Fiction logo

World In Tatters Ch. 39

By Kevin Barkman

By Kevin BarkmanPublished 12 days ago 9 min read
World In Tatters Ch. 39
Photo by Slawek K on Unsplash

We spend the better part of the day riding toward Atlanta with the resistance militia. Unfortunately, my mother’s fighting force wasn’t nearly as large as I initially thought. From the camp I’d seen the last few nights, I expected to be traveling alongside an army eight or nine hundred strong. What I’m seeing now is maybe half that, several of which are newcomers recruited in Birmingham.

All I can hope, is that there’s a larger force waiting for us near the capital. Otherwise, our chances of a successful siege are slim to none.

Charlotte’s avoiding me today. Every time she sees me approach, she pulls farther ahead, making herself busy with whatever duties she can find. Richard and Kiera keep pretty busy as well. I quickly realize that I’m not going to be able to get the information I need until we stop for the night.

It’s fine though, today is a nice day. It started out pretty hot and humid, but light storm clouds rolled in about an hour ago, dropping the temperature significantly. I suspect we’ll get a nice rain before too long, but for now, it feels fantastic.

My companions and I ride near the center of the procession. Most of the soldiers are on foot, taking turns riding in the back of a few of the larger wagons. Only the commanding officers and council members ride their own horses.

I raise my face to the sky, sniffing the air as a cool breeze wafts through our parade, rustling the flaps of the supply wagons ahead of me. I listen to the sounds of our caravan rumbling down an ancient road. What was once a pristine blacktop, long since eroded by the sands of time. Blades of grass grow in patches along our path in the few places that haven’t been trampled or eaten by passing horses.

The rain holds out a few more hours before turning our trek into a gloomy trudge. It’s more of a mist than a rain, really, but it’s persistent. A chill runs the length of my spine when the cool wind whips against my wet skin. I hear many of the men start to grumble at their new plight. (I say men, not because the militia is only made up of men, but because the men seem to be the only ones complaining. About a third or so of this caravan is made up of women: stoic and battle ready.)

“Hey.” Rachel’s voice startles me out of my own thoughts. I turn in my saddle to face her, her hair matted from the rain.

“Hey. What’s up?”

“Nothing really. Just bored.”

“There’s plenty of new people around. You could try to make a friend.”

She makes a face like she’s considering the idea before scrunching her face in disgust, “Nah.”

“Fair enough.”

“Besides,” Her tone turns somber. “I wanted to ask you about something.”

“Ah.” I sigh. “You’re wondering about our rescue mission.”

“It crossed my mind, yeah.

“I was planning on telling you, but things have bee—”

“I’m coming with you.” She interjects.

As a smile spreads across my face, I look upwards, feeling the mist fall against my cheeks. “Well of course you are!”

I can feel Rachel staring at me, her stunned silence filling the afternoon air. When I look back at her, Rachel’s face is locked with her jaw wide open. “I…” She sputters, “You…Huh? You’re letting me come along?”

“Yeah.”

“On a dangerous mission?”

“Yep.”

“Are you ill?”

“No.”

“Then I’m stumped. What’s changed?”

“Changed? Nothing really. I just figured that Aunt Nora is as much your family as she is mine. I figured you’d feel the need to help. I’m not gonna stand in the way.”

“Who are you? And what have you done with my brother?”

“Ha-ha.” I muse, “Besides. I want to keep an eye on you.”

“That’s more like it. So, do you have a plan?”

“Plan, plan, plan.” I sigh. “Everyone’s always asking if I have a plan.”

“Well do you?”

“…No. Not yet.” Rachel rolls her eyes at me through her matted hair. “What? No one has told me anything about the city or where she’s being held. How exactly am I supposed to have a plan with no information?”

“Point taken.” She concedes. “Why not just ask mom?”

“She wants nothing to do with this. I already tried asking. I think Jedd might be a better bet. He seems to know things.”

“Maybe I could try asking mom?”

“You can try, if you like.” I scoff. “But she was pretty adamant. Up to you.”

“Doesn’t hurt to try.”

“True.”

We ride the rest of the afternoon talking about nothing in particular, just enjoying each other’s company. At some point I lose sight of Alice in the crowd. Looking around, I see her horse tied to the back of one of the carriages. I guess she decided that a nap was in order after our sleepless night.

Jason and Chris seem to have gotten pretty chummy over the last week. I mean, I like the kid too, but he and Jason have spent more time with each other. A couple of the new soldiers, guys about Chris’ age or younger, have been gradually gravitating to them. I’ll admit, their spirited laughter is contagious. I envy their ability to keep themselves entertained.

The misting continues well after dark. Of course, it stops as soon as we’re done setting up camp. Fires are prohibited tonight because we’re too close to enemy territory, but that’s alright. I doubt we could find any dry firewood anyhow. Unfortunately, though, that means dried nuts and jerky for dinner. On the other hand, it means I don’t have to cook.

A while later, Rachel catches sight of Charlotte going about her duties. As soon as she sees her, Rachel runs to her, presumably to make an attempt where I failed. Instead of joining Rachel in trying to garner my mother’s assistance, I decide to hang back. I fear my attitude would get the better of me, and that wouldn’t help anyone.

I sit alone gnawing on my pork jerky for a while. Alice opted to turn in early. Seeing as she hasn’t slept much recently, I can’t blame her. I almost wish I could join her. Well…not join her, join her. But like, also get some sleep. I doubt I could, though. Even if I tried. My mind is too busy trying to think through all options for our incursion into Atlanta.

Without any warning, Richard comes up behind me, kneeling by my side. “Hey.”

“Um, hi.” I look over my shoulder to see a look of determination on his face. “Is everything alright?”

“Yeah. It’s all good. I just came over here to tell you something.”

“O…kay? What’s u—”

“Meet me tonight. An hour after midnight. Have your gear and horses ready.”

“What are you talking about?”

“You still want to go after President Falstrom?”

“Of course. But I don’t understand.”

“Just be ready to go.” Lowering his voice, “Do you trust me?”

It takes a moment before I find the words to respond. I hadn’t really thought about it. So far, he hasn’t lied to me. He and Kiera saved our lives. He was good on his word about taking us to my mother. “Yeah. I guess I do.”

“Good. Make sure everyone who’s coming is ready to go on time. Be silent.” Pointing off past the edge of the campsite, “There’s a side road about a hundred yards past the tree line. That’s where we’ll be.”

I grab Richard’s arm just as he turns to leave, “What about my mother?”

“Why do you think we’re sneaking out?” He sighs.

“She doesn’t know about this?”

“No…Well, more accurately, she strictly forbade it.” I release him from my grip. He takes a few steps before turning back. “I’ll see you tonight?”

“Uh…yeah. Yeah. We’ll be there.”

Richard nods before rushing off into the night. Shortly thereafter, Rachel returns from her meeting with our mother, frustrated and dejected. She plops down next to me on the wet ground. Unfortunately for her, in the darkness, she sits right in a mud slick. She complains about that too.

“No luck.” She sighs.

“I figured as much.” I concede. “But I don’t think it’ll matter.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

Lowering my voice, “Can’t really tell you right now. Just get your gear together. Make sure the horses are fed. We need to be ready to go by midnight.”

“O…kay…” She says. “What are you gonna do?”

“I’m going to go wake up Alice and fill Jason in. I’ll meet you by the horses soon.” I get up from my tree-stump perch, dusting off my pants.

Rachel excitedly jumps to her feet, “Alright, I’m on it.”

Just before I go to leave, I turn back to Rachel, “And Rach?”

“Yeah?”

“Be quiet about it.”

She makes a gesture at her mouth of a key turning in a lock, then runs off, leaving me alone once again. I think for a moment, deciding if I should go ahead and rouse Alice from her bed. I determine it’s probably better to let her sleep for a while longer, and go off in search of Jason.

It doesn’t take long. After about five minutes, I find Jason sitting in a circle of soldiers, young and experienced alike, exchanging stories and laughing under the moonlight. I slip over beside him, taking a seat nearby. It takes him a moment to notice me. When he finally does, he takes up his drink and joins me.

As soon as he sits, I can smell the alcohol on him. Even in the faint moonlight, I can see a redness in his cheek. “Enjoying yourself?”

“Yeah,” Jason slurs, “Why aren’t you? I mean, we’re safe, surrounded by friendly soldiers. We’re not running for our lives. You have your mother back. You should relish it.”

“What the hell makes you think we’re safe?” I scoff. “You know what? Doesn’t matter right now. I need to speak with you privately.”

“Later.”

“No. Now.”

“Fine.”

Jason follows me out of earshot of the ring of drunken soldiers. I turn to face him, my voice hardly over a whisper. “Rachel, Alice and I are leaving tonight. I need you to cover for us.”

“Leaving!?” He coos. “Where a—?”

“Shush.” Clapping my hand over his mouth “Keep it down. Yes, leaving. We’re going on a rescue mission to free President Falstrom.”

“NORA?” He whispers loudly. At least the news seems to have sobered him a little.

“Yes. We’re leaving in a couple hours.”

“Does Charlotte know about this?”

“She…doesn’t need to know. Not now at least.”

“She’ll notice you’re gone.”

The words Yeah, right cross my mind. “She’ll be too busy to notice anything. And if she does, that’s where you come in. You just have to cover for us for…until about midday tomorrow. By then, we’ll be too far away for her to stop us.”

Sobering more and more by the minute, Jason’s concern comes to the forefront. “But I…I don’t…”

“You’ll be fine. Just make sure to feed Rex.” With that, I just walk away, leaving Jason looking like a confused puppy. Normally, I’d spend more time trying to make sure he was on board, but right now, I just don’t have the energy to deal with Drunk Jason. Instead, I head on over to where we tied up our horses.

I take a few minutes to make sure all of my saddlebags are packed up. Food, extra clothes, my weapons: all good to go. Chris has been good about taking care of our steeds. I don’t think Stormy has looked quite so clean and kempt in the whole time I’ve had her. I know, I know. That says more about me than it does about Chris, but I appreciate the kid all the same.

I lug my saddle up onto Stormy’s back, making sure all the straps are securely fastened. I take my time with her before moving on to Alice’s steed, a black and white Appaloosa stallion. I pull a handful of oats from one of my bags, offering them to him. The horse rustles his mane in pleasure as I pet his muzzle. Once he finishes the oats, I move down his side, running my hand along his neck.

For the next half hour or so, I fuss over the horses, making sure everything is ready for tonight. Once I’m finally finished, I head to Alice’s tent. I hope, for her sake, she’s been able to get decent sleep for once.

Sci FiYoung AdultSeriesExcerptAdventure

About the Creator

Kevin Barkman

Somehow, my most popular story is smut. I don't usually write smut. I did it once, and look what happened. Ugh.

Anyway, Hope you enjoy my work. I do pour my heart, soul, sweat and tears into it.

PS: Please read more than my smut story.I beg

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kevin BarkmanWritten by Kevin Barkman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.