Filthy logo

Hottest Bods of 2k22

Celebrating Body Positivity

By Winners OnlyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Lawrencia, Adrian, Joy & Nikki

We are back with the Hottest Bods of 2k22 in sports and entertainment! Our acknowledgement of these great women of our culture started during the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic as the games and live shows came to a halt. Business has picked back up in sports and entertainment but we are still shining a light on the hard work that these wonderful women have produced on their physiques and in life.

Adrian Purnell - Former Legends Football League Star

Adrian Purnell

Nikki Gittens - Fitness Trainer

Nikki Gittens

Joy Banks - Northern Kentucky University Volleyball

Joy Banks

Interview with Lawrencia "LaLa" Moten

Lawrencia Moten

Along with being the daughter of Syracuse hoops legend and former NBA guard Lawrence Moten, television sports broadcaster Lawrencia "LaLa" Moten talks with us about growing up with a parent who was a pro athlete, expressing femininity during her basketball career and body positivity.

Winners Only: First off this is so cool I was a fan of your pops back in the day and you have done a great job making a name for yourself. How was it growing up as the child of an NBA and pro player. That's a very unique experience most people will never know.

Lawrencia Moten: First off thank you for interviewing me and I'm so glad to hear you were a fan of my dad’s. Growing up being a child of an NBA player was honestly an amazing experience. Not many kids get to see first hand the life long impacts their parents make on other peoples lives. As kids, you know your parents are awesome because they do so many things for you and help you grow, but being a child of someone in the NBA you get to see how amazing other people think they are also which is so humbling. It really gives you something to look up to knowing the lifelong impacts you can have on others just by doing what you love and following your dreams

The perception of women's basketball has changed drastically during the last decade. Gone are the baggy shorts. Femininity was hard to spot on the court once upon a time. Your generation seems more expressive when it comes to bringing style, body positivity and more beauty to the game. How important was it to you as a player to be able to look good on your terms while competing?

It was and is very important for me to look good while competing or working in a male dominated industry simply because I truly believe that when you look your best you feel your best and you eventually play your best. I think it's super important for people to remember that we are females first, athletes second and the two and go hand in hand. I am a multifaceted woman who loves wearing both sneakers and heels and living outside of the box that people often try to put people in and something I think that makes me special.

You have really turned heads with your modeling. Pictures can sometimes give people the perception that all is perfect. Was there ever an issue that you had to overcome to embrace your body over the years. How did you deal with it?

Thank you and honestly I am so lucky to have a beautiful tall mother who has always breathed life and positivity into me. At a young age she always told me I was beautiful and taught me that beauty is not just on the outside but true beauty stems from within and honestly that’s just what gives me the confidence. If I feel good about myself from within I don’t care much about other people opinions.

As a woman what does body positivity mean to you and how do you best represent it?

As a women body positivity to me means not hiding who you are in your true form, no matter what. You won’t feel perfect everyday but remembering that you are still worthy and beautiful is the definition of body positivity.

You have competed as a collegiate basketball player and now you are a news reporter. Are there any similarities and differences in the two fields and also are there any differences in how you workout since you moved on from hoops?

The biggest similarity is being in a male dominated industry, the biggest difference is that even though I am a sports broadcaster a lot of reporters I work with never played a sport at a high level so their opinions come from a different point of view. The biggest difference for my workouts are just finding the time to do them but now I can focus on what I want when I do workout instead of having to focus on what my coach or team wants. It’s more personal.

athletics
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.