Fiction logo

Winged Tommorow #002

Entery #002

By Darian JacksonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Winged Tommorow #002
Photo by Bill Oxford on Unsplash

No one told me that we were going to go thru this much in such a short amount of time. These changes are happening very rapidly. I guess that is what we get for being in such a fast age. I have been personally learning how to slow down more . You know enjoy the roses for as long as they last. The power grid is unstable to the point where we all are looking for our own ways of generating power .

My place I have set up with some solar panels so I can have a fairly good supply of power mainly for my live stream shows at night. The hostility in everyone's lives have really brought us together to figure out a solution for this insane disease we put ourselves thru.

I have been having my owl gene splice act up more and more on me . I thought that since my GF was spliced that I would try my hand and splice myself with an owl. I did it with one of their DIY kits at home. The owl gene splice was suppose to give me more nocturnal feelings so I could be there for my GF when she would stay up at night and it was also suppose to help with giving me clearer ideas and make me more productive.

The only bad thing is I can't reverse the splice like they said we could . I can just tame it down. Thankfully my splice was not one that takes on any physical form.....that we know of.

I think I have it down pretty far with just diet alone. The owl splice actually just made it harder to work because I would keep getting my mind wondering too far into the future so much so that it makes it hard to live in the now. I noticed I starting doing this more and more the more blue light I took in from my screens especially my VR. My whole life lives on a screen so I have a new problem that I don't see too many having to deal with .

I am still having a steady supply of true blood being shipped out from me ever other day. I think the scientists are saying that they are trying to make some Trueblood for all to use in the lab but they have not been successful in all their attempts. More and more people are loosing loved ones and the city is a complete wreck. Everyone is very scared to go outside now because you can never tell who or what you might bump into.

The government has started a new task force that rounds up all the irate Spliced individuals and ships them into a holding place so they can run tests and see if they can get these splices under control . They have helped really clear up the streets from as much violence as we were having before . No one really knows where they are taking all of these spliced individuals but I have hope they are finding a way to help them . Of course they let all the loved ones of the stricken know when they ID a family member .

I pray I get one of those calls soon.

There are some scary stories circling about on all social media . They have these one people called Werewolf. Doesn't take a genius to figure out what they spliced with. These Werewolf can get very violent and seem to do so during the full moon cycles. Go figure the stories of old were somewhat real or maybe they were just looking into the future and knew this was going to take place.

I have decided since the last time I wrote not to clone my GF . I still believe she is alive out there somewhere . I was reading into it more and the clones live a life of complete misery knowing they are clones. They also have weird existential crisis moments more often than a non clone. The suicide rate for clones are far too high. I talked to a few clones while live streaming and there is defiantly something missing in their eyes. That spark of life just doesn't seem to be there. I think if I found out I was a clone I wouldn't want to be here either not to be all clone bashing or what not . Just my personal opinion. I have been looking everywhere for her and I will keep looking till I find her. Hopefully some day soon.

The government has stepped in and took over all of our basic amenities because so many of the workers just couldn't work any more and struggle with their forming Splices . They have now a brigade of these robots on AI that do all the hard manual labor for us. It's nice because now we can keep an eye out on all of the people who have been spliced and not have to worry about them taking a whole system down while going on a rampage . That was happening all over .

All this blood work they have been doing on me has been taking a toll . I am very glad to help out as best as I can but there is only so much blood an individual can give out to people . I am having to eat 4 times as much as I usually would need to now . I have never felt more alive tho since I can eat as much as I want and not have to worry about gaining a single pound .

I haven't been telling anyone about this but I have been on a constant vivid dream cycle now for a pretty long time. It makes me feel off because a night's rest can be extremely rest filled or hellish and mind draining . I never can tell what each night has to offer to me. The dreams seem so real at times . I can see my GF in one of them getting really cold like unbearably freezing cold. I personally was so cold that i woke up finding my temperature had dropped and a cold sweat started. It gives me hope that she might still be out there . Maybe that is just wishful thinking but I hold true to my wishes. Everyone around me have lost alot of their hope in ever finding a cure. I would like to think that it is out there still and that if we press on we will be finding a cure and hopefully helping anyone that can bunk down and hold onto their loved ones who have overactive splices.

I got my first light bike the other day. The city has been pretty grid locked on the highways so I picked up the latest model of AntiGrav Light bikes. This one is one of the best bikes out there on the market it has mood lighting. It can go on and off road. It uses zero point energy so you never have to charge it up which is nice since the power can't seem to stay on now a days.

I have been enjoying this journaling I think I will make this a daily thing . Here is to the future may it be bright and full of light.

- 07-13-2041

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.