Filthy logo

Do I Really Want to Have Sex?

Thoughts after the big O

By Ann ChambersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Do I Really Want to Have Sex?
Photo by Taras Chernus on Unsplash

The topic of sex clouds over me every day like a heavy fog.

Who am I having sex with?

Who am I avoiding having sex with?

Do I want to have sex?

Is he trying to have sex with me?

How long can I avoid having sex with him before he loses interest?

Do you remember that tremble deep down when you were being kissed and your bodies got close? I remember it but it is so rare that I can feel it.

Do you remember the heat that would rise when you were young and hot?

I can still smell my vagina on my fingers, and feel the tears on my face. Taste the salt on my lips.

I can't orgasm anymore without crying, or at least feeling my heart race to the point where it feels like I might have a panic attack.

It's as if the last three years have finally caught up to me.

I always thought that I could be the type of person to stuff my emotions away, and I do. I do it very well.

But every time I'm reminded of how it feels to feel good I just end up feeling bad.

I don't think I have sex just for myself or for pleasure or for fun anymore. I do it because I don't want to be alone, or I'm afraid to disappoint them. I sleep with men because I hope that they'll give me a better tomorrow. I feel guilty like I have to. Where does this guilt come from?

I can't remember the last time I felt the desire to be held.

I can't remember the last time I felt the need to emotionally connect to another person.

Can you remind me what feeling held and not wanting to run away feels like?

I do not trust the people I share my body with because I only share little lies about myself with them because I don’t want them to judge me. How can a liar trust anyone else? How did I become this girl?

The truth, I just feel sick saying it out loud. So I don’t.

I feel like I'm stuck on an island and I'm surrounded by people; people that are really good at telling you what you want to hear make me feel really good for a time. But they all have other motives.

But I wonder, what if it's not the island I'm on. What if it's the whole world and everybody has some sort of other motivation and they always have and I just never saw it before.

Perhaps that great love that I keep in my memories was never that great. Maybe he had a motive too.

I feel like I'm stuck in this nightmare and a big part of me wants to wake up and another part of me doesn't.

I don't know if leaving the city will make it better and I don't know if trying harder at work will make it better, all I know is that I walk around all the time with this gut feeling and it hurts all of the time.

I never would've thought that I would've cared about the things that I care about.

I never thought that I would become the person that I am.

I feel so little these days and yet everything all at once.

I've become someone who is inconsiderate of other people and their feelings because I feel like no one is considerate of mine.

Is Manhattan the problem? Are the men in Manhattan the problem? Am I the problem? Was there ever a problem or am I just too sensitive?

humanity
2

About the Creator

Ann Chambers

Words keep me grounded

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.