Fiction logo

Witch Book

The magic within

By MaryBeth CalahorranoPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

My name is Meredith Levine, and I am a witch. A bold statement to proclaim one’s self this day in age, but yes it is true. It is, however, uncertain whether I was born a witch or if I adopted the Wiccan religion. I guess you could say that things progressed in a natural way. I assume that I was always a witch it just took something to bring it out in me. Funny that the something, or should I say someone, was my friend Keith. You could say that Keith’s flame burned brighter than most. Well let’s just face it if you didn’t think Keith was gay you were deaf and blind. He taught me so much about my own capabilities that I could have never discovered on my own. Unfortunately, he couldn’t have prepared me for what lay ahead. During my studies with my new mentor I met a fetching creature named Rebecca. Becca, as she liked to be called, was a very free spirit. Always willing to try anything and did not hold back from speaking her mind. Even when she shouldn’t have. Becca helped me come out of my shell, made me grow a backbone, and helped me realize that my opinion mattered. I always felt a kinship to her because of that. You could say a sisterly bond formed, although I already had a sister. Krista is my big sister. For years when we were younger I would tag along with her and her friends. I always felt more of a burden than a sister in those times. It was our mother’s wish for us to be close since my mother and her sister were not. So where Krista went, I went. As we began to get older I started acquiring my own friends. For a time we had our own separate lives. During this time, Krista went off to college and I met Keith and Becca. Little did Krista and I know that our experiences would lead us onto the same path. After almost 2 years away, Krista had to drop out of college. No money and no job that’s why. She came back disgusted that she couldn’t complete college. I didn’t blame her though. I would have been just as distraught as she was. I began meeting new people during our 2 years apart. Some I had met on my own and most I was introduced to by Keith. Magic is such a touchy art. You never know how things will end up when you do a spell. I never did one to attract people to me, yet somehow people were drawn to me. After high school Keith went off to college and I lost touch with Becca for a time. Although I had some new friends to keep me company.

The years after high school were an interesting time for me. My social circle began to widen. New interesting people came into my life, one of them was Catherine. It was a strange way how we met. Even though it was through our mutual friend Rudy, Catherine and I clicked right from the start. We began to hangout a lot. More like every day. I would work from 10am to 5pm, come home, change and go right back out the door. Most of the time I didn’t have to call her. I just would show up at her house and she was ready to go. Now I know what you are thinking but let me remind you that cell phones were as big as a hard-back book and about $700 a pop. So, yeah, no there was no ‘I’ll text you’ or ‘I’ll call your cell’. Catherine was a senior in high school when I met her. She began to introduce me to her friends from school. Nicole was a year younger than her and Valerie was 16. I was the old lady of the group at 19. The four of us would drive around town just looking for trouble. Mostly we spent our time at the mall. Yes people I was a mallrat. We had a particular schedule most of the time. Friday nights from 6pm to 10pm we were at the mall. Since there was really not much to do during the mid-90s everybody and their mother hung out there. Plus there was the food court and many stores to window shop in. Now I tell you all this because this was the time when I began to experiment further with my witchcraft. Sometimes I acted selfishly with my power, but it was a growing experience. The feeling I had with Becca I began to feel again with Catherine, Nicole and Valerie. Our bond was growing into a sisterhood. My parents rarely saw me, and Krista was away at college. So I was a little wild at this time. The Goth movement was taking center stage at this time. Antique clothing like what was being worn in vampire movies such as ‘Interview with the Vampire’ were being blended with some modern-day clothes. Hence the Goth movement. The girls and I had a particular type of Goth dress that we coined ‘Classy Goth”. Expensive jackets like the movies, bodices and jeans with biker boots. Some of the other Goths were more into leather, chains and more of the punk style Goth. During this time was when I began to dye my brown hair to black. It was a good look for me and shocked the hell out of my friends. We would hang at the mall dressed to the nines and window shop through the mall. After the mall would close we would take ourselves down to the Bristol Warf and practice our magic. There is a secluded spot near the edge of the parking lot. The trees were all over grown there but one area in particular stood out from the rest. This one was on the edge of the water and a branch that hung out over the water. During low tide you could easily walk out under the branch. For some reason why we were drawn to this spot. The energy there was unlike any I had felt previously. We would practice trying to call in the tide or make the wind blow. Sit on the small dock and chant. I cared a book bag with me constantly with supplies, makeup and tarot cards in it. You never know when you might need a candle or lipstick. We would do tarot readings for each other and spells to enhance our luck. Anything that would tickle our fancy at that time. If we weren’t there we would go to New Hope and walk around up there for hours on end. You had all the witch shops like Mystikal Tymes or Gypsy Heaven to shop in. Plus stores like Against the Grain that sold antique weaponry and the clothing that we all enjoyed wearing. We would use our magic there too. Pushing our influence on guys so we could get their attention. Or doing a spell so that the owner wouldn’t see you take a piece of candy. But mostly we just palled around. The stores that we frequented the most we never stole from. I usually had money with me, so it wasn’t necessary. I wasn’t the only one working out of us, Valerie had a job at the burger place down the street from her house. We had fun in those days. Trying new things and playing with our magic. Eventually we would come to find out the truth behind our bond and our powers.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

MaryBeth Calahorrano

I've been writing for a number of years now. I have a published book through Page Publishing and I am currently working on several books. Looking to expand my brand. As well as make some new writer friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.