Fiction logo

WORLD OF TWIN

THE CHALLENGE I FACED AS A TWIN

By Beauty EtukudoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
WORLD OF TWIN
Photo by Marlon Alves on Unsplash

Mom gave birth to twin, congratulations to her, they are all girls. The first child ‘Beauty’ was very beautiful, a carbon copy of her name, very plump, fair, loved by all, compare to the second girl.

Her name is Queen, sickly looking child, ugly and scary.

“I don't know if she's the queen of the ghost, I mean, how can a child be this ugly and why is she looking different from her sister? Even when they came out from the same placenta. People began to ask questions”

Because she was ugly, people didn't like her, they all preferred Beauty, nobody wanted to associate with her, pregnant women avoided her, because, they don't want to give birth to a beast.

Hmmm what a pity.

My name is Queen, I am that ugly girl that scares almost everyone around me, and people hate me and run away from me. Even in school, I don't have friends, sometimes, I wonder why I am like this, I'm not beautiful, I'm not educationally sound, I'm rejected by all except my family, life is so unfair with me.

Meanwhile, my sister “Beauty” is so beautiful, intelligent, bright, love by all. In school, its other students who begs to be her friend, other students serve and worship my sister like God.

This life can be cruel sometimes.

One thing I love about my sister is, she doesn't ignore me. If she ever hears that someone make jest of me, she will fight with her blood, she is proud of me and always talk good about me before others, she brag about me every now and then, she can't just discuss with you without mentioning my name for good in the conversation.

“That’s why she's my best and only sis “

We grew up in that manner. Beauty, the beautiful lady, and Queen, the queen of the ghost, as people secretly called me.

I faced a lot of rejection while growing up. My childhood was the worst season of my life, I don't even want to talk about it. Anytime I go out with my sister, I could see the way both guys and ladies rushed my sister and nobody would even notice me.

She got a lot of gift from people but no one has ever given me pen before.

Things got worst for me when we turned 16. I heard that when someone turn sixteen she will be called sweet sixteen, well, it wasn't so for me, at 16, we wrote our waec. Sis made it big time, but I did not. I wanted to rewrite but mom said it's not a good idea, she said she doesn't have money to waste that I should choose a trade. School is not for me.

At first, I was sad, but then, maybe she is right, after all, I haven't been performing so well in school. If not for my sister who had been helping me out, so I agreed with mom.

My sis on the other hand was doing so well, she cleared all her papers with a touch of excellent, and she took jamb immediately and got admission into the university to study law.

She was even more beautiful when she got into school, she no longer wore her old clothes, the first holiday she came home I was so surprised at who my sister was becoming, very beautiful and classic, life changed for my sis and it seemed God had abandoned me.😒

Sometimes, I would feel shy to go out with my sister, because of the embarrassment I got from people directly or in directly, people would even go as far as asking me why I was like that.😏😏😔😔

My sis turned out to be my mom's favorite. My mom spent all her money for her and I was almost neglected, but thanks to God mom corrected herself earlier and drew me closer to herself.

Mom always told me she believed in me, that school is not for everyone. She also told me no matter who ignores me on earth, that God will never ignore me.

I believed mom, and forgave her for neglecting me.

When sis was in the final year, suitor’s cars could cause traffic on our entrance, I could remember how cars were busy in and out of my father's compound, looking for my sis any time she comes for holiday. Meanwhile, no man has ever told me I love you before.

I won't lie, I was jealous of my sister. Sometimes, I wished God could just give me half of what he gave her.....................

Short StoryFan Fictionfamily
2

About the Creator

Beauty Etukudo

A student of NOUN who developed a writing skill on the hospital bed. I learnt to turn my tears into ink and encourage souls out there with my stories. I love to write about life experiences, both mine and the ones people told me. WELCOME.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.