong to have 2 meals in a row on those 2 days."

"He fooled you into signing the list for two days, and then ran to the divisional leader to casually explain the reason in two sentences, the leader is so busy that your signature must prevail, and when he sees your signature, he will mindlessly follow the signature."

"But according to the rules, you can only treat one meal, and when the audit is back, it will certainly question why you gave two meals reported. The leader will blame you: it's not because of lax financial auditing!"

After listening to my dad's words, I took a closer look and realized, that there was more to it than that. Thank goodness I had paid attention to the key details, otherwise, I would have had to take the blame for someone else's greed!

My profound lesson.

As a finance professional, there is no such thing as money, so when reviewing bills, be careful and careful again!

To be on the safe side, for such bizarre requests to re-sign a bill, it is necessary to have the other party declare in writing that the previously signed bill is automatically void.

02

Two years ago, when I first joined the company, I didn't know many of my colleagues very well. The unit had an important meeting in a neighboring city, and a bus pulled a dozen people to the meeting.

The night before the meeting, I stayed in a room with a soon-to-be retired sister, Ma, and had a nice chat before going to bed.

At 11 pm, she had turned off the lights and gone to bed when my boyfriend called. In order not to disturb her, I tiptoed to the bathroom to answer it.

We were in the middle of renovating our wedding house, and we had a lot of disagreements, so we were talking and arguing on the phone, and it was quite loud.

I tried to keep my voice down while arguing with him, unable to restrain my anger and with tears streaming down my face, for over an hour on the phone.

I didn't come out of the bathroom until my phone ran out of battery and I saw Ma with the small bedside lamp on, leaning on the pillow and playing with her phone.

I asked, embarrassed, "Did I wake you up?"

She held up her old-fashioned glasses and gave me a smile of elder tolerance: "It's okay, I'm a light sleeper. It's normal for young people to fall in love and make a lot of noise."

The next morning, I woke up early, Ma was still in the shower, so I went ahead to the restaurant for breakfast.

At the restaurant, I ran into the driver of the flat. He came up and teased me.

"Why are your eyes so swollen? Did you cry last night?"

I smiled awkwardly and didn't want to say anything.

But he smiled mysteriously, shaking his head and bragging.

"Let me guess, you must have fought with your boyfriend last night, and it was about renovating the house?"

I was so shocked and frightened that I couldn't say a word. If I hadn't been tipped off by someone who knew, I wouldn't have believed it was such a coincidence, it couldn't have been so accurate!

Afterward, I couldn't understand what had happened. The first day in the middle of the night happened, how can the next day early in the morning to the ears of the unit driver?

The most likely person was Ma, but she was still in the shower when I left the room this morning, so there was no way she could have gone out and told the others before me!

It seemed unnecessary to say that she had used her mobile phone to tell a male driver about my personal affairs and even more unlikely.

For a while, I couldn't get my head around it, and I was tormented by the mystery.

It was only this year, by chance, that I learned the truth from someone else, and it was so simple.

There is a group of people who play well together in the unit who have created a WeChat group, about a dozen people, including Ma and the driver.

They chatted about everything, especially other people's personal affairs, and gossip, and they talked about them with great interest.

And that night, just as I was arguing with my boyfriend to the point of losing my temper, not only that driver but a dozen other people in the flat were receiving a live feed simultaneously.

I was like a clown on stage, with so many colleagues hiding in the shadows, spying on my private affairs, watching them clearly and thoroughly.

How's that for a story?

The lesson I have learned from this incident is that

In the workplace, you never know which people are part of a small group, and even if there's only one person in front of you, you're likely to be in the spotlight.

If you don't want your colleagues to pry into your privacy and be teased by unsuspecting people, you should always be careful to hide your private affairs.

03

In my business office, my work is confidential and from time to time I come into contact with confidential documents and telegrams.

One day, the confidential officer took a "classified" telegram and asked me to sign for it, urging me, as is customary, "If you lose a classified telegram, you'll go to jail.

I remember very clearly that I was the last one to leave the office before the end of the day and locked the telegram in the filing cabinet before leaving.

The next day, I was called to an impromptu meeting and didn't go to the office.

On the third day, when I tried to find the file in my locker, something strange happened: it was dead!

I looked all over for it and was frantic. When Mi and Fang from the same office saw me jumping around, they both came to ask me what I was looking for.

I dared not tell them that I had lost a confidential document, so I had to put up a few excuses to get by.

After work, seeing that everyone had left, I went through the contents of several filing cabinets again but still couldn't find it; it had mysteriously disappeared as if it had vanished into thin air.

It went on like that for days, and like a thief, I secretly went through the filing cabinets every day as soon as everyone left after work. Finally, in despair, I was certain that the file was gone.

When I thought back to the confidentiality training I had received at the start of my career, which made the consequences of losing confidential documents clear, I was so despondent that I even imagined the possibility of being jailed.

After much deliberation, I decided to first confess my mistake to the confidential officer and ask him what I should do next. So I ran to his office and admitted that I had lost the document.

Surprised, he took out his sign-off book and, pointing to one of the columns, asked me.

"Do you mean this document? The day after I gave it to you, Mi from your office returned it!"

I was shocked and relieved at the same time.

"Really? I handled this document, why did she give it back to you without asking me?"

The confidential officer said, "I don't know what happened, but I wondered why it was returned so quickly, as it usually takes a week. When I asked her, she just laughed. Didn't she tell you?"

I felt my scalp tingle straight away, and I didn't believe it when I said that Mi had done it unintentionally.

The day I couldn't find the document, everyone had seen how anxious I was, how I was rummaging through the boxes, and Mi had come over to ask me what was wrong, how could she not have thought of the confidential document?

And according to the division of labor, that document was labor my job, not hers at all. How could she have returned my document without saying a word to me, knowing that I was the one who handled it?

When I thought about it, there was only one possibility: it was like a prank, she had deliberately made me think that I had lost the document, so I would be anxious and have trouble sleeping.

When I thought about it, I was suddenly overjoyed.

Fortunately, she had only returned the document in secret, but if she had hidden it or simply shredded it or set it on fire, wouldn't I have been doomed?

I can't think of anything I've ever done to offend Xiaomi at work.

If I had to, it would have to be the merit evaluation at the end of last year. The director had originally decided on her but then found out that she had taken too much leave for a while, so she changed it to me.

I somehow managed to get a merit, and I felt sorry for her at the time. I had no idea that she would hold a grudge and take such revenge afact afterward

The lesson I learntlearnedthis the incident is clear.

Once bitten by a snake, I was afraid of a good rope fgooden years. Since then, I have never dared to trust any of my colleagues again.

All confidential documents endorsed in my name are locked in my drawer, never in the public filing cabinet.

Rules and morals only work for gentlemen, but villains are more difficult to guard against than gentlemen, and it is as easy as pie for someone in the same office with evil intentions to use the rules of confidentiality to harm you.

The author's profile: diligent Ye Zijun, a civil servant in the system for ten years, the workplace original author, takes newcomers to avoid pit rapidtakeswth.

If you want to hear interesting stories about the workplace and learn about the twists and turns of the workplace, be sure to follow me!

featurehow tohumanityopinion
Like

About the Creator

Clemmens Crofton

An eye for an eye thought for an obsession.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.