Fiction logo

You Say Goodbye

A book review

By TangerinehippiestudiosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

You Say Goodbye by Keith Steinbaum is a book about a musician who loses both the love of his life and his sanity. He comes home one night from a gig to find that his girlfriend has been brutally murdered by a serial killer who uses lyrics from Beatles songs as his trademark. He ends up majorly depressed and the only thing to save him is the kindness and innocence of a little girl battling cancer. It is a wonderfully written murder mystery about grief and second chances. It is an overall fun and captivating mystery that will keep you on your toes.

I really enjoy the friendship between the little girl and the main character that forms throughout the story. It really shows the readers that sometimes the best way to get though a difficult situation is to make a new friend who can show you a different perspective. She shows him that even though he is going through a horrible season there is always another one just around the corner. In this case, friendship and companionship truly saved a life. Sometimes friends and laughter really are the best medicine. We are very social creatures and being alone just makes everything we are going through so much worse.

The only issue I had with this book was the foul language used and graphic visualization of certain gruesome events. However, there was not much that the author could have done about that due to the topic he was trying to convey. There is really no easy language one can use when describing a horrific murder scene to an audience of readers. I had no other issues with the writing and storyline. I’m just not a huge fan of cursing and graphic content.

I rate this book a 3 out of 4. While there were no errors with the grammar and spellling, I was not a huge fan of the description of the murder scene and certain words used throughout the book. It was a wonderfully written murder mystery which kept me on the edge of my seat and always wanting more. I had a hard time putting this book down. It truly was a real page turner. I was very sad every time I had to put it down to do something human like to use the bathroom.

I recommend this book to more mature audiences as this is not meant for younger readers. It tackles many tough subjects which may be difficult for certain readers. I do not recommend that anyone who suffers from certain traumas read this book as it may bring up certain memories and emotions that may further traumatize.

I am generally not a huge fan of murder mysteries but I really enjoyed this one so much that I actually finished it. I fell in love with some of the characters and despised some others. The author really had me feeling certain emotions that the characters had to go through. It was so full of suspense that I was scared throughout most of the book.

Here is a poem that shows how it made me feel:

You say we need war to bring peace

But that is so contradictory

If war is the absence of peace

Then peace is the absence of war

So why are we fighting

And turning the Earth into a battlefield

Our home has become our worst nightmare

So please

Stop Stop Stop Stop

Killing us all to bring peace

If everyone on the planet is dead

How can we live in harmony

The bitter sweet irony

Of a world in love with war

Is tearing me up inside

So please

Stop stop stop stop

Killing us all to bring peace

I guess you get what you want after alEveryone will die

Your love will be your own demise

Kill us all to bring peace 

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tangerinehippiestudios

☮️Inspired by the inspiration around me☮️Get inspired to change the world☮️Or take a look at mine☮️My aura is orange and bleeds throughout my words☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.