Futurism logo

3 Traits 3 Life Experiences

Does this mean the stars have decided my path in life, perhaps?

By Tahira MursleenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Here are 3 characteristics of a Capricorn and 3 life events that impacted my sense of self and ultimately shaped who I am as an individual today. Does this mean the stars have decided my path in life, perhaps?

Hardworking

There are 2 places I could have gotten my trait of being hardworking from. Its either from the stars or from my mother. I’m going to say both, just because I’m a person that likes a little magic in my life.

I remember the first time I had worked hard was when I was 10 years old and my mother asked me to help her carry some groceries home from the grocery store. At the time we only had one car, which my father took to work every morning and I knew the nearest grocery story was a 34-minute walk. She sweetened the deal with a Mr. Big chocolate bar, and I agreed before she could finish her sentence. I remember making it to the grocery plaza and feeling my leg ache, as I looked back and wondered “How will we make it back home”. I followed behind my mother and watched as she loaded the cart with fruits, eggs, and milk, eyeing the contents of the cart I thought– This is starting to look heavy.

My mother had put me in charge of carrying the 4L milk bag while she carried the rest of the bags. I grabbed the bag and placed it into my arms like a baby that must not dropped and made the journey home. Once home, my mother put everything away and then grabbed a Mr.Big bar from the pantry and handed it over to me. The main thought that flashed in my mind as I took my first bite was– worth it!

Ambitious

Capricorns are ambitious, that’s something I have read in every single horoscope book, article, and blog. I would say I am ambitious and always believe that if I put enough time and effort into it, I can do it. This is something I first learned when I entered my first art contest.

The day I was told about the art contest was the day before the contest closing day. I remember thinking to myself, I can do it. So, the following day I skipped my afternoon classes, and decided to take my artwork to get framed for the competition. The whole ordeal had taken most of my time and money, in fact, I had come to the realization I was short on cash and would have to walk to the drop off location. With 10 minutes to spare, I was able to make it and submit my piece of work. I was relieved but that didn’t last long, that emotion was replaced with doubt. I thought to myself there is no way I could win; I saw artwork there with so much more detail and technique then mine.

I remember that night I went home and cried myself to sleep, already accepting my rejection. The following morning, I received a call from Scarborough art committee, and they had let me know that I had won third place in their contest and that I was the youngest individual to ever win.

Responsibility

This is one trait that I believe I was born with. Before, I could even comprehend the idea of responsibility, I remember felt indebt to my parents and remembering that It is my responsibility to take care of them.

I remember there was a period in our time when my father was very sick and in the hospital for 8 months. During this period, my mother would go back and forth from the hospital, while still managing the household. I remember feeling that I needed to do something to help my mother and take care of the house.

One day in school, I realized that the cafeteria was selling moon cakes for 1.50 a cake. This gave me an idea on how I could help my mother. The following day before school I went to the grocery store and bought a box of moon cakes, which was 5 for $2. I sold each moon cake for $1 each at school and made my profit of $3. I was so proud and ran home to my mother with my $5. I felt fulfilled and content that I had done my part to help my mother during this period.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.