Fiction logo

Wrapping dumplings

Winter break is here, which means that the annual Chinese New Year is coming up! Every time I think about it, I feel good in my heart. It's a great opportunity to receive a small amount of money

By John K DelgadilloPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Wrapping dumplings
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Winter break is here, which means that the annual Chinese New Year is coming up! Every time I think about it, I feel good in my heart. It's a great opportunity to receive a small amount of money, to eat delicious food, to play and to visit relatives we haven't seen for a long time, all of which we kids look forward to! But what I look forward to the most is making dumplings. Do you know why? I'll let you in on a secret, I've been learning for a long time and I still can't make dumplings. So take this opportunity to learn how to make dumplings!

This is, the day of New Year's Eve, the family had dinner, grandparents sitting in the living room eating melon seeds while watching TV; we children are outside the firecrackers, hide and seek ...... playing to their heart's content, making the clouds, as if into a fairyland on earth, so happy ah! After some time, suddenly heard the sound of "banging", as if the sound from the kitchen. What? What are mom and dad doing? Is it time to make dumplings? I was curious, so I ran to the kitchen in three steps and saw that it was time to prepare dumplings.

Dad poured the prepared flour into a face plate, then poured the right amount of water, then stirred with chopsticks, and then slowly kneaded the dough, kneaded and kneaded until it was smooth. Finally, knead it into a long strip, cut it into small balls, and flatten it one by one with a rolling pin, and the thin, round dumpling skin is ready! Next, it was mom's turn to make the filling. She prepared meat, celery, tofu, salt, MSG, etc. She was going to make celery and pork dumplings. Mom stirred the meat, chopped the celery and tofu into a pot, put in the seasoning, and then stirred well, so the filling was ready.

When everything was ready, mom and dad started to wrap the dumplings. First, they wrapped some dumplings that looked like yuanbao, with round bellies and chubby "faces", with the sides turned upwards. I couldn't help but make a few too. I wrapped them and compared them with the others, alas! It's so ugly! Either too little meat or not pinched tightly, the meat filling is out, anyway, it is a mess, a miserable. It was as if the dumpling filling was playing a game of "hide-and-seek" with me.

So, my mom taught me a trick: first put the dumpling skin in your hand and put the meat filling in, then close it up, pinch it in the middle, push the sides in, bend it back and press it, and it's done, it's beautiful and fast.

I followed the tips my mother taught me, step by step, and soon I learned, although not as beautiful as my mother, but I learned the technique of wrapping dumplings, the speed will also slow up. The dumplings looked better one by one, and my mom praised me for being a smart kid! I believe that one day I will be even better than her! After hearing my mother's words, I felt a sense of accomplishment and happiness in learning how to make dumplings.

After making dumplings this time, I gradually understood that if you are willing to work hard and learn by heart, you will succeed in the end. As the saying goes, "As long as you work hard, a mortar and pestle can be sharpened into a needle."

The uniqueness of human beings

Being able to learn again with a shared language is so powerful for humans.

Born as human beings, with this flesh and blood body, human beings rely on the brain and are at an advantage on the earth to become advanced animals. From a scientific point of view, this is explained by the genes that distinguish us from other animals, and we have a unique advantage over them. At the same time, human beings from birth voraciously absorb the knowledge of experience, and the same species has different levels, the human species is no exception, the best people are always the best, and the family genetic gift of superior memory or superior physical ability, human society there are superior and inferior. The human desire to become stronger, the desire for a better life will not weaken, with human efforts and little difference between the genes, the rapid development of the human race.

In the human community, extra attention to lineage, family genes, and breaking the grassroots movement of people rarely exist, human beings give themselves to divide the region, implicitly divided into superior and inferior. Each person is unique, there is some kind of social relations between people, and the positive face of life has become a unique human value.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

John K Delgadillo

A person who loves to create

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.