Filthy logo

Devilish: Chapter II

Confrontation

By Juniper WoodstonePublished 2 years ago 12 min read
1
Devilish: Chapter II
Photo by Yunming Wang on Unsplash

I stared back at Lucifer, contemplating slamming the door in his smug face. "I'm sorry, but you're probably searching for the more "excitable" apartments. Try next door," I said sternly as I began to close the door on him.

"No, wait!" he shouted, wedging his foot through the threshold. I growled inwardly and pushed a tad harder.

"Move your foot! I thought I made it clear last night that I didn't want to see you again!"

"Yes, and I completely understand that," he said in a rush. "but I've come to apologize." I stopped pushing against the door and peered through the crack. Some of my hair fell into my face and I tucked it behind my ear.

"You want to apologize?" I asked. Lucifer rolled his eyes and glanced from the flowers back to me.

"Why do you sound so surprised?" I shrugged my shoulders.

"I don't know," I said softly. "You don't seem the apologizing type, I guess." Lucifer's face fell into a shocked 'o' expression.

"Perhaps I do come off a bit rash at times, but I do know how to apologize when I am wrong." I sighed heavily and rubbed my eyes.

"Well, you've said your piece, I've said mine. Oh, look at that! Not accepting your apology. Now, have a nice life and move your foot please."

"Hmm so you do know what manners are," he stated cockily. I glared at him and opened the door fully.

"Listen here you overgrown weasel," I began and stopped when I saw one of my neighbor's doors beginning to open. I groaned and moved aside, gesturing for him to come in. He looked confused as he stepped into my apartment. I closed the door behind him. "The only reason I'm letting you in, is so my neighbors don't have to watch you make a scene." Lucifer set the flowers down on my small round dining table.

"I was not the one making a scene. That would've been you." I glared back at him and angrily snatched the bouquet up from the tabletop. I proceeded to deal him a few hefty whacks in the chest and arms as he jumped away from me as if it were a hot frying pan.

"Ow! Cut it out! Those still have some thorns, you know!" he protested. I sighed heavily and gazed down at the near ruined flowers.

"Well, it serves you right," I replied in a bitchy tone. I tossed the roses onto the counter and leaned my back against it. "You have no right showing up unannounced to my apartment. Especially not after last night. You were rude and inconsiderate. I'm honestly surprised you even have enough balls to show up here at all after that little stunt at the restaurant." I crossed my arms over my chest, not just because I was angry, but because the frustrated tension that was building between us was causing my nipples to harden.

Lucifer sighed heavily and leaned against one of my dining chairs. "I'm aware that how I acted was abhorrent. I completely understand your lack of desire to see me, and yes, it is rather rude of me to show up unannounced. Normally, I would not, but I had a pretty good feeling you'd make yourself scarce if you knew I was coming. I'm sorry about my behavior last night. I assure you I don't normally conduct myself in such a manner. Usually, we'd end the night with you in my bed! I'm a natural charmer."

I scoffed and rolled my eyes in disgust. "Your pride certainly does not make you look like a charmer," I said rudely. "You insult my way of living and how I spend my money as if you have any idea how the other half of the world lives. I do what I can to take care of my family, because they've always taken care of me. Perhaps you don't know what that's like, but it doesn't excuse your insults."

Lucifer looked away from me shamefully, his cheeks a soft pink. My God, I thought surprised. The bastard is actually embarrassed. He turned his eyes back to me, those pools of ash seemed to turn my stomach to mush. He stepped over to me cautiously, both hands raised in surrender.

"I understand my words offended you, Gwynevere, and for that I sincerely apologize. Part of the truth is my partner informed me that I was harsh and I acted rashly as if you were...some woman I could just discard as she put it. I am sorry," he said, his voice just above a whisper as he came to stand a mere foot away from me. "I'd like to make it up to you if that's alright. It does not have to be a date, but I would still like for you to be in-charge of our investment management. In fact, my partner and I would like to offer you a job working for our company as a form of an apology." I raised a brow at him and bit the inside of my cheek.

"You...want to offer me a job as a way of saying you're sorry? I'm sorry I'm afraid I don't follow." Lucifer sighed heavily and took a step back, his legs brushing against one of my dining chairs. He rested a flat palm against the dining table's surface.

"My partner, Siliva, whom you'll meet later tonight if you choose to come to our meeting, has agreed to allow for you to come on to our team," he said in a calm voice. "I was instructed not to say anything until after you came to the restaurant, but because I'm sure you wouldn't want to come knowing I was there, I thought perhaps you should know what is at stake if you don't come. We can more than match your salary and we can even offer you some other perks such as a condo and perhaps a newer work vehicle. Which you would have the ability to use at your leisure."

I licked my suddenly dry lips as I attempted to piece together what he was saying to me and stared into his eyes. I couldn't tell if he was messing with me or not. "Do you offer all your employees those kinds of benefits?" I asked in a shy voice. Lucifer shrugged his shoulders and ran a hand through his hair.

"Just the ones I royally fuck up with as Silivia puts it," he said, chasing the statement with a chuckle. "In all honesty, I would like for you to join us. I understand your hesitation, but I can assure you I will be keeping my drinking to a minimum if it means you join us." I looked towards my living room and watched as Marbles began to climb into her cat condo. My eyes met his again and I gave a heavy sigh.

"Where is the meeting?" I asked, attempting to relax my stiffened arms. Lucifer softly smiled back at me.

"We will be meeting in our VIP room at the club over on West Vermont. I can have Philip pick you up again." I pondered this for a moment and nodded my head slowly.

"That sounds fine, I suppose," I said softly. "Can you please go now?"

Lucifer stepped closer to me again and I felt my breathing hitch as he reached out to touch the nape of my neck, his fingers slipping through my hair. I felt his thumb push against my jawline, tipping my head up so our eyes were boring into each other. His body was so close I could smell him. He smelled of pine, violet, and a touch of sweat.

"I will go. I just want you to know," he said, his whispers wafting the smell of mint and fruit into my face. "I understand you aren't accepting my apology nor the job. However, I hope someday you'll forgive me and allow for me to attempt taking you out again...I enjoy your company especially when you're flustered."

He leaned forward and for a second, I thought he was going to kiss me. My eyes fluttered shut and his lips brushed against my cheekbone. I opened my eyes as he leaned back, a coy smirk building at the corners of his mouth. "I look forward to seeing you tonight," he said softly. "Wear something stupendous." I gave a subtle nod and without another word, he was out the door.

I released the air I had not realized I was holding and rushed into the living room, where I scooped up Marbles. I rubbed the back of her eyes fretfully as I tried to calm my racing heart. "I'll admit," I say to the feline. "that man has a way of charming women. Can I really leave my job though? I mean he's offering us a new home. Me a new car and a bigger salary." Marbles meowed and I plopped back down on the couch with her resting against my chest.

I felt her attempt to escape and released her, wanting to avoid having my chest clawed up. I took a deep breath as I stared at my ceiling, deep in thought. Only it wasn't the job offer or the new housing or car Lucifer was offering me that occupied my mind. It was how his touch had felt on his skin and how his scents lingered, drawing me to him.

Later that night, as I had finished getting ready, there was a knock at my door. I quickly slipped in my diamond studded earrings and adjusted my dress. The club on West Vermont was fancy but was also still a club. My dress was navy blue with a sliver shimmer overlay and a slit that came up just below my hip line. The sewn-in bra pushed my breasts up nicely and I ran my finger along the string of pearls around my neck.

I had pinned my hair up and a few strands framed my face. The knock came again and I took a deep breath, rushing to answer it. I opened my door expecting Phillip and froze when I saw Lucifer, dressed in a soft grey suit with a white button-up beneath it. The shirt's top two buttons were undone, and I spotted a patch of dark chest hair poking through the opening.

His eyes widened at the sight of me, and his tongue flicked out against his top lip as he looked me up and down. "Wow," he said, the sudden deepness of his voice made my knees wobble. What on Earth is he doing to me? "You look ravishing. I feel as if this is my punishment for last night." I rolled my eyes at him, smirking back at him with my ruby painted lips.

"Perhaps it is. Perhaps it isn't," I said coyly. "That's for me to know and for you to never find out." Lucifer bit his lower lip. "I thought you were going to send Philip to pick me up?" He shrugged his shoulders and gave me a smirk.

"I was," he admitted. "However, I thought it would be better for us to show up together. It's rather easy to get lost in the crowds." I chuckled and turned away from him, reaching out for the light black jacket I had thrown over the back of one of the dining chairs. I could feel the heat of his gaze on my back and I turned, his eyes snapping up to my face.

"You going to make it over there?" I teased. Lucifer exhaled heavily and placed a hand over his heart.

"I don't know, but if I am to become incapacitated, I'd be honored to have you perform mouth-to-mouth," he replied, and I laughed. When I looked at him again, the coy smile was gone. "I love your laugh." I was taken aback by the sudden kindness and the heat rushed to my cheeks. He reached his hand out. "Come, Gwynevere, we're going to be late." I slipped my jacket on and grabbed my clutch, being sure to lock my door on the way out.

Lucifer's hand came to rest on the small of my back as we walked out of my building. Philip was standing patiently by the back of the limo. "Hello again, Miss Ire," he said, beaming at me. "You look beautiful this evening."

"Thank you, Philip," I replied, my cheeks flashing hot again. Philip opened the door for us, and Lucifer waved his arm in a "after you" gesture. I slipped into the back seat. He slid in beside me and Philip closed the door behind us. Lucifer scooched closer to me. An arm draped around my shoulders and his thumb drew lazy circles around the socket of my shoulder.

I fought the rushed influx of blush that heated my cheeks. I had been in a limousine before with the opposite sex before, surely most women had due to proms and homecomings, but this was the first time a male hadn’t seemed intimated by me enough that they’d avoid touching me at nearly all cost.

The drive to the club was a mere twenty minutes and the entire time Lucifier kept his arm around me with the caressing fingers against my shoulder. When Philip parked the car, Lucifer withdrew his warmth from me and I shivered at the absence of it. The door opened and Lucifer stepped out, marching his way into the club.

I had barely crawled out of the car before calling after him. He slowed his walk and stopped, looking over his shoulder at me. I gripped Philip’s hand and steadied myself on my heels before hurrying after him. Lucifer smirked at me as I joined him near the entrance. I glowered at him.

“You’re such an ass,” I said to him with a brisk chuckle as I sauntered inside.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Juniper Woodstone

An aspiring writer sharing her short-written pieces in both series and stand alone. I am hoping to one day publish my own book. I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.