Fiction logo

Winter in the Trenches

A letter to warm the heart

By Hyde Wunderli Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
16

November 20th, 1916

Dearest Kathleen,

Snow came to wipe the sins of man. With it, the harsh punishment of blistering cold. Despite the heavy layers of white, it will never wash away the blood. Its stains are the remembrance of how far men will go when they believe the righteousness in what they’re fighting for.

Today is slow. I hide from the wind in a dugout with only a small lantern to keep me warm. I sit on ground as hard as Iron. My feet are so cold I risk a lashing from the Sargeant by removing my boots, and wrapping my feet in a sheepskin coat I claimed from a casualty.

I melted snow in a capstan tin with a small candle just so I could shave. The cuts on my face sting in this frigid air. If I could eat the small candle without extinguishing the flame I would. Honest as my love for you, I would swallow that flame. Anyway, after my shave, in my stupidity, I left my lather brush in the water and it froze over.

Despite my absent mind, I’m alive. It seems we’ve faced the worst. After much fighting, We’ve gained significant advantage. We’re being told that control of the western front is just around the corner. It makes me hopeful that I’ll be kissing your porcelain face soon.

I’m afraid I must keep this short, or my hands may become relics of the winter,

This cold heart still beats for you,

Edward.

MicrofictionLove
16

About the Creator

Hyde Wunderli

Enthusiast of dark romanticism or, gothic romance.

Inspired by the works of edger Allen Poe, Herman Melville, Charles Dickens, and Stephen King

Here for the dopamine, the passion, and the challenge to push my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Test3 months ago

    Fabulous work! Keep it up—congratulations!

  • Sahib ali3 months ago

    I like writing on Vocal. My audience tells me how good I am and I believe them not Vocal. Some excellent points here.

  • Mije Mwanza 3 months ago

    Beautiful 💝

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Really a beautiful letter, true and simply honest. Great job

  • JBaz3 months ago

    So heartbreaking beautiful The year and the thought that the war will soon be over …. If only he knew Congratulations

  • Philip Ebuluofor3 months ago

    I am surprised. Your words aren't up to 600 words. How come it is approved?

  • Test4 months ago

    Very creative, Fascinating story

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I have read the letters of veterans and you got the tone just right. ✉️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.