Filthy logo

Down The Rabbit Hole: A Must Read

Holly Maddison's tell all book about her experience at the Playboy Mansion and "The Girls Next Door." I read this to find out behind the scenes stories, but ended up leaving this book with much more.

By Kimmiekins4Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
"Come on-a my house, my house, I'm gonna give you candy."

If you were of a certian age in 2005, you most likely have atleast heard of the TV show "The Girls Next Door." I was 18 at the time and obsessed with this show, the glamours life style, I wanted to be apart of that world one day. I remember wanting to have my 21st birthday party in Vegas at the Palms because of this show. Of course that didnt happen, but I am happy to say a couple of years ago I was finally able to stay there, and I loved it. Up until I ran across Holly's Youtube channel I hadn't watched or thought about this show since 2008. It's been a trend on Youtube recently for stars of these shows to go back and react to the episodes and explain how they were feeling and what was going on. I am all for it, as I love knowing any behind the scenes details about shows I love.

I wasn't however expecting to hear the darkness that Holly talks about in her reactions, and even more detail in her book "Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny." I am now rewatching the episodes and wonder how I didn't notice that anything was wrong. To be honest, a lot of what was going on was just accepted back then with no questions. Always being told well this is just how life is, and your value was based on your how beautiful people saw you. These days the darkside of Hollywood is being more talked about, but back then all you saw was the glitz and the glamour and you would do anything to be apart of that lifestyle.

I feel like back in the early 00s reality tv was our version of what social media has become today. The shows we watched were wrapped in to these perfect little packages, and we were left thinking that if we just had what they had we would be happy. But it's just an illioson, and through this book you find out that things aren't always what they seem.

I went into this book hoping to find out some details about a reality show I loved in highschool, but what I found was I related in some ways to Holly and her story. This covers a little of Holly's life before she moved to the mansion, her relationship with Hef, the ending of their relationship, and her rebuilding herself after leaving the mansion despite being told she wouldn't make it.

I have been told many times that I won't make it, but I wanted to touch on a part of the book where she mentions something Hef said to her, "No one will ever love you like I do." When I read that sentence it took me all the way back to highschool when my then boyfriend said the exact same words too me. Much like Holly in my heart I knew that it was a lie, but it's words that even to this day will pop in my head when a relationship doesn't work out. I am happy she shared this part, because I feel like so many people have been fed this line. Like she said Hef thought he was being romantic, but in reality it was just a tatic to try to get her to stay. Which I feel happens to so many people when trying to end relationships.

The last part that I wanted to share was when she talked about a man knowing what he wants and to not waste your time trying to change their mind. This is important to note in any relationship you're in, woman also know what they want so it can work either way. I wish I would have learned this so much sooner, as I spent many years changing myself and hoping it would make that person love me. But the truth was, nothing I did worked. I watched this person do everything I wanted him to do for someone else, willingly. Similar to Holly and wanting to marry Hef, but he ended up marrying someone else instead. While it can hurt the lesson I've learned is that everything happens for a reason, and looking back I am thankful that things didn't work out the way I wanted them too.

So if you are a fan of Girls Next Door, or even just curious I would definatly recommend reading this book. You'll not only learn things about the show, you'll watch it in a different light as well. You'll also walk away from that book feeling inspired to re-event yourself, but also realizing that no matter how fabulous someones life looks, there is always more to the story.

tv review
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.