Futurism logo

A Piece of the Pie (Chapter 19)

Chapter 19

By Justin MoorePublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
photo by Joakim Honkasalo from Unsplash

Chapter 19 – Try the Orobandy

As night fell we made our way back into the city, this time accompanied by Uly, Feo, and Vera. They lead us into a bar with a bunch of flashing lights on the outside. Honestly it looked a little crazier than I was expecting, based off the previous chill time we spent wandering near the water in the city.

I noticed there were no bouncers outside – a good sign, people are trusting here. Once inside, two big burly dudes – yes, the redundancy is necessary in this case as they were both big AND burly – approached us.

I hope these guys are the bouncers, otherwise we are about to get our asses kicked. One of the burly dudes swung his arm up swiftly towards me. In the middle of bracing myself, I heard a deep, kind voice come from the burly dude.

"Hi, I'm Gliud, Vera's boyfriend," Gliud said as he firmly took my hand and shook it, a big smile on his face.

"I'm Ott," the other introduced himself, "I'm Uly's boyfriend."

Oh.

Alright. So not bouncers and not just two random dudes that want to fight us.

This place really is as nice as it seems at first glance.

We introduced ourselves, and they were actually really good dudes. Uly and Vera wandered towards the crowded dance floor with them. The DJ threw on Three Little Birds. I could seriously get used to this place.

Sam whispered loudly into my ear, "dude, this place is ridiculously. It's some kind of utopia... I mean, look at all these people, they're all gorgeous. I haven't even had anything to drink yet and I'm feeling so happy and alive. And they listen to Marley even here on the Moon," he slapped me on the back and let out a contented sigh, "we're gonna scope it out," and he, Jake and Mouk moved off into the crowd.

Sam's right, this place is incredible... and we're ON THE MOON! I mean, that's pretty cool in itself.

"Hey Dim, are you okay?"

I turned around to see Feo smiling at me. I guess I had just been kind of standing here staring into space. "Oh, yeah, just soaking it all in."

"I know what you mean," Feo said with a look of contentment on her face.

"So, uh... can I buy you a drink? I mean, I guess it's not really my money, but..." I offered somewhat awkwardly.

"Definitely," she smiled and we shuffled off to the bar. There were all these different lights floating around, and on closer inspection I realized with no little amazement that they are actually little fairies, who fluttered about picking up empty glasses and bottles. What?!?!?

"What should I try here?" I asked Feo, my eyes still swirling about in awe.

"I like the Orobandy."

So I turned to the bartender and ordered two bottles without a second thought.

"Cheers!"

"Cheers!" Feo clinked my bottle enthusiastically.

I took a swig, and felt like I was floating for a second. It was awesome. It tasted kind of like beer back home, with an orange citrus kick that hits you a couple of seconds later.

I am aware that sounded like an ad for alcoholic Sunny-D.

"This stuff is delicious!"

"I know right?" Feo grinned at me and finished off hers. We got a couple more.

"So, tell me a little about yourself. I mean, I know your sister's a princess, which I guess you're a princess too, eh? You, Vera and Uly seem really cool, but I really don't know much about you."

"Well, up until this business with the shapeshifters, I had been studying astrophysical theory –"

"Is that, like, a real thing, or just something nerds say so they can be cool and mysterious?" I teased her and gave a goofy grin.

She pushed me playfully on the shoulder and laughed, "I want to know how the world outside of this one works, maybe find out some clues as to why we're here, you know?"

"That actually is super cool." I ordered and drained another Orobandy, and got another for Feo. I was starting to get a good little buzz going. "Man, what is this stuff?" I wondered aloud to no one in particular, taking a look at the label, "twenty-three percent?! This is beer?"

"Kind of, but not like the stuff you're used to," she smiled as she finished off her own bottle.

"Wow... twenty-three percent beer... you wanna dance?" I asked her. What am I saying? I suck at dancing, but when I get a little tipsy then I MUST do it.

I can't be that drunk already?

"I'd love to," she replied. And so I took Feo's hand and led her over to the dance floor, just as the DJ started spinning a new song. Some cool beat I've probably pretended to know but likely could only mumble the choruses to. I wondered how so much here is so similar to Earth. I wonder if they pick up our radio stations? Which started to lead me to thinking about whether or not I should worry about getting back to Earth? I decided to not worry too much about it right now – I'm a little more concerned about not making too much of a fool of myself in front of all these cool ass people in this club.

"Listen Feo, I'm really sorry about last night," I said, leaning a little closer so she could hear me over the music.

"Dim, don't even worry about it," she smiled, rocking her head and swaying gracefully, "so where'd all your buddies get to?"

"I dunno. This is usually what happens when we go out, we just get super trashed and wander off and get lost," I laughed as we moved with the music, "so you said you had been studying astrophysa-something? Not anymore?"

"Since the shifters were first spotted in the desert, everyone has been on edge. They've never come close to the city, but we hear about attacks on caravans and archaeologists in the desert every so often. I've been going out with Uly and Vera on scouting missions pretty much every day. Tonight is really my first night off."

"Wow, I thought I had it tough... just trying to stay awake long enough to pay attention in classes," I made an exaggerated sigh and grinned at Feo as I finished off my fifth Orobandy.

We danced for a little while in silence. Not really silence, the music was still playing, but you know what I mean, just enjoying the moment.

"Want to see something cool?" Feo said into my ear.

"Sure," I said, and she took my hand and led me off the floor and out of the bar. Walking down the street there was a cool breeze on the air.

"It's just up this way a little," Feo pointed to a small clay building a couple hundred metres up the road. Once we reached it, she climbed up a steep wooden staircase and I followed.

"So this is where you lead me away from my friends and steal my wallet, right? I will have you know that it's empty, that credit card you'll find has been expired for nearly a year."

Feo just laughed, rolled her eyes, and told me to hurry up. At the top she lay down in the middle of the roof and indicated for me to do the same. I sprawled on my back next to her, and she pointed directly above us.

"Is that what the Moon looks like from Earth?" she asked me.

I stared straight up, and for a minute I didn't answer. The view was incredible. It looked like a full Moon as I'm used to it, only bigger than I've ever seen it, and a faint golden mist surrounded it. I can't believe I hadn't noticed it yet since we got here.

"Pretty close, just, a little different..." I whispered in awe.

"We think it's part of the connection between this planet and where you come from... but we're still not sure how it all really works... or why we can see it from here when we're supposed to BE the Moon to you, just in an alternate space."

"I always thought there was more out here... I mean, there just had to be," I said half to myself and half in reply to Feo as I continued to stare into the night sky.

"I've always felt the same," Feo said quietly, sitting up and wrapping her arms around her knees, "I don't think I'm really from here..."

I tilted my head to look at her as she looked into the distance. "You mean from this city?"

"My dad found me when I was a baby, said I was just lying in the middle of the desert. I don't remember any of it. I just remember always living at the castle, growing up with Vera and Uly. I don't recall anything before that..." There was a faint sadness in her voice. I sat up and rested a comforting hand on her shoulder.

"Hey," I said softly. She turned and her usual smile came back.

Suddenly it felt like the air around us exploded, with a force rippling through the air and a sharp ringing noise piercing the peace of the night. Just like it had when we first met and the metal thing burst through the air. We ducked low on the rooftop.

And then I heard gunfire...

"Take this," Feo pulled two of the lightsaber energy-ball things out from under her dress and tossed one to me, "I don't know how they're travelling like this without my father's staff, but we have to protect the city."

"Right," I agreed with her. But hesitantly – I didn't really care for the idea of shooting anyone.

"Just point and click," Feo said in answer to my dumbfounded expression that clearly showed I had no idea how to use any weapon, let alone this energy thing.

"Let's go!" She leapt off the roof and landed in a run back in the direction of the main road.

So I know how to use it now, but that's a little different from actually using it. I followed Feo off the roof, tripped on the landing and bashed my elbow, but hobbled and ran to catch up.

I could hear screams of terror now and I won’t lie, got a little freaked out. But I caught up with Feo as we rounded the corner. She launched a few energy blasts, knocking down a couple of the metal fiends.

Versanians fled into alleyways and ducked behind trees, some pulling out their own weapons and training these on the attackers. My hands shook uncontrollably, but I managed to let loose a few shots and took out a big one that had got really close – at least I thought so. The thing dropped to their knees with a grunt, but before I had a chance to finally exhale a panicked breath, they got back up with their hand wrapped around my throat. I could feel the... life being drained from me...

Then I felt the grip slacken and a rush of oxygen back into my lungs. My assailant dropped to the ground once more, this time with a sizeable hole fried through their chest. I saw Feo spinning around and taking out more enemies.

I tried to focus and actually knocked down a few myself, mostly accidentally and I doubt I did any real damage. Another approached me from behind, but this time I was ready. I kicked them hard in the knee – as I did so I'm pretty sure I also sprained my ankle – and blasted three shots to their chin, doing some serious damage to their face.

Holy shit... I just lasered a dude... My hands started shaking uncontrollably again.

For a moment there were no shifters about, and I took the opportunity to try and catch my breath again. Feo caught my attention and I followed her up a block where we could hear more gunfire. Ducking behind some bushes, we spotted the biggest shifter yet pinning down a group of people with some kind of Gatling gun.

Feo stepped out into the clearing and whistled. The shifter stopped their assault and turned to stare her down. A really creepy laugh came from within the metal mask as they trained the weapon on her. Being the brave hero I wish I were, I dove out from behind the bush.

‘HEY ASSWIPE!!’

Yeah, I know. Probably not the most sophisticated or clever phrase I could use, but it got the job done. As the monstrosity turned to welcome this new threat – in the form of me – with merciless gunfire, Feo took the opportunity and launched four blasts into their chest, dropping the hulking creature to the ground with a very loud thud. Feo, exhausted, smiled over at me.

Her expression changed quickly as she pointed over my shoulder. I turned just in time to catch the view of a jagged energy arc coming straight at me. I felt like I was plunged into the sea from a great height, and then pain surged through every muscle of my body.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Justin Moore

Creatively writing sci-fi that doesn't take itself too seriously.

When I was a kid my Mum told me I made up so many wild stories in my head that I should write them down. So I did. Thanks Mum :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.