Fiction logo

World in Tatters Ch. 6

By Kevin Barkman

By Kevin BarkmanPublished 7 months ago 9 min read
Like
World in Tatters Ch. 6
Photo by Igor bispo on Unsplash

Dinner went as you might expect. Old friends catching up, telling stories of our travels. Even Chris joined in the festivities somewhat. Well, not joined in exactly, but he did stay close, laughing at jokes and seeming to enjoy the food. He did avoid eye contact with Rachel, though. Which is understandable, considering that she stared daggers at him most of the night.

I didn’t blame her, really. New person. It’s difficult to trust new people in our experience. But I think that she’ll warm up to him over time. That is, if he stays with us.

Alice was in good spirits throughout dinner. I think she liked getting to catch up with Rachel and Jason. No matter what though, behind the jokes and the lighthearted banter, lies a plethora of dark thoughts. I don’t think the others could tell. They don’t know Alice as well as I do. And, of course, we avoided talking about the darkest parts of our pasts.

Alice left our camp shortly before midnight. I offered to take the first watch while Jason and Rachel went to their tents to get some rest. Chris wasn’t so eager. He seemed distracted, nervous. It’s his first night with us, so it makes sense. Especially considering Rachel’s open distrust for him.

But I think there’s more to it than that. This place, this city is toxic for him. After what he told me today, I’m surprised he can even stand to be here at all with what he’s been through.

As for me, I decided to leave Chris to it. Nothing I could say would make it better for him. I just hope that he is able to get some rest tonight. It’s a nice evening. A little humid, but the sky is clear. When I look up, countless stars look back at me. Huge balls of gas burning billions of miles away, yet there they are shining in the night sky for me to gaze into.

I’ve always liked the stars. They’ve often kept me company on nights like tonight. I almost always volunteer for the first watch. I find it peaceful. Plus, I don’t sleep very well, so having to be woken up in the middle of the night isn’t the ideal situation.

Frankly, with us being so close to the city, I don’t think we necessarily need to keep watch tonight. But of course, better safe.

I still can’t believe that Alice is here. After all this time, she just waltzes back into my life. And despite everything that’s happened in the last six years, we just…pick up where we left off. I mean, we’ve both clearly been through a lot, but when we were together tonight, it was like we were fourteen again. Laughing and carrying on. I hadn’t realized how much I missed her until tonight at dinner.

About an hour into my watch, Chris finally slinks into his tent to lie down for the night. Another couple hours pass and it’s time for me to trade watch with Jason. I duck into Jason’s tent and grab his shoulder, shaking him awake.

“Hey, it’s time for your watch. Wake up.”

Groggily, Jason begins to stir. “Five more minutes,” he slurs while rolling onto his side.

“Come on, Jason. Get up. Let me get some sleep for a change.”

He slowly opens his eyes, groaning at the thought of getting up. But he does finally rise, pulling on his boots and shirt.

“Don’t fall back asleep. I’m gonna go get some rest.”

“Yeah, yeah.”

I duck back out of the tent, taking in the night air one last time before retiring to my own tent for the night. I lie down, close my eyes and drift into a deep, dreamless sleep.

*****

By the time Rachel wakes me, the sun is already high in the sky. I’d say I have about two hours before we’re supposed to meet with Alice and her friend.

The sun today is blinding, the damp heat sweltering. I’ve been awake not even five minutes and I can already feel my clothes sticking to my skin. The cicadas scream their song in tune with the pounding in my head. I didn’t sleep well last night. With nothing but the hard ground beneath my head, though I fell asleep quickly, my body refused to remain still. I’m getting real tired of all these crappy nights of sleep. One day it’s going to be the death of me.

I grab my canteen from inside my tent. Luckily, it’s full. I gulp down all the water, hoping this headache is just from tension and not dehydration.

Rachel and Jason are milling about, breaking down camp and munching on the remnants of last night’s dinner. Chris is taking care of the horses. Getting them some hay from the saddlebags. The fire-pit has long since burned out, leaving nothing but a couple of charred logs smoldering in a pile of ash. The bittersweet odor of oak wood smoke still permeates the clearing.

I need more water. And something to eat.

“Hey, Jase. Any more leftovers from dinner?”

“Yeah, I packed them away in your saddle bags. Figured you might be hungry.”

“Thanks.”

The saddles are never far from the horses, but we do pull them off their backs overnight to give them a rest. However, by now, Chris has our horses almost ready to go. I cross over to my horse, a beautiful Arabian mare.

We’ve had this horse for a while, but for some reason, I am the only one she lets ride her. She’ll carry gear from anyone, but it took a while for even that. That’s why we named her Stormy. For her tempestuous personality.

“Hey, Stormy. How are you this morning?” I pull an apple from my saddle bag and offer it to her, stroking her neck as she eats from my hand.

It won’t be long before we have to leave to meet Alice. When she finishes, I pull my own breakfast from the bags: just some cooked meat wrapped tightly in a leather pouch. I lean gently against Stormy, pulling at my food while she nuzzles against me.

“Alright, girl, I’ll be back shortly.” I head back toward my tent to gather my gear and pack up for the trip into the city.

“Steven!” shouts a familiar voice. I turn to see my friend with her hulking body guard coming into our camp.

“Alice, what are you doing out here? I thought we were supposed to meet you back at your tent?”

“Yeah, about that…”

“What’s wrong? Were you not able to get the papers in time?”

“Not exactly. We were only able to secure one set of them. For you or Jason. Your choice.”

“What are you talking about? The whole point of this is so we all get in. I don’t want to leave anyone out here in the open. And I sure as hell don’t want one of us alone in the city. You assured me you could get the papers we needed.”

“Yeah, I know I did. I’m sorry. But don’t get mad at me. It was really short notice.”

“I’m not mad. You’re right. I’m just… you know what, it doesn’t matter. Look, Alice. I really do appreciate what you did. We just had a plan, and now we gotta figure out a new one. Let me get the others real quick.”

I shout to the others to gather around the fire pit. Alice sends Bertrand away to let us talk.

“Alright,” growls the hulking mass of beard and gut. “I’ll be back at the tent when you need me.”

“Just no drinking, please, we have work to do soon.”

“Yes, of course, Lady Alice.” The behemoth walks out of our camp, back in the direction of the town.

There’s something about him though. As soon as I saw him walking up alongside Alice, I noticed his eyes. They seemed to be constantly tracking every inkling of movement around him. He may look like a lumbering oak, especially last night when he was wasted. However, he is anything but. His eyes are those of a trained soldier. This man was once one of the elite guards of the First Family of Atlanta. They were the best of the best. Trained from a young age to be the most loyal, lethal, and effective members of the Atlanta military.

I don’t know Bertrand personally, but I met plenty others from the guard regiment. They all had one thing in common, a fierce discipline rivaling that of the Roman legionnaires.

This drunken oaf routine is just that, an act for them to keep their cover and maybe gather intelligence. It has to be. Otherwise, he’s just another broken man, barely surviving this dystopian wasteland. Two things are for certain though, Bertrand is not someone to be trifled with, and he will do anything, even die, to protect Alice.

Everyone gathers around the smoldering ashes at the center of our camp. Alice and I sit down across from one another, Jason on my right, Chris on my left, with Rachel choosing to plop down next to Alice.

“Alright, so, Alice just informed me that we have a bit of a problem with our plan. There’s only one set of papers. Meaning only Jason or I can get into the city, but not both of us, and not anyone else. I’m going to be the one to go in. Just me. I’ll investigate as quickly as possible, then get out, with no one the wiser. Then we go to Atlanta. That’s my plan. Any questions?”

“Uh, yeah. I have one,” shouts Rachel. “Are you NUTS? We’re not going to let you go in there alone. That’s crazy.”

“Clearly, but I don’t….”

“He won’t be alone,” Alice interjects. “I’m going with him. I have merchant papers that grant me limited access in the city. I can be his guide so he doesn’t cross the wrong people.”

“Alice, no. What I’m going in there to do, I’m likely going to have ruffle some feathers. I don’t want you caught in the crossfire if I run afoul of the wrong crowd.”

“That’s kinda the whole point of my going. So you don’t do that. I know some people in there who might be able to get you some answers. Besides, you offered to help me get my mom back. The least I can do is help you get your answers now.”

“Okay, well, Bertrand knows the same contacts, right? Send him with me. We can talk to the right people, and keep you out of danger.”

Clearly sarcastic, “While I appreciate the fact that you want me to be safe, I can take care of myself.” Softening her tone, “And besides, while Bertrand is great to have around in a fight, he’s not exactly what you would call…diplomatic.”

“Look, I know you can take care of yourself, probably better than anyone I’ve met. That’s not the point, though.”

“Guys! Yoohoo! We’re still here.” Interjects Rachel, pulling my attention away from Alice. “Just take her with you, Steven. She could kick your ass; we both know that.”

“Thank you, Rachel.” Alice chimes smugly.

“Trust me. I am well aware of that, Rach. As much as I hate to admit it. But again, that’s not the point! Also, watch your language.”

“Steven, they’re right. And not just about the kicking your ass thing. But about letting Alice be your guide.”

“Not you too, Jason. I thought if anyone would agree with me it’d be you.”

“What? She knows the city. She knows the contacts. She’s a better fighter. And, let’s be honest, she’s a little less conspicuous than Bertrand the behemoth.”

“Alice. Are you sure you want to do this?”

“Yes, Steven, I’m sure. But if we’re going to go today, we should get going. I sent a message to one of my contacts this morning. They’re expecting us. They have a place for us to crash for a couple nights. But they’re expecting me, not Bert. So, I guess we’re stuck together anyway.”

“You know, you could have just said that.”

“I know, but it’s more fun to watch you squirm.” She jabs while bumping fists with Rachel.

There’s that pounding in my head again. Lowering my face into my hand, pinching my eyes and nose, “You…frustrate me, woman.”

“Good. Now we should really get going.”

Rising from my perch, “Yeah, fine. Let me just get my gear.”

“No guns. We won’t get through the gate with any firearms on our persons. Blades are fine though.”

“Of course they are. And of course you would know that.”

“I like knives, so fight me.”

“Maybe later. Clearly we’ll have plenty of time over the next couple days. I’ll be right back.”

As I turn my back, I hear Alice and Rachel giggling at me like children. I walk over to Stormy and begin digging through my bags. I grab my backpack and stuff it with a change of clothes, my combat knife, canteen, and the remnants of meat from last night wrapped tightly in a handkerchief. Throwing it over my back, I give my horse one last pat on the neck.

“Alright, let’s go.”

“Bert should have a pack prepped for me. We’ll meet him at our tent to grab it, then head into the city.”

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Barkman

Somehow, my most popular story is smut. I don't usually write smut. I did it once, and look what happened. Ugh.

Anyway, Hope you enjoy my work. I do pour my heart, soul, sweat and tears into it.

PS: Please read more than my smut story.I beg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.