Fiction logo

Within Me

Return

By Miguel Trejo AcostaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I can't take this anymore, the screams ring in my head like a song, it so satisfying. It's only a matter of time before I get out of this shell.

18 hours ago

I'm a 15-year-old farm boy, since I was little, I was obsessed with nature and animals, when I got the news that I would spend the weekend with my grandparents I was jumping in happiness. I can't wait to meet Beth- the cow again, it's been so long since last time, and I get to spend the weekend with them.

The trip to my grandparent's farm was 3 hours and by the time we got to our destination it was past 8. When we got to the farm my parents dropped me off with my grandparents and decided to stay for the night.

I was the first to wake up from the rest, so I decided to explore and meet with Beth. As I walked on the field and green grass, I noticed that there were way fewer animals than when I came last time, I found it strange given that it was mating season. I kept trying to find Beth but failed to do so. I decided it was better to ask grandpa if he knew where she was. When I returned to the house, I found it odd that the lights were off, it was 9 am and nobody was awake, I decided to check the room my parents were in but when I came to the room it was empty. I went to check my grandparent room but it was empty as well. I started to panic and ran around the house to try to find them, but with no luck. Then I heard a ringing sound, at first, I thought it came from the kitchen but as I got closer, I realized it came from outside the house.

As I got closer to the sound, I realized it came from the old barn that was near the house. I clearly remember when I was little that I got yelled at and punished for being near the barn. I hesitated at first to go in, remembering the warnings my parents told me and how I could get myself hurt in that old barn that was soon to fall apart. Upon opening it a potent smell of old came shooting in my nostrils that I nearly fainted. I help myself together and tried not to act childish. It took me a while to realize that the more I got inside the barn the sound faded until I didn't hear it.

Despite the looks on the outside of the barn, the inside looked well preserved and clean. I tried to look for whatever was causing the sound earlier but to no avail. As I was leaving, I noticed a shinning object on the ground that looked very familiar. Upon looking at it closely I noticed that it was my grandmother's wedding ring. My heart sank and my brain started to flood with fear and thoughts of what could have happened to my grandparents, especially when next to the ring a small pool of what looked like blood was just a couple of feet away from the ring.

My head exploded, the ringing sound from earlier retuned stronger and with an unbearable pain not just from my head but my whole body was burning. I could only scream and hope that my parents would come, but something told me that wouldn't be the case.

I been here for some time, I can't move this pain is unbearable, it feels like I'm going to explode. The ringing keeps getting louder just when you think it can't get any worse. As I lay in the old barn that'll become my grave I gasped in horror as I tilted my head and saw my grandparents engulfed in blood, only to see them smile. I can't speak or communicate but something tells me they could understand what I was thinking, as they walked further into the barn, they brought the corpses of my grandparents.

Whatever theses thing where they were not my parents, and I knew I wasn't going to survive this. I don't know what's worst, knowing that I knew what awaits me or the fact the fact that they started to laugh when I thought of my parents.

It feels great to be free, the gentle breeze hits my scaly pink skin. It might take some time to adapt, but I'm thankful I only need to wait a bit more until I can have the taste of a human.

Horror

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MTAWritten by Miguel Trejo Acosta

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.