Futurism logo

A Search Through Galaxies

Pt. 3

By PaulaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by: Lucas Pezeta

Staring down at the object in my hand I could feel it’s slight draw to me. This is what pulled me here, how I found them. Looking at Mark and Connie with worry I ask, “Is this part of a star stone?” They both look confused, “Yes, it’s a little less than half of one. I found it when I first started gardening at our home on Thesurok.” Connie explains. Taking a deep breath I begin, “I am sorry, it probably means more to you than I can know... This is what brought me here. I could feel it pulling me in. It wasn’t strong but it was enough. Holding it now, I can feel the small amount of power radiating from it. If you wish to remain hidden you will have to destroy it.” I saw the fear in Connies eyes as she looked over to Mark and said, “I am so sorry Mark! I had no idea that this would happen!” His eyes soften when he looks at her saying, “It’s fine dear, really. I don’t think either of us have known. We’ve had it for so long that we must be immune to it’s pull.” Connie nods and gestures for me to hand over the stone. I gently place it in her hand and when I look up at her a stray tear streams down her cheek. I give her a sad smile and Mark wipes the tear from her face. Inhaling a shaky breath Connie nods to assure us that she’s on board. “Come with me.” Mark tells us. We follow him into a room filled with tools and gadgets that I’m not quite familiar with. “What is this room?” I ask confused. Mark chuckles explaining that we are in their garage and that people use it for storing their tools and cars. We watch as Mark sets the stone down on his work space and grabs a metal mallet from the wall. He gives Connie a tight hug and walks over to the stone. Pulling back over his head he swings down right on top of the stone breaking it into pieces. I immediately feel the connection break making me let out a deep sigh.

After, we all sat down in the living room and Mark explained to me that it’s Summer time here. A season on Earth where most kids my age are out of school until their next year. If anyone asks to refer to them as ‘Aunt Connie and Uncle Mark’ and to say that I’ve come to stay with them from another state. Also, for our safety do not by any means tell anyone about our powers. I did however have a request of my own, “Uncle Mark, do you think you could train me on how to fight and control my abilities?” He furrowed his brow and thought about it for a moment. “Hmmm... I don’t see why not but I will inform you that you will not be teleporting. We don’t want to lose you and the key to control is using your mind,” he answered. I didn’t even realize I was tense until my body started to relax after he answered. I have no prior knowledge of how to control my powers or any fighting abilities, so to say I’m nervous is an understatement. “We want you to get settled in and get accustomed to life here before you being training though,” Connie said. I nodded in agreement and she told me that she wanted to take me to get more clothes later in the day. After some time Connie got up to make us lunch and after we ate we got ready to leave. Mark let me borrow some of his boots but they were a little snug. I was still able to manage and Connie said we would get some shoes that fit me better.

While driving to get clothes I was looking everywhere. This place was definitely different from my home planet. There were so many tall structures and cars everywhere. The roads were paved in black and everyone seemed to be absorbed in their own lives. We pulled up to a big structure, I gaped at the building as Connie said, “This is the Westfield Century City Mall!” Confused I turned toward her and asked, “What’s a mall?” She gestured toward the structure saying, “It’s a big building with lots of stores inside. Clothing stores, food shops and electronic stores.” We got out of the vehicle and made our way inside. Looking around the building I saw different levels of shops and I could smell a delicious aroma of food. I followed Connie to a store with the name Old Navy. She instructed me to look around to see if I liked anything in particular. After a moment of scanning I just couldn’t decide. “I’m just not sure Connie. I could really use some help if you don’t mind?” I told her. “Of course dear! Hmm let’s see, we will look at jeans first and you can try them on. Then shirts and last socks and underwear,” she answered. We picked out everything she said and I went to try them on. The jeans fit perfectly and the shirts were a little short so I told Connie and she swapped them out for a better fit. After we had everything that we agreed on we went to a woman standing behind a counter. A tag on her shirt read Hannah and she smiled at us brightly asking if we’ve found everything okay. “Yes, we have! Thank you for asking!” Connie replied. I watched as the woman scanned everything and after she was done she stated, “Alrighty, your total comes to 136.54.” Confused I looked at Connie and watched her pull out some sort of card and hand it to the woman. She swiped it, handed it back to Connie and then handed her a printed piece of paper. Smiling again she wished us a good day. I followed Connie out and she led us to another store called, Vans. We picked out more pants and shirts. Then Connie led me to a wall full of shoes. She helped me find a better size that fit comfortably. After grabbing three pairs we started making our way to another woman behind a counter. As we got closer I felt my breath catch in my throat. There she was, the girl I had seen the first night I got here on Earth. I noticed how her hair flowed down around her in waves. It was a soft brown color but as I looked at her eyes they were as blue as the sky and had a warmth to them. She had a beautiful smile across her face and then I spotted her tag. It said Summer, the name suited her perfectly.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Paula

I’m just a girl who likes to write for fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.