Filthy logo

Young should go far away

Young should go far away

By Lachelle SullivanPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

During the winter vacation, my son sent me an E-mail from the United States. He told me that he was going to drive from his north to the south during the vacation and drew a road map through 11 states. On the third day of his trip, he called from Austin, Texas, and excitedly told me that O.?, author of The Last Leaf, was here. Henry Museum, while passing through Memphis yesterday, he visited the former home of rock star Elvis Presley.

I admire him, also support him, young should go to the distance. Drifting, will let him see what he has not seen, let his life radius like water spread wider and farther.

I recall one early spring night, I was alone in the West Berlin station waiting for a transfer train, the silent platform only a few people waiting for the train, one of them seemed to be Chinese, I went to ask, sure enough, he was to pick someone up. We chatted and learned that he was an international student who graduated from Tianjin University and studied electronics here. He said something that still sticks in my mind more than a decade later: "When I arrived in Berlin, I had only $10 in my pocket." Even with only 10 dollars, he dared to venture out, I guess to get the price he paid for this, a foreign country, no family, food and shelter, wandering is his fate, also became his character.

I think of myself, too, when I was younger than my son, driving north into the Wild. Nature ate a lot of bitter, the North Wild "smoke gun" a blow, first gave me a Xia Mawei, the cold, the road far heart fans, as if already to heaven, wandering heart like broken kite, I do not know where will fall to. However, it let me see so much pain and cruelty at the same time, also let me touch so many good nostalgia and old people, and all these not only the spectrum of my youth, but also become my unforgettable memories today.

Yes, young heart restless, do not know the sky is high, fantasize, imagine as good as the distance, only dare to go wandering. But wandering is not traveling, it must pay the price, taste more taste of life, is not like sitting in a warm Starbucks coffee in winter. However, it is only possible to wander when you are young. Wandering, need courage, also need a young body and imagination, then harvest only in the young can have the harvest, and later your old memories. A person's life, if there is really anything called a clear conscience, in my opinion, is that your childhood has the joy of the game, your youth has wandering experience, your old age has unforgettable memories.

Always stay in the comfortable greenhouse for a lifetime, then is the treasure tripod fragrance float, rich clothes and jade food, will also be weak, indigestion; A lifetime is always inseparable from home a step away, and then a strict father, a loving mother, a beautiful wife and concubine, will be short eyes, light, soft knees thin. In the season of youth, one should not sink one's heart into the narrow and trivial bog prematurely like an anchor, or fall down in the gentle land like a sunken ship. In the virtual network and in the sweet nest, the days of brewing oneself as delicate and slender as a beard face consume one's life and make oneself become a snail before the age. Can only in the moment after the rain from the heavy body out of the shell, look at the gray sky, think that the sky is just so big, so dirty.

Youth, should be like the dandelion in the spring, even if the strength is thin, the head is small, has not the ability to grow flying wings, by the wind also want to blow away; Even if it is falling in the place you do not know, also want to break through the uncultivated virgin land. In this way, you will know that the world is no longer just a beautiful glass house, you will see that the front is no longer just a wall. You will also be able to appreciate that life is not just about the endless traffic jams in the day, the endless TV dramas in the night, the escalating noise of chickens at home and the quiet infighting at work.

The famous Italian explorer Marco? Polo, at the age of 17, accompanied his father and uncle to Asia Minor. At the age of 21, he wandered all over China alone. Captain Cook, a famous American navigator, realized his ambitious dream of drifting for the first time at the age of 21 on a voyage in the North Sea. Schubert, an Austrian musician, left home at the age of 20 and began his impoverished artistic wanderings in Vienna. Chinese Xu Xiake, at the age of 22, began his arduous drifting, traveling 10,000 miles, reading 10,000 books...... Of course, I could also cite what is now known as the "Beipiao tribe" -- those who live in humble dwellings in the Beijing countryside who also began their initial wanderings at a young age. Young, is wandering capital, is wandering pass, is wandering amulet. And drifting, is the publicity of the young dream, is the opening of the young heart, is the writing of the young debut. Then, even if the wandering is like Schubert's "Winter Journey", the vast expanse of heaven and earth, there is no way to come, there is no way back, paved with unexpected hardships and tribulations, it is worth trying.

I thought of Tagore's verse from the New Moon: "If he would only lend me his ship, I would set it with a hundred OARS and five or six or seven cloth sails. I will not drive it to the stupid market... I will bring my friend ASHLEY with me. We shall happily sail the seven seas and the thirteen rivers of the fairy world. I will sail in the early morning light. At noon, while you are bathing in the pond, we shall be in the land of a strange king." Then cast yourself into exile, borrow another's ship and set sail, not to the foolish market, but to drift. Only when you travel far away when you are young can you have such experiences and benefits full of Tagore's fairy tale, which is not only the poetry he writes in your heart, but also the growth rings you engrave in your life.

comedy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.