Filthy logo

South of the border west of the sun

South of the border west of the sun

By demetrius lovettPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

This book has a beautiful title. Just reading the title reminded me of the song "South of the Border" from Cape No. 7. "If the sea can talk, if the wind falls in love with sand, if some miss, forget in a long vacation. I will listen to the waves, let the wind blow through the hair, any memory of love, in the time of the tide noise. Summer is not near until spring is far away, I finally realize in retrospect. When the sun returns south of the rainy border, I will try to finish the story of that year. When the sun again leaves the too sunny south of the border, will you return all the love you have taken with a smile before you say goodbye?" Of course, the two have nothing to do with each other, because such warm and sentimental sentiment seems to me completely inappropriate for Murakami's books. The book's title comes from a song by NAT Kincole, the jazz singer with the distinctive voice who created a musical world that captivated the world and also appears in Murakami's novels many times.

Some say the book might be called a sequel or a sequel to Norwegian Wood. The novel describes the dreamlike experience of a middle-aged man Chujun who has a happy family and a successful career. The Choujun in the book, although successful in every way, always feels hungry, defective, unable to calm, lost self. Until his elementary school girlfriend Shimamoto appeared to fill that part of the blank, just like a beam of light in the abyss, so that Hatsune's memories hit like a flood, this kind of peace of mind let Hatsune attachment, but this kind of encounter is always not long, this lame classical girl suddenly disappeared, let her appearance like a dream.

In the book, Shimamoto's final departure makes the "I" in the novel lost. The ultimate "I" has no choice but to return to "reality". On the last page of the novel, there is a passage: In the dark I think of the rain falling on the sea -- the rain falling silently and unknowingly on the vast sea. The rain taps the sea so quietly that the fish are not even aware of it.

Here's Annie Baby:

"I held the book South of the Border, West of the Sun, and in my mind I saw the outline of the earth, blue above the indifferent edge of smoke and water.

Every time I lift my head from my high collar and feel the eager breath of a place so different from the windswept street, it is as if someone comes close to me and peeps into the title of the book in my hand, and I try to hide my heart in the depths of the book. I couldn't keep it with the cover, confined to the subject that people could see. Standing in a center, thinking in the side woven into a circle to psychedelic light in the face of the encircled......

I suddenly thought of the sweater, where I cried.

Don't care about the attitude, calm out of the place.

You get lost in my conversation. Talk is the tears that run across my head.

I have no such thought, even if there is no such thought.

I thought of poetry. I could not believe that there was some beauty in the village, and after reading the book, some substance, like delicacy, surrounded it.

Although I never finished reading it.

One night, deep in the night, I ate a bowl of pork hocks by the chessboard of Shikoku. I suddenly have the joy of immersion, I love wisdom and material.

I advise you, I see you look in the mirror, smart people we see again. winter

When I saw you,

There was warmth in my heart."

I have always thought that reading Murakami's books is like a conversation with the soul, whether with one's own or with someone else's. If you're looking forward to a meeting, read this book.

comedy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.