Fiction logo

WORLD OF TWIN part2

the challenge I faced as a twin

By Beauty EtukudoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
WORLD OF TWIN part2
Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

I didn't let the jealousy generate into hatred, because, no matter the state my sis was, she had always showed me more love than anyone else, I can boldly say that sis loved me more than my mom, she always share her secret with me and anytime she came back for holiday, she would bring a box full of clothes for me. She was the one who bought my first android phone for me. I couldn't afford to hate her, she wasn’t my problem.

And so, I waved the jealousy away and allowed love lead.

We turned 22years, a suitor came to officially ask for her hand in marriage.

Fred, my sister’s husband was tall, fair and doing pretty well for himself, not necessarily rich, but he was living fine. I was so happy for my sister while praying for my own husband, because it wasn't easy for me anymore. I needed companionship like never before, especially, knowing that my only friend and sister was getting married. I knew she won't have my time like before, of course she needed to face her home.

After my sister’s wedding, I began to walk alone in the community, almost everyone would tell me ‘it's time for you to get married’. Some of them would jokingly say “who will marry you like this” some would say I looked like a man.

It became a matter of concern to me, considering the fact that no man had asked me out before, I began to wonder if I would ever get married 🤔🤔

But then I remember what mom said: people may ignore me but God won't.

I hid that word in my heart while it became my source of strength everyday.

Everything looked hopeless for me, my brain was dull, people said I was not beautiful, I wasn’t even accepted in the society, and I just clocked 25 years with nothing to show for.

On that faithful evening, the thought of suicide flooded my mind as I sat there on my bed feeling depressed. I was tired of everything, at some point, I was wondering if I was cursed, I had so many questions on my mind. I wanted to at least know what my offense was, or, why life chose me of all the people in the world.

My mates were mostly married, even the single ones had a life, and they had something they were doing to keep them going, on-like me, who sat all day at home, like a house help. The only thing I was good at, was to run errands.

I cried my eyes out that evening, I cried until I slept off, meanwhile, Mom had said I would be going to my aunt's house the following day to get some stuff for her. In the morning, I dressed up to my aunt's place which was two villages away from ours. On my way to her place, I noticed too many cars on the road which got me wondered

After collecting the stuff, Aunt told me there was a burial ceremony in town.

On my way back home, a car drove passed me but quickly reversed. George was my classmate and my Church Elder's son, he left to the city when we were still little, I was shocked as he recognized me, we exchanged pleasantries and he asked me to come into the car.

I went in, and there sat his friend ‘Fred’ In front of the car. George introduced us to each other and Fred was like, hi Queen, “you look beautiful”

I blushed, wow, first time a guy gave me a compliment. In my mind I was like “this calls for celebration” 💃💃

I got to my junction and George dropped me and said he hope to see me in church on Sunday. Sunday came and I realized George had gone back to the city during the course of the week. Meanwhile, he had collected my number, he said he wanted to talk to my dad about a particular land he wanted to buy, so my dad could help him out.

Two weeks later, George called, but my dad was not at home, so I told him so, but he said, “I didn't call because of your dad, I called because of you”. Me? I asked, he said yes, then he went ahead to say……....... to be continued

Short StoryFan Fictionfamily
2

About the Creator

Beauty Etukudo

A student of NOUN who developed a writing skill on the hospital bed. I learnt to turn my tears into ink and encourage souls out there with my stories. I love to write about life experiences, both mine and the ones people told me. WELCOME.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Incredible work. Very well-written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.