Filthy logo

Burgers, Drinks and Salsa Music

Something Everbody Loves!!!

By Tom BradPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
27
Burgers, Drinks and Salsa Music
Photo by Victor Garcia on Unsplash

“Hello baby girl how are you?”

“Where’ve you been Kathryn? I’ve been trying to reach you all evening.”

“Kathryn? I must be in trouble if you are using that name.”

“Just tell me why you’ve not been answering my calls.”

“I don’t want to, I don’t think I like the way you are talking to me, Polly.”

“Kathy I've been going out of my mind.”

“Okay, okay, calm down I took the kids to soccer practice. Forgot my phone and literally just walked back in the house. Satisfied?”

“Why did you do it?”

“Do what?”

“He saw it.”

“Saw what?”

“Your text message.”

“Oh shit…. All of them?”

“No.”

“Just stop now. Calm down and tell me everything. Start at the beginning.”

“It’s Jon, he saw your text message.”

“Well you need to give me more information.”

“The last one.”

“…And?”

“He saw the last one.”

“Polly, I’m still none the wiser, what did I say in the last one.”

“It said, ‘Still up for some BDSM fun this Thursday?’”

“Oh!... Awkward. He’s not coming over here is he?”

“No, no, no, but I’m so angry with you. You promised when we started this you’d be careful.”

“Hang on, rewind, what happened.”

“He just stood there holding the phone out to me and asking who is this?”

“And.”

“I said it was you.”

“And.”

“He said, I don’t believe you.”

“Because..”

“He thought it must be a man… because… BDSM means sex stuff… He wasn’t sure what stuff. But knew it meant sex stuff….”

“OMG… Will you stop with the dramatic pauses you are killing me… What happened then?”

“I just laughed, hysterically. I don’t know why. I think I just panicked.”

“You laughed?”

“Yes, he just looked so confused.”

“And.”

“I just said the first thing that came into my head.”

“Which was?”

“I said BDSM stands for Burgers, Drinks and Salsa Music.”

“……”

“Kathy?”

“You are a legend, that’s hysterical. And he brought that, he believed you?”

“Yes. Hook, Line and Sinker.”

“Oh I knew he was thick but that’s a whole new level of stupid.”

“You made me lie, and it was a big one.”

“You have been lying to him about us for months.”

“But you put me on the spot. It was scary.”

“I don’t understand why you are so angry with me. You got away with it.”

“You have to be more careful. Jon is not like your husband. He is more conventional.”

“He has a stick wedged up his…”

“Kathy!”

“I know. I know.”

“You said, you promised, we would be careful.”

“Look, I’m sorry, I know. I really do. I was reckless. Do you forgive me?”

“…..”

“Let me make it up to you.”

“When?”

“Thursday?”

“Okay.”

“Well say it then…”

"....."

“Say it, you know what.”

“No I won’t.”

“Say it.”

“…..”

“Say it… Hang on, I just had a message.”

“…..”

“Polly.”

“Okay I’ll say it, you’re unbelievable.”

“I think we have a problem.”

“What is it?”

“That was the neighbourhood WhatsApp group.”

“And?”

“Jon has posted something.”

“Something bad?”

“Yes.”

“Stop messing around. What’s he posted?”

“He has just invited half the street around to your house this Sunday.”

“For what?”

“He says he’s hosting the Biggest BDSM Party the block has ever seen, bring your swimming costumes and the more the merrier.”

“Oh fuck!”

By Ash Dowie on Unsplash

Earlier this month I posted a story with no descriptive elements and speech tags. It is a good technique to practice writing dialogue. You can find my last attempt here.

I wanted to see if I could do it again.

Thank you for reading my story.

I publish my stuff independently for no other reason that I would rather these strange ideas that rattle around my head from time to time have a place to go.

My reach is decided by you so if you enjoyed this and think it could reach a little further I would love for you to share it.

If not that is also cool.

I have more strange musings here, Enjoy.

If you are also interested in publishing your own ideas here on Vocal and getting paid for it, I can get you a cheaper introductory rate by clicking here. This gets me a small affiliate payment from the platform.

comedy
27

About the Creator

Tom Brad

Raised in the UK by an Irish mother and Scouse father.

Now confined in France raising sheep.

Those who tell the stories rule society.

If a story I write makes you smile, laugh or cry I would be honoured if you shared it and passed it on..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.