Filthy logo

Work/Life Balance

One misplaced brick and the entire tower topples down

By Alice BayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
kittenkisses.onuniverse.com

By Alice Bay

It’s not easy keeping these lines unblurred. Having a work/life balance is so important in this industry but it can be difficult when you feel like you’re constantly switching between two different identities..... this must be how Hannah Montana felt.

It’s easy to screw this whole thing up. You let your feelings overwhelm you, the loneliness creeps in, and soon enough, you make a mistake.

I made a mistake today. I used the website like Facebook to air my dirty laundry with one of our workers. Not professional.

And not that it means much now, but I do apologize to you all for that, but most important I apologize to him.

J- I’m sorry. I should have just spoken to you in person instead of being passive aggressive. I made a mistake and I hope you can forgive me. Neither of us have been very cool to each other lately, but that’s just as much my fault as yours. I hope we can make up and work together in the future.

Anyway,

Despite my mistakes I can say the one thing I do have going for me is that I learn from them. And when I took a look at my business model for myself I realized it was missing two key things:

1. Strong organization

2. A day off.

Even when you run your own business you need to be able to take a day for yourself and just breathe.

That is why, from now on, Sunday’s are for the boys. My phone is getting shut off and I’m not dealing with anyone or doing anything I don’t want to do.

As for organization, our team is planning our months in advance! We have a really fun schedule lined up for you guys and I cannot wait to show it to you! (But for now it’s top secret 🤐)

The other thing that really helps you shift in and out of lives is how you look. (Again, explains a lot about Hannah Montana)

A lot of us pride ourselves in shape shifting throughout the day. Who knows what I even look like? Not me.

Makeup, hair, costumes, voices, it’s so easy to lose yourself. It’s even easier to forget who you are and what you stand for.

That’s why you need a team who knows your heart. They know your imperfections and won’t be afraid to give you shit when you need it. Someone to grab you and guide you back to shore when you start to drown.

I think I’ve swam out to far this past week. I jumped off the diving board into the deep end instead of chilling in the kitty pool and learning to swim. I just hope a life guard is on duty because my legs are getting tired and I’m ready for the cold water to lull me into a deep sleep.

The most important bit though, is respecting yourself. A lot of the time, I feel like I can’t say no. I want to help. I want to do. But saying yes has worsened my health and caused me to make some pretty stupid decisions.

If you want to be in this life you have to know your heart. What are your boundaries? How do you want to be treated? What will you never do? What will you always do?

Mine:

- I never say “I love you” unless I mean it

- I will never hurt another human intentionally unless they ask me to

- I will never fake an orgasm

- I will do my best to be kind and considerate

- I will try to make a positive impact on every life I enter

Simple, easy to remember. But I think it’s time I expanded that list. It’s time to get back to being me for a few days and right the wrongs I’ve done, as Well as continue to make kitten kisses everything I dreamed it to be.

Always yours,

Alice

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.