Fiction logo

Would You?

Take a step

By Chiara Ann VicaryPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Would You?
Photo by Philipp Lansing on Unsplash

We started on a journey with a single breath. Not knowing where we were going, not knowing how far we'd travel. We had no hesitation, we took those small steps and within moments it was too far to go back.

I could feel it was reckless, bold, daring, a terrible, inescapable bad idea but there was no stopping us. We were on the move, and we would come back storytellers. Maybe not wise, maybe not influential nor inspiring but definitely experienced.

It all began 5 years, 7 months and 22 days ago on an average day. I woke to a dreary Spring morning. It had been raining non-stop for the past 2 weeks. I would like to work and listen to the endless complaints about the weather. How it was better to be at work because you weren't missing out on anything. Each customer thought they were the first to say it. I knew it would only be the next person who did some form of rendition on the same phrase.

Today would be different though. Today I would take the step to transform my life and live the way the wise preach to do. The day would go on slowly. The rain keeps everyone at shopping centers or at home. We served most of our regulars. Joe, his low fat Latte. Lizzie, her almond milk cappuccino with no chocolate. Maggie, her chocolate milkshake, full fat milk and a blueberry muffin. We did what cleaning we could. Getting behind the cupboards, the shelves, the window sills. When the cleaning was done we re- stocked the near full drink fridge's, the cupboards, the cups, the containers and condiments. It became monotonous. I'd started day dreaming, zoning into my own little world. Broken by a gentleman stepping through the door.

Immediately stepping into professional mode I began the repetitive greeting "Hello there, How are you?".

Though asking this question I never expected an answer. It follows the lines of 'table for two', particularly when not a regular. I was briefly taken aback when I actually saw him up close.

A perfectly chiselled jawline that angled into his cheekbones. Above which sat the brightest set of royal blue eyes. Framed by dark brown hair that was pulled back to a low ponytail by his neck making the neck tattoo, a word I believed, visible.

"I'm very well, thank you. And yourself?" Yep. You guessed it. His voice was like a silk with an edge to it. Maintain composure i told myself as my ovaries backflipped. Professional, I yelled at myself. "Table for 1? Or are we waiting on someone?" I replied back

"Just for myself, thank you."

"No worries, Just take a seat wherever you like and I'll bring everything over" I let him pass me. Possibly a bad idea when a breeze came through sending his cologne in my direction. Oh. my. I collected myself to go get water, a glass and a menu before heading for his table. My manager sent me a sly smile knowing exactly what I was thinking.

I set the water down with the glass and presented the menu to the young gentleman. I proceeded to point out the specials board as well as explain that we do have beer or wine if he'd prefer. Which he did upon ordering a Pale Ale. I left him to consider the menu and retrieve the beverage.

The barista handed me the drink across the bench remarking the young man was watching me. I felt a blush creep across my face. I readied my waitress smile and with the beverage in hand I headed back to the young man. "There you are" I said as I set the drink down "did you have any luck with food choices or any questions?"

"I'll have the chicken burger please". He asked politely "Not a problem" I replied as I reached for the menu, he did not let go easily " I still have a question."

"Oh, yes?" I asked

"You didn't answer me how you are" I couldn't help but laugh a little. It came so unexpected.

" Oh, uh, I'm very well thank you" He smiled and released the menu to me. I placed the order and the motions began. I handed it to the kitchen and set him up. I then moved about the café, serving the couple of other tables that were already in. Getting the last rounds of coffee with cake and up selling where I could with extra beverages.

The chime of the bell told me food was ready, so I headed towards the kitchen to collect what was ready from the pass. The docket informed me it was a chicken burger for table 7. His. I took it over and asked if I could get him anything else at all. I could see he was only half-way through his drink, and decided not to offer that specifically so as not to look a fool. He told me he had everything he needed and I wished him to enjoy everything and to let me know If there was anything he needed.

It was now 2:30 I had finished cleaning and clearing everyone else. Out of the 5 tables we had 2 remaining. One couple of ladies who were to be engrossed in gossip to notice anyone else and Mr. Tall Dark and Handsome. My manager announced for me to sign off, to go home, and he'd see me tomorrow. I wrote down my hours, collected my handbag and set out with one last look at my dark stranger. It wasn't the first time and it wouldn't be the last that we have someone handsome walk in.

I was at my car and searching through my Mary Poppins bag. Regretting ever buying a bag so big and risking throwing my car keys straight in. The longer it took the more frustrating it became.

Within a few minutes I had started to feel the soft few raindrops relieving a deep sigh I finally found my keys. In the same moment an umbrella sprung up above me. A deep black, wide umbrella. I saw first the tattoo at his wrist noticing it would go all the way up the arm as well as a few symbols on his fingers. I was becoming more and more intrigued but I did not have to see the face to know who it was. His strong masculine scent was enough. "Thank you" I said as I turned and looked at him.

A soft smile crept across his lips he observed as his head lowered a little. I smiled awkwardly and turned my head away.

"I'm Bash" He introduced himself. "Lacie" I replied shaking his hand.

"Would it be alright Lacie, if I called you sometime?" It was only At this moment I heard it, he had an accent, my intrigue was barely contained by this time. "Of course" the words were out of my mouth before I could catch myself. He continued to look at me whilst I stood there unsure what was happening. "Do you need a pen?" he inquired. Oh, he wanted me to go old school and write it down. Well okay, I can go old school romantic. I reached into my back pocket pulled out my pen and notepad, finding a blank page I wrote down my name and number. After heading it to him he deftly folded it and out it in his inside jacket pocket. He gestured for me to move towards the door of my car indicating for me to get in whilst holing the umbrella over me. The rain had begun heavier now, puddles starting to form. "Until next time?" I queried. "You'll see me again Lacie" I'd never heard my name run like water before and yet somehow he made it happen.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Chiara Ann Vicary

By reading my stories you'll see I am no professional writer. I started writing as an escape. It helped me when I was in a very depressed mindset. Add in an overactive imagination. I started writing down what I would see I my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.