Fiction logo

Write In The Middle Of It

A Love "Story" 31

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Write In The Middle Of It
Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

There was a burn in Mekayla’s chest as she stood for several moments looking at the shut door. She wasn’t sure if it was from the high or if it was from the startling information that was sealed within Erik’s kiss. The blunt burned slowly filling her normally sweet- smelling loft with its stench, but for the first time Mekayla didn’t care about the smell and in fact took a long hard inhale. Then she took a long hard hit off of the blunt until the ash grew long. She gingerly swaggered over to the kitchen sink with one hand under the teetering ashes and flicked them into the sink. The ash hissed a little as it hit some water remnants and at the same time Mekayla blew smoke out of her clenched teeth.

This is some good shit.

She felt the high floating around her forehead and closing in like a vice. She giggled as she opened the refrigerator with her free hand, held the door open with her hip, reached for the water jug, flipped the top open, and guzzled down about two pints. As she let the refrigerator door slam she giggled some more and smoked some more.

“Fuck a glass,” she said to no one but concentrated on her reflection in the flat screen TV.

“See I couldn’t be with your ass because you are an obsessive compulsive idiot when it comes to being clean. And who knew?” She giggled.

“Who knew that all this time you were digging me.” Mekayla decided to swagger over to the pillows but grabbed an ashtray first. She flopped down, put the ashtray on her belly, and tears automatically streamed down her face.

“That’s why this whole havin a male friend thing is tricky,” she said still talking to the TV, “Because most of the time your male friends really do wanna fuck you. But then when you let ‘em, they’re no longer your friend.”

She sighed.

“But let me shut up. Cuz it don’t matter no way. I’m in enough damn trouble.”

Mekayla took another long hard hit and flicked the ashes but they missed the ashtray and scattered all over her shirt.

“My relationship is over!” She continued to rant half laughing half crying. If anyone had overheard her they would have sworn she was having some sort of mental breakdown.

“Here’s a man I love, and trusted with all my heart, and what did he do?” She changed her voice to sound like she was talking to a girlfriend.

What did he do girl?

“I’ll tell ya what he did. He lied to me.”

Well they all do that.

“Nah nah, but you ain’t feeling me. I remember he told me that he would rather hurt himself than hurt me.”

Well that was a sign right there that he was crazy.

“You think?”

You don’t?

“I dunno, well anyway.” Mekayla continued on her psychotic tyrant as she got up, put out the blunt, and began pacing around the house.

“But you wanna know what the kicker is?”

This time her girlfriend was quiet.

“The kicker is that the only reason I found out about his lying ass was because I was thinking about fuckin around on him.” Mekayla got quiet and looked at the TV long and hard.

“Oh I see you ain’t got nothing to say now? That’s because I’m wrong. I mean why else would I cheat on a man that I thought wouldn’t put me through no lies, no drama, wouldn’t waste my time, or his for that matter.” Mekayla stopped focusing her attention on the TV and walked over to the computer and straddled the chair and looked right into the computer screen as if she was yelling at Kevin.

“I mean seriously why would you tell me some shit like,” she changed her voice to mock one of masculinity,

Mekayla think about it, why would I waste my time and yours. If I was just interested in someone else I would just tell you.

She changed her voice back.

“Bullshit! It’s all bullshit. Men will say and do anything they need to say or do to get over. And that’s all this was, wasn’t it Kevin? A get over! Well now, I’m getting over you!” Mekayla pushed herself up from the chair and walked back into the kitchen and opened the refrigerator yet again. This time she finished off the remaining pints of water. When she was done she went back to her tyrade with

water dripping down her chin.

“And that fuckin Erik!” She yelled. “How dare he? How dare he pose as my friend all of this time? No wonder her didn’t like Kevin, or Gene, or any of the guys I dated.” She went over to the counter and realized that the remnants of the evening’s meal were all over the counter. She began cleaning up and throwing things in the garbage when she realized the bag was too full.

“Shit.” Mekayla tried to lift the bag out of the trashcan but the trashcan got stuck to the bottom of the bag.

“Shit, I hate this.” She kept trying to pull the trash bag out of the trashcan but it was not giving. The motions she made looked like she was dry humping the air causing to her to laugh uncontrollably. She fell on the floor and laughed even harder.

“See I am too high.” She continued to laugh as she thought back to the humping motion. Mekayla stopped laughing and sighed.

“Whew, maybe that’s all I needed, was some humpin?”

She giggled slightly to herself and remembered that Brett said he was going to call her later. That was exactly what she needed. A different face that she had no attachments to. She looked around the house and realized it was a mess.

Lemme get this house together in case he does call me.

She tied the top of the trash bag real tight and turned over the trash can so that the bag fell out. She went to her bedroom, got her keys and her house shoes and drug the bag out her front door, down the steps, and out the front door. The cool air must have intensified her high because she swore she saw Brett coming down the walk. All of a sudden the burn that was in her chest traveled down her hips and rested in between her thighs

“Brett?” Mekayla

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.