Filthy logo

Polyamorous Relationship Sex

What Really Happens in the Bedroom

By Isis BronsonPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit of: https://www.pexels.com/photo/close-up-of-woman-holding-condom-248148/

The first thing people ask me when I tell them that I am in an open poly-amorous relationship is how I can allow my husband to sleep with another woman. After almost a year of being asked the same question over and over I came to a very sad realization. Society is very closed minded when it comes to the sexual lives of non-monogamous relationships, or rather, the overall workings of non-monogamous relationships as a whole. Before my current marriage I was in several closed monogamous relationships, and the differences are staggering. There is more trust, respect, and adventure; especially in the bedroom. Over-all I have to rate the sex as better. Almost every single partner I've had, whether it was male or female, I always felt something was missing; sometimes it was the gentle touch of a woman, or the rough thrusts of a man. More than that, the connection between my partners seems so much stronger than one on one sex. Even when there is sexual interaction between me and my partners, if one isn't there it just feels wrong. There's no jealousy, regret, or lack of passion. The trick to the trade? Trying new things!

The amount of experimentation goes above and beyond what I've had in any other relationships. No idea is a bad one, and no task is too much. Me and my partners have tried things that I would have never ventured into before, and I enjoyed it! There is a sense of security when it comes to things like bondage and sensory deprivation when another female is there, like nothing can or will get out of hand. There is also the reassurance of a comforting embrace when trying things that may be painful or weird, like anal or a strap-on. Add on to that a basic everyday sexual experience, that's amplified. There's the rough nips, bites, scratches, and thrusts of the male mixed with the gentle touches, kisses, licks, and embraces of the female that sends the senses into an euphoria. Most people never experience, think of experiencing, or are in a position to experience a threesome, even if they want to. But for a poly-amorous relationship every day is a threesome day, and there are no regrets. So, in short, I can allow my husband to sleep with another woman because I'm sleeping with her too, and it is magical since I can also call her my wife. Each day that passes leads to a sexual experience that is new, different, and so very much worth it.

Another big question I've had, if the answer to my first one clicks, is if I get bored or neglected sexually. The honest truth is everyone does. Whether the relationship is monogamous, polygamous, poly-amorous, open, closed, or swinger, nothing is perfect. If we lived in a perfect world no one would ever go without excitement and satisfaction with every sexual encounter. Like anything else in this world there are moments where I may be neglected, left bored, or left unsatisfied sexually; but the same goes for my partners, too. There are some days where my wife and I are extremely aroused, but our husband is dog-tired and can barely get it up let alone please us. Other days he is the horn-dog and either myself, her, or both of us just don't feel up to it. Then there are the days that everything clicks together and we all agree that it was the best sex any of us have ever had. The truth and reality of polyamorous sex is that its just as boring and run-of-the-mill as monogamous sex, even when it's amazing.

Poly-amorous sex can be amazing, exhilarating, new, special, fun, and kinky; or it can be sloppy, crazy, and run of the mill. The best part of polyamorous sex is the joy of having another person to share it with, and developing a deep emotional connection. Polyamorous sex isn't for everyone, but neither is monogamy or, for that matter, settling down at all. Everything is special and totally mediocre at the exact same time.

relationships
Like

About the Creator

Isis Bronson

I'm a 20 year old mom with an interest in everything from politics, to animals, and even entertainment. Whenever I write I'm passionate about my topic and go at it full force with accurate information and sources.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.