Filthy logo

Panties: Deal or No Deal?

Side Hustles

By Latoya Giles Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

We are still in the throes of a pandemic. It seems we are starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel though. *throws confetti* People are getting vaccinated, places are opening back up at full capacity and kids are getting back into school buildings. A large number of people are still unemployed. I am a single mother. I have two Amazing daughters. Life (and covid) happened causing me to lose my job. Naturally, I filed for unemployment benefits. I received two consecutive payments. After that, the payment status changed to "on hold". The reason listed was "unresolved issues". I'm like "OK, maybe my former employer is reporting that I am still employed there". I call my former job and ask if I am still listed as employed. After a couple transfers and a brief hold, I am given my exact termination date. Of course, no one ever answers at any of the four numbers listed for my states unemployment office. After that, I had the good idea to file my taxes and live off of my refund while I wait for my unemployment issues to be sorted out. I also apply to at LEAST 5 jobs a day. This is a requirement I set for myself. Indeed is my best friend. So, in summary: I have no job, no unemployment benefits, 2 children to feed/care for and the rent moratorium is about to expire. Remember, I said I was gonna file my taxes? Well, I did and they were rejected! They were rejected not once, not twice, but SIX TIMES!! I know right. *sigh* Apparently, someone used my youngest daughters SSN. At this point, I am convinced that Punk'd is back on the air and I'm being featured on the first episode because , seriously? I mean...SERIOUSLY?!? A friend of mine that is familiar with taxes and the IRS tells me to file my returns by mail. I follow her directions to the letter. Fast forward 3 months, and still no money. No letters or phone calls from the IRS. I guess all government offices read from the same customer service text book because they are hard as hell to get on the phone. Bills are still piling up as all this occurs, mind you. Thank goodness I get food stamps. My children always have food. Stimulus checks drop. *BALLIN* Three thousand in back rent, $700 in back car payments, and $350 car insurance. Bye-bye stimulus! I held on to about $1500 to live on. I am still getting nowhere with the government about my taxes and unemployment and no jobs are calling.

Desperate times call for desperate measures right? My children will never know what it fells like to be evicted as long as I am alive, ok? Enter TikTok. I'm just scrolling through my "for you page" and I come across a video about a side hustle. A side hustle that is easy and lucrative. The woman spoke of a close friend of hers that was a single mom of four and had just bought a house solely from the side hustle money. What is the side hustle you ask? Selling worn panties, Yup, that's right. Just like on Orange is the New Black. Apparently there is a whole world structured around fetishes such as this. I looked into it. I created profiles on Sniffr and Sofia Gray. This TikTok chick doesn't tell you about the fees you have to pay to gain full access to these sites. I think Snifffr is like ten bucks and Sofia Gray is around $20. You pay per month. TikTok chick makes it seem super easy. It's really not though honestly. Actually, you know what? It may have been easy when she started. Now there are more sellers than buyers (I learned this from a friendly buyer). The key to making money is in repeat customers. It can be hard to get that first customer if you are a newbie like me. These buyers know what they want and they can tell if you are new based on your product listings. "Does she use the proper lingo?" "Is her pricing within the proper limits?" "How are her pictures?" (more tips from friendly buyer guy) It is now a competition. The sites are overloaded with women trying to sell things because they heard about it on TikTok. Sometimes there would be two to three hundred sellers to like 150 buyers. You have to be "extra" to stand out. Every woman is selling typically the same thing so you have to come up with ways to catch peoples attention. I gave it a shot for a whole month. I spent money on multiple memberships, and made ZERO sales. I could have kept trying but I am not willing to go as far as some of the women there. Absolutely no shade at all to my sexy ladies out here doing their thing! Get y'all money. I'm just not about that life...yet. *wink* HAPPY SELLING!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.