Fiction logo

your next time has run out

You may not get a next time

By craig farinaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

"Be careful next time", this sentence is too common in life. Many people inadvertently pop this sentence out of the corners of their mouths, or smile, or cautiously, or look serious, or a little warning... This sentence seems to be the best excuse for mistakes.

​​ A friend shared a little story, which is intriguing. Her daughter is in sixth grade and must be in bed at 11pm. My daughter's sleep is not very good, and she will be woken up by any movement in the house. My friend's husband often entertains, so it's too early to come back at 11 pm. After I came back, I just watched TV, and it always made the sound very loud. After telling him many times, he always said "pay attention next time", and then he still didn't pay attention next time.

​​ Once, after my daughter was woken up because she had an exam the next day, she rushed to the living room and said to her dad angrily, "Have you made a mistake, you always turn on the TV so loudly, it affects my precious sleep!" Her father was taken aback for a moment, then smiled awkwardly and said, "I didn't do it on purpose, I'll pay attention next time." The expression on his face was like a child who did something wrong. Unexpectedly, the daughter seemed to be casual, but in fact she said deeply: "Your next time has been used up!" The daughter kept her throat closed and educated her father."Your next time is out." This sentence caught my attention. The implication of this sentence is that you are no longer trusted, because it has been pushed to the next time again and again, but instead of changing it, it has become a habit. This sentence "pay attention next time" has lost its effectiveness. It may also be because "this time" caused serious consequences, and there is no chance for "next time".

​​In one's life, people will hear a lot of "next time attention", some are "oaths" they say, and some are kindness from others.

​​ When I was a child, when I was late for school in winter, the head teacher was a kind person. He might say with a smile, "Be careful next time", and gently pat your head. The "next time attention" here is the best reminder.

​​ On the first day of work, because you got up late and got stuck in traffic, you were 5 minutes late to the company, so you hurried into the elevator and just bumped into the boss. The boss looks at you without saying a word, and you may say with a smile on your face: "Sorry for the traffic jam, I'll pay attention next time!" The "next time pay attention" here seems to be the best excuse.I remembered that after I came to work in a publishing house, I had a lot of things, sometimes tight schedules, heavy tasks, stumbled along the way, and made big and small mistakes. When I was criticized, I would definitely say "pay attention next time". I reflect on myself three times a day, and I am indeed a little ashamed. In fact, there are many mistakes, obviously very low-level, but I make them again and again, like a stubborn child who does not have a long memory and does not change after repeated teachings.

​ Making mistakes while busy is a common excuse that I find for myself: I made a table and made a mistake with the data, I wrote a wrong word in the drafting contract and I don’t want to rewrite it. Next time, pay attention, why did you write it wrong again, it's really..." I always hoped for luck, and now thinking of the case my friend told me, I suddenly realized that I made too many small mistakes in my work, my next time Maybe it's already used up! My reputation in everyone's mind may have been damaged.

​ To put it bluntly, this is a manifestation of a person's lack of responsibility.A lot of times, the next time you pay attention, it doesn't help. For example, because of not paying attention to traffic safety or obeying traffic rules, your car hits a pedestrian, and you make an oath to promise: "Be careful next time!" How fragile this oath and guarantee is in the face of a traffic accident. If you continue to take it lightly, there are consequences that you may no longer be able to afford.

​ We need to develop the habit of being serious, rigorous, meticulous and attentive. Don't always think about "pay attention next time", but remind ourselves from time to time: pay attention this time. In this way, being a person and doing things is foolproof.

Short Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CFWritten by craig farina

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.