Filthy logo

Cam Model Diaries—9 Months Later

What have I learned?

By Claudia SandersPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
It has been 9 months since opening night what have I learned?

Nine short but long months ago, my husband and I embarked on a journey that I never would have imagined that we would ever begin. We started working nights as internet cam models. It was a lot of work to get everything started and it was a little intimidating to begin with, but after a couple of weeks and many kind words from the loyal following that was beginning, he and I were both more comfortable in front of the camera. There were even opportunities for me to do side work writing stories for certain customers and do personalized videos, for a special fee of course!

So, what have I learned? Well, the first thing I learned would be my worth. If you are thinking about trying camming you must decide what you are going to charge people for your time. You also have to decide what you will and won't do on camera and what you will charge for those extras people will often ask you for. I figured out the best thing to do in the live free chat was to create a menu of sorts with a list of what they have to tip in order to see me flash, or take my top off totally. Everything comes with a different fee. I even charge a small fee to send or receive messages because if you don't you will be bombarded with hundreds of message requests that you can't possibly keep up with and nobody wants that. Responding just keeps your focus off the people who might actually pay you for your time.

In the time that my husband and I were live streaming, life has forced us to take a break which I'll get to in a moment. Camming gave us the opportunity to take our family on vacation not once or twice but three times last summer—it also gave us the money that we needed for a newer car and kept our bills all paid on time which is something that we have never really been able to do with our limited income. It was amazing feeling like we might actually become financially independent for the first time in our adult lives.

We hit some roadblocks though and quit in September. Now it is just the beginning of March and I can't wait to get back into it! The strain that's caused by not having enough money is destroying our peace of mind. I love what I do for an actual living but it doesn't pay me very well—same with my husband. We can't imagine not doing the things that we do; however those things are simply not enough. I have to say that the camming industry is something that isn't for everyone but for those that are willing and put in the time and the effort that it really takes there is money to be made.

Speaking of money, I am sure you are wondering how much money I made doing this, well that all depended on the day, the time, and of course me. On a decent day with some of my regulars in the room, I could make $30-$50 an hour but the limits on my time kept me from being online more than an hour or two at a time. I am looking forward to getting back in front of the cam now that my schedule has calmed down some and I am home more in the day time and later at night. I did learn that I make a ton more money getting online in the early morning all by myself than I do as a couple in the evening but it is all about balance!

I'll write another addition to Cam Model Diaries when I get myself back out there with more tips and tricks of the adult camming industry!

industry
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Sanders

I am many things. I am a mother, wife, college graduate, friend, sister, daughter. I love the ocean, baking, my children and husband. I love writing and sharing my sometimes unpopular opinions.Some stereotypes were meant to be broken.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.