Filthy logo

Burlesque to Boudoir: Reclaiming My Body. Part 7

Welcome to the Boudoir.

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Inspiration can come from anywhere.

Continued from Part 6

November/December 2021

I have had my final surgery: a cyst and ovary removal. As far as the future looks, I have no reason to set foot inside a hospital again. My surgeon even said, "I hope I never see you again."

The Minnesota Renaissance Festival season is over. I am tired. When it ends, I'm ready for it to be over. I'm ready for a rest. But it still doesn't take long after that for the interest in a new creative project. I've been writing here and there, but I wanted something else. And then, Noah bought the shirt. The one at the top of the article. He was refreshing his closet with a couple new shirts and some jeans. This shirt jumped out at me; it spoke to me.

To me, it looked a bit like the Fraser tartan from the show 'Outlander' on STARZ. Around the time the show came out, I was even told I looked like I could have been Jamie and Claire's daughter.

Photo from IMDB.com

I do so love the look of a man in a kilt, but the inspiration of the look was less Sam Heugan, more Rose in Titanic, her phrasing. "I want you to draw me wearing this, wearing only this."

Keep in mind, I've been married to Noah for fifteen years. He's become a talented photographer and editor in the last couple years. I love my husband dearly. I was still awkward and could not form a clear, coherent sentence to simply say, "I want you to take boudoir photos of me in heels and just your shirt." ...I WISH I could have been that eloquent when I asked him. I was not.

A couple weeks later, it was a quiet Sunday morning, I asked Noah, if he was up for it, could we take the pictures. He set up the lights, prepped his camera, and it was on.

Photo by Noah Boudit

I told him I had a simple vision: I had your shirt, and I was thinking of you.

Photo by Noah Boudit

Pretty easy to execute the vision since he's the one behind the camera.

Photo by Noah Boudit

He knows me better than anyone else in the world. I trust him. It's that simple.

Photo by Noah Boudit

Through surgeries, recovery, COVID, social distancing, and isolation, he is my partner. My darling love.

Photo by Noah Boudit

Things are and never will be perfect. You can see my scar on my right hip, my panty, and Noah played with the color in the above photo. My eyes never have been and never will be that color. But that's the beauty: the flaws in the process.

Photo by Noah Boudit

I originally wasn't going to share this one because I thought my eyes looked weird. But that's okay. Look at the length on your leg even though it only goes to your knee and how nice your hands look. Your dimples. Your smirk. Just like Rose in Titanic, you're going to be an old woman someday and be able to say, "Wasn't I a dish?"

Photo by Noah Boudit

Over the last few years, you did it Tinka. You performed. You fell on your face. You tried your damnedest. You didn't succeed by their standards, but you succeeded by yours.

Photo by Noah Boudit

At age 28, you decided to love your body as it is. That kind of acceptance is something most women don't achieve until their 40s.

Photo by Noah Boudit

At 30, you got on stage and sucked at something new in front of friends and strangers. You made over $100 that first night. You lost, but had the nerve to go back and try three more times.

Photo by Noah Boudit

You climbed poles, got stronger, and cried a lot of tears. But you did it.

Photo by Noah Boudit

You joined a start-up renaissance fair. You modeled. You traveled. You lived.

Photo by Noah Boudit

You joined your favorite act at the Minnesota Renaissance Festival and won Best Group Act the year you joined. You have talent, believe it or not. People saw something in you that you didn't think was there.

Photo by Noah Boudit

It's been a crazy-ass time for nearly six years. But you couldn't have done it if you weren't a crazy-ass, powerful lady. The correlational between confidence and no shame is a line that you picked up and made into a whip.

Photo by Noah Boudit

You did it.

Photo by Noah Boudit

You decided one day to give up shame, and you haven't looked back since. You have suffered and been on top of the world. Now your about to start a new year, Tinka. You did it. You fucking did it.

Photo by Noah Boudit

...Now go do it again.

photography
1

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Just... wow. What an absolutely incredible journey. Thank you so much for sharing these stories. They are so important. The photos in this post are some of my favourite. You look so at-ease, in love, and comfortable. Thank you again so much for sharing this series. 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.