Filthy logo

The Touch Of A Chicago Lawyer

It Was Love At First Site For The Lawyer

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
10

Piece of the song Thunder Struck begins to play. My phone is ringing, waking up from my slumber on the couch, I can not believe I had fallen asleep.

It is now eight p.m. and, I was supposed to meet my sister at nine for some drinks at the new Jazz club, in town.

Running non stop working so much she had wanted to take me out to a night on the town. Yes, at the new Jazz club. I tried talking myself out of it but she insisted I must go.

It will be fun and you can unwind she said,

Picking up the phone checking the missed call. Oh my lord, she had called three times already and left a message each time.

7:05 Macy it's your sister did you go to sleep?

7:07 Macy it's me again you know, your sister Charlize, we had plans.

7:10 okay, sis be there at eight-thirty to wake you up.

Looking at the clock, it is already eight-twenty I have to rush and get ready.

Knowing my sister she will be ready to walk out the door soon as she gets here.

Running through my condo up the stairs and down the hall in the master bath.

Soon as I turn the water on and jump in.

My doorbell rings, shit she is here already.

Hearing Charlize's voice yelling, up towards the master bath.

Sis, it's me I let myself in with the hideaway key.

No worries, I put it back, and no one saw a thing.

Getting out of the shower with a towel wrapped around me. Looking in my closet, I yell down I have nothing to wear!

The little black dress of yours, you are to die for in that. Charlize yelled, through the condo

Putting on my makeup, now concern about my hair. Leave these long curls down or up? Pull it up leave some curl out or down and cover-up my back. The dress I'm wearing is backless. Deciding to pull it up and show off my dress.

Slipping into the dress standing in front of the mirror twirling from front to back admiring how I look.

Slipping on the perfect round toe black stilettos.

I had bought them for myself a year ago when Ethan and I were still together, hoping he would take me out. He always seemed as if he never had any time for me.

All his time was going to his side-chick.

A Latina named, Rose.

What did she have that I Didn't?

What did I do wrong?

I gave him the world and treated him like a King.

Trying not to think about him. I make my way down the stairs.

Charlize is standing in my kitchen pouring a glass of wine, as I walk through the condo.

My...my... don't you look gorgeous when you clean up

Charlize said, chuckling

Charlize, grabbing me a glass and pouring some wine for me before we leave.

When is the last time you had gone out?

Thinking back it had been six months since Ethan and I broke up. Ever since then I threw myself into my job one-hundred percent.

I even got a promotion a few weeks ago.

Now a secretary for William R. Emerson, CEO of Emerson Publishing.

I had been working a lot lately and was overdue for some much-needed girl time.

Looking at Charlize, six- months too long overdue.

Well, gorgeous it is your lucky day, Charlize, said with a big grin.

I have already called an Uber, and it is on its way. This is going to be the best time of your life.

What did she have schemed up? I thought we were going to listen to music and enjoy the night and come home.

Honk of a horn goes off, giggling let's go, sis

Charlize said, walking towards the door.

Climbing in the back of the Uber,

Charlize starts to reassure me that we will not be out too late.

Pulling up at the Jazz club, I tipped the driver ten dollars and said,

thank you for his time.

Macy, I had already done that when I called for him to come.

Charlize, it is fine, he probably needs it more than us anyway.

It is dark inside and the music sounds incredible, calming I might add.

Charlize heads to the bar to get us some drinks as I sit listening to the music.

I don't quite know who the band is but the woman is singing an Etta James song, I'd Rather Go Blind.

Her voice is so beautiful.

Charlize makes her way where I'm sitting

I know how much you love Jazz music, are you enjoying yourself so far?

Charlize, I want to say thank you for talking me into coming. It feels good to get out and do something like this. You are such a wonderful sister.

Across from us sitting on a sofa, all to himself is a man dressed in a nice navy blue suit.

Blonde hair, well-groomed Beard, he looks flashy, and extremely breathe taking.

He has a little black book in his hands as to be looking it over several times

Like flipping through a phone book.

He takes a glimpse up from his book and catches me admiring him.

Looking back towards the woman singing an Etta James, song. I act as nothing happened. Charlize has already made her way back to the bar talking to some guy.

My sister has never been the shy type.

A waitress brings me a French 75, this is from the gentleman over there with the blonde hair. The waitress says,

Blushing, I said thank you to the waitress, trying not to seem a little confused.

Looking up towards Mr. Dreamy with a smile and nod, to say thank you.

Ten minutes, seem to go by, and another group is playing music.

I don't recognize them or the song, but they are pretty good.

May I have a seat, I turned to look and it is Mr. Dreamy asking if he can sit with me.

Sure, I said blushing.

I'm probably super red by now.

I love jazz music when I heard they were building this place closer to home. I was excited.

Sorry, the name is.

Mr. Dreamy, I thought to myself.

Daniel...Daniel Scoggins.

Oh my Lord! You're a big-time lawyer here in Chicago.

So you have heard of me?

Yes, a friend of mine, mother had used you when she had a car accident. You helped her get a settlement of $20,000. You're good at your job from what I hear. I added,

I'm sorry my name, is Macy Van Winkle, it is nice to meet you, Mr. D. Daniel.

Catching my words almost slipping up and calling him Dreamy.

So, you like Jazz too.

He asked, trying to make conversation.

Yes, I love it. I enjoy all types of genres, of music but Jazz tops the list for me.

Are you here alone? I ask,

Even though I have watched him sit alone since I got here.

Yes, I was supposed to meet my buddy Mike, here but something came up and he could not make it.

And, you?

My sister, I came with my Sister who insisted I needed a night out. She is the Blonde talking to the dark hair guy at the bar.

Charlize makes her way back over to where I am now sitting with Dreamy Daniel.

Sis, who is your friend?

Charlize this is Daniel Scoggins,

I told her.

Nice to meet you, she added.

Macy, my new friend Jack and I are hungry and want to get out of here. Are you two hungry?

Quiet, I turn and look at Mr. Dreamy

I could eat he says, me too.

I know this nice restaurant a few blocks over. You all can ride with me, he said.

Walking outside there is a limo at the front door waiting.

Where is your car blondie, asked Charlize. She is the outspoken sibling, speaks before she thinks.

This is it.

The limo? Wow! Charlize and I look at each other shocked we weren't expecting that.

Maybe a Tesla, but not a limo.

Mr. Dreamy hits a button

The Oriole on Walnut Street, he tells the driver.

I can not stop looking at him, a pompadour hairstyle, navy blue suit, a Rolex on his wrist. Nicely groomed beard.

My inner goddess, roaring deep inside of me. Needing, wanting Mr. Dreamy

We arrive, at the restaurant Mr. Dreamy tells his drive,

"Thanks be back in an hour."

I hear the host saying,

"Sorry, but you must have a reservation."

Do you have reservations? I asked, looking up at Mr. Dreaming

Nope.

Wondering, to myself what are we doing here? He should have phoned on the way.

I hear the host say,

"Hello, Mr. Scoggins four tonight, right this way."

Amazed, this man just has some sort of connection. No waiting. A table just like that without calling first.

The host takes us to a round table in the back.

"A bottle of the finest Champaign you got Henry."

Dreamy, tells the waiter standing near the table.

Pulling my seat out for me.

come sit beside me, Ms. Macy.

Blushing, he is a freaking gentleman as well.

Catching him looking at me.

Mrs. Macy your eyes glisten the most beautiful green when the light hits them.

Thank you, Daniel.

May, I ask what it is that you do? Ms. Macy, Daniel, asked.

I am a secretary, for William R. Emerson, at Emerson Publishing.

Ray! Ray and I go way back he has published some articles for me over the years.

Charlize and I lock eyes and she is grinning from ear to ear.

The waiter brings out the Champaign, Dreamy begins to pour us both a glass.

Drinking mine almost entirely, because I'm still a little bit nervous. It has been six months since Ethan and I had broken up.

He was my world, I thought I was going out to just listen to music and go home.

Instead, I ran into Mr. Dreamy who is a total gentleman and he has me blushing.

His smile when he looks at me is so beautiful. His brown eyes, looking directly into me driving me wild.

Hungry? Dreamy asked,

Maybe, I could eat a salad.

Jack, what to do? Dreaming asked, striking up a conversation.

I am a car salesman, over at Toyota.

You come in and ask for me and I will get you a deal, Mr. Scoggins. I will put you in one of our best cars on the lot.

Okay, sounds good. I will have to keep that in mind

Charlize my dear what about you.

I'm in customer service, for WFG life insurance.

You know, Macy here, hasn't gone out and had a good time. In quite a while.

All she does is work since Ethan and she broke up.

Charlize said, running her big mouth

Sliding down in my chair as far as I can. To kick her. Man, I didn't think this table was that big.

I can not reach her, and Dreamy is full-on ears deep. I catch him turning his head towards me. Trying to slide back up as quickly as possible.

So he does not catch looking like a five-year-old. Slouching down in my seat. With just my neck up showing.

Too late, Dreamy has caught me and he is now laughing. You look adorable when you get mad.

Charlize and Jack decided to call an Uber, Dreamy offered to take me home.

Walking, out to the limo he holds the door for me.

May I kiss you?

my inner goddess had been ready to pounce all night.

Slowly nodding my head with a slight grin.

He begins to move in kissing me on the back of my neck. The sensation running through my body overwhelming with desire. Pulsing between my legs needing more.

My inner goddess, moaning with desire.

He stops!

satire
10

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.