Fiction logo

Without You: Chapter Four

A Short-Fiction Series ft. Amaterasu (A muse)

By Kia JonesPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1

Quick Guide: if this is your first time reading my work, welcome! I'm so happy you're here! This chapter is apart of a series so I would recommend going to my page and starting with chapter one.

Evening descended on the sky as the stars came out. I had been walking since sunset to make it to the location that Nikki specified this meeting would happen. In only 30 minutes the sun had done it's duty to set on the horizon and yet I couldn't walk fast enough.

I checked my phone for the time. 7:43pm.

"Shit," I mumbled. "I'm gonna be late." I picked up my pace and went at a jog, I was close but considering the meeting starts in two minutes, I definitely didn't plan my walking time right.

A motorcycle flew past me and on the back of the rider's leather jacket was the Jade Dragon symbol. At least I wouldn't be the only one showing up late, but he could still make it on time. I ran a little faster, I didn't want to be winded but between being late and out of breath, I'd rather be the latter.

I finally was close enough to hear the low chatter of the men in the distance. The meeting spot was a quiet park, nestled behind a corner of the busy city of Tokyo. I got to the foot of the stairs at the parking lot; everyone else was at the top. I took a second to catch my breath, staring up the daunting ascent. Taking the steps two at a time, I reached the top easily enough.

"Amaterasu!" A heard a voice echo the moment I appeared at the top of the stairs. I looked to the left from which it came and saw Ewan jogging over. "What happened? You're late, Nikki is worried sick about you."

"I'm sorry, I underestimated the time it would take to walk here - wait, he's worried about me?"

"Don't worry about it," He said, grabbing my hand. "c'mon, we've got to go meet up with him."

I followed him through the crowd of the 150-some odd people gathered. A prayer shrine came into view and at the top of a platform I saw Nikki waiting and chatting with some people.

"Nikki, Amaterasu's here." Ewan called out when we got close enough. He turned to us when he heard his name and I saw his shoulders relax when his eyes met mine.

"Thank God, I thought you might've changed you're mind. I was honestly about to continue without you." He said when I was close.

"Hell no, I won't change my mind. I had to walk, and I may have messed up my timeframe."

"You don't have a vehicle?" He seemed surprised despite the fact that he saw me walk in to school all the time.

"No. And my taxi budget is gone right now."

"Just call me next time." He said with a smile. "I'll get you whenever."

"Nikki, lets get this going," One of his Captains said.

"Right. Amaterasu, go with Asahi," He extended his arm to the man who just spoke. "he'll take you to the other candidates." He took off and I followed Asahi who was, as I saw on the back of his jacket when he turned, the 2nd District Captain.

He quickly led me to a small group for four men and gave me a crash course introduction of each. Their names, Kenji, Riku, Haider and Mike; was about all I remembered from that 10 second encounter. The chatter died down considerably as Nikki took a spot in the front center of everyone.

"Good evening, men." His voice easily bellowed through the park and those who were still talking quieted down, giving him complete silence.

"Tonight is the meeting that will appoint the new 1st District Captain. Myself and the current four Captains have picked our candidates for this position. Pretty much all of you know how to do this; once we've introduced all the candidates, text the Captain of your District your vote. Please remember, you don't have to vote for the person of your District and I highly recommend that you don't since they'll be taking over a different area. With that, I invite Captain Asahi from the 2nd District up."

Captain Asahi stepped forward, bowing to Nikki as they crossed paths. "Gentlemen, my choice for 1st District Captain is Riku Nishimura." He said. Applause broke out as he stepped up and joined Asahi. "Most of you already know him. He has strong leadership skills and has proven himself loyal on many occasions."

When the crowd quieted, the 3rd District Captain stepped up. "My nomination for 1st District Captain is Haider Ganim."

Haider stepped forward and when he was only a couple feet away, a heard a whisper in my ear from the man behind me.

"Did you have sex with the commander so he would agree to promote you?" He asked.

I quickly clenched my jaw, biting down on my tongue as I pushed back the urge to slap him across the face. I had to make a good impression; winning votes is the only thing that stood between me and getting to help Nikki.

"Or did he promise to rock your world only if you passed?" He chuckled. "You do realize you have no chance at winning this right?"

I relaxed my shoulders and turned back to him, "Is that distrust in our Commander I hear?" I shot back.

"Of course not," he scoffed.

"Oh I see, so you're just sexist - or is it jealously that you're not even on the Commanders radar?"

"...I nominate Kenji Hashimoto." The next Captain hollered above the crowd that was already excited by merely the mention of the name.

He was frozen for a second, staring me down.

"You should probably get up there, wouldn't want to disappoint your fans." I said, turning away from him.

He pushed past me, bumping my shoulder with his as he went up. I shook my head. What a child, I thought.

Nikki stepped up to the front again and with his presence came silence from the men once more. "My candidate will get a lot of push back from some of you, and I understand why, but I want you to keep an open mind about things. They've made a name for themselves, and I know that their presence in the gang has changed a lot of the dynamic; most of it for good in my opinion."

Some of the men next to me were catching on to what Nikki was saying and I could hear them whisper to each other. I stood tall, though, refusing to acknowledge their glances.

"Amaterasu, will you please come up here." He said, looking straight at me. As I walked forward to meet him, he continued to speak;

"Amaterasu made a big impression on me within a few seconds after meeting. And before you guys go and get any ideas, I have already heard all the rumors. Nothing happened between us. She challenged me to a fight one day and the rules were simple, if I won, she would join the Jade Riders. But we stalemated. If we hadn't held back, both of us would have been knocked unconscious from the others blow."

A dull murmur spread through the crowd. I could see them all from up here. Some looked displeased, others looked alright with it.

"I trust Amaterasu with my life." He put his hand on my shoulder. "Now this is an uninfluenced, blind vote as always, so please feel free to ignore your Commander when I say this; I fervently ask you to take Amaterasu into consideration for your vote tonight. It is my deepest wish that she stand up here, side by side with the rest of the men that I hold highly."

He paused. As he looked out on his men it felt as though he was searching the intentions of each one. "With that, we will break for 30 minutes. Talk with each other, get opinions, and send in your vote to your Captains before the 30 minutes are up."

Ewan came up and dismissed the crowd. They dispersed into groups, talking amongst themselves. I turned to Nikki, he was serious but he offered a smile.

"Now we wait," He said, turning to the group of Captains behind him. They were mingling with each other as well. "Did you get a chance to meet the other candidates?"

"Oh, yeah, one of them really made himself known."

"Let me guess; Kenji?" He chuckled.

I shook my head. "He asked me if I had sex with you to get here or if you, and I quote, 'promised to rock my world' if I won."

Nikki facepalmed. "Guys can be so immature sometimes." He said, shaking his head. "Sorry about that."

"Don't worry about it. I can handle myself around rumors."

I stuck with Nikki and Ewan while the timer continued to run. It was easy to hang out with these two and, to be honest, I really hoped the people here saw that. As much I really didn't want to be part of such a political moment within the gang, whenever Nikki and Ewan laughed together, I knew how much I wanted to see things through.

How much I wanted to make them happy. Especially Nikki.

By the time the 30 minutes was up, everyone was gathered together again. Nikki, Ewan, and Asahi were off to the side counting the votes. I stood with the other nominees, feeling the pressure of all the many eyes on me.

When the three heads came forward, silence fell over the crowd. Nikki stepped up, holding a sticky note that had the winners scrawled on it.

"Thank you, everyone, for voting. Some of you changed your minds and sent in a new vote near the end. That's okay, we appreciate you following your instincts on this."

He cleared his throat and continued, "I'm going to get right into it; with a total of 52 votes, the new 1st District Captain is Amaterasu." He said with a grin.

A scoff came from my left. It was Kenji.

Nikki heard it and turned to him. "Something you want to say, Hashimoto?"

His face held a scowl as he stared at Nikki. "You're really telling me that fifty people out here voted for a whore to be a Captain?"

"You can look at the numbers yourself if you wish." Nikki offered, holding up the sticky note.

"Fuck the numbers, she's got no right to even be here." He spat at my feet. "She's using you, Nikki - can't you see that? Don't be biased because she's fucking you."

"Hashimoto, you're out of line." Ewan's face was dark, but before he continued, I stepped up to Kenji. I was sick of standing by while the rest tried to shut him up.

I grabbed a fistful of his short, black hair, pulling him down to my level. "If you've got a problem with me," I said, dragging him, as he struggled mildly, to the open space behind us, "then use your fists."

I pushed him forward, releasing his hair. He wasted no time, anger written in his dark eyes, and ran at me full throttle. I wanted to finish this quickly because knowing Nikki, he wouldn't let it drag on.

Hashimoto kept his head down, coming at me like a wrestler. I side stepped him and spun, swinging my leg high and smacking it down on the back of his head.

He dropped. And he didn't get back up.

I knelt and lifted his head by his hair. He was still breathing; just out cold. I stood and looked to Nikki who only watched with a smirk hidden on his lips.

"Anyone else want to oppose the votes or, better yet, the Commander?" I asked, walking back into full view of everyone.

No one spoke, or even moved a muscle. Nikki came into view next to me.

"Amaterasu is officially 1st District Captain." Nikki's voice bellowed out over the park. "This meeting is adjured."

Series
1

About the Creator

Kia Jones

I'm a writer and a Martial Artist. I blend my love of fiction writing with the knowledge I gain on my Martial Arts journey. Fiction is my passion but I love to post lifestyle and video content too!

Find me on patreon @ alifeofvalor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.