Futurism logo

Winged Tomorrow

Entry 001

By Darian JacksonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Winged Tomorrow
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Entry Number 001

I haven't really tried one of these out for myself. I think my great grandparents called it Journaling. I'm board and this is one of the one things I did learn while in Basic knowledge videos.

Well look at me now we have our first Journal entry. Anyways the reason I am journaling now is because all the power inside has turned on for what may be the last time. The last time we had consistent power it was given to us for only a few hrs. Long enough to have a heated up meal that doesn't take a fire to warm up. I just got the latest "LAI" that runs on my body temperature so I never have to charge it again. I had to sell one of my favorite Memes to get this upgrade :(. They said back in the day that this " Journaling" can be very therapeutic. I need it after all the madness that has ensued here recently.

So I am a planter or what my Great Grandpa would call a "Hippy". We always liked the way plants made us feel. Far better than all the substitute food sources we have been given. The new thing now is milk shakes made of this new Shlorp instead of a lactose. Ughhh I can hear the commercial every time I think of it . hold on let me look it up real quick. hahaha always gets me. Wow that caught me off guard. Wasn't expecting that good of a laugh from just an old time commercial. She loved all my commercial jokes. I'm glad I can laugh at something.

The Animal Gene Therapy Centre was one of the most popular places to go for gene therapy. They had so many different types of animals that you could have as a part of your DNA, it was like you were living in an alternate universe. It seemed like this place couldn't get any more high tech until they started offering animal organs too! The newest thing on their list now are wings and tails for humans. Yes, Humans can now fly around with wings or swim with a tail and not be judged by people because they're just being themselves right?

I was just a normal guy, living life the best I could. That is until I met her... she seemed so different than all of my other friends and family members. She was able to let me express myself without judgement, and that made me feel more whole in a way I had never felt before.

We talked for hours about everything - even if it meant discussing topics we would have been judged for at home or work. One day, while on SnipIT, she told me that we should date exclusively; after some discussion with her parents (she was still living at home) they agreed as long as we were careful to not do anything too risky like kissing in public places or too much social media stalking/gossiping.

It was a time of great change. A lot of us were rebelling against the old ways which we were not afraid to say out loud. I was one of them. But, after some years had passed, most people had become more comfortable with the changes that had been made to society. These gene modifications made It feel like if someone asked you about your DNA modifications, they were making an accusation or question you couldn't/shouldn't answer.

I was never one for the future and all it's tech. I always thought it would be too much to handle, but when my girlfriend wanted to splice her genes as well as mine. I had no choice but to let her do what she wanted. She said it was a personal thing and that we needed to think about the future as well as our present selves. So we spliced up and now I'm more of a person who cares about people's futures with some owl genes I took , and she got a cute kitty ears.

You see when the modifications came out it was on the Deep market first . Then it intergraded into the public market. We knew very little about it before it hit main stream and "Turnt" adverts showed up telling us about this new product.

They said it could be reversed and that there would be no lingering side effects. We all know that to be misinformation now. We can only delay and mildly reverse the gene splices. The splices stay stagnant for a time sometimes never flaring back up but never truly going away. They came out with an antidote per say It's called Tame. No one really knew what was in it but it did delay genetic degeneration. For a moment.

I mean, we had some people grow new limbs when they needed them. It did alot of good in society.

The problem came when Some people would go full animal on us .Once spliced, your splices would continue far longer than anticipated until the person spliced developed more and more like the animal that they spliced with, Making them pretty sporadic and some very violent from the modifications not mixing and actually corrupting their own DNA strands . They called it "Going Wild".

The AI bio-Scrubbers did not catch it till it was too late because the providers of these modifications, Illegally made their molecule look like something else that was easily overlooked. Many of the hospitals were forced to step in and started using this stuff called "True blood" to give to people to reverse the splices. It was only best at delaying these genes from taking over I was marked as one of those True Bloods. Supply was plenty but more and more the demand kept going up the worse everyone with the splices got. Till The they demanded more as a basic human right. Either that or they'd end up wild or dead.

My GF ran off once her modifications started really kicking .Her feline like DNA was enough to make her stay up at night and not be able to create/ craft content the same way she use to.

It was all jumbled, and we both knew something was wrong . How could I not we've been together for 4 whole months now. I started to give her my own Trueblood for her transfusions and quit earning my own true coins from it. I could only give so much. I always hate this thought but I wish I could have given her more. I was pretty sick after I sent her my True Blood via "Drone-Drop". Her splice took to it well to begin with. Later it would get worse and less receptive.

I knew something was up the day she stopped showing up to her live stream shows and my Drone drops came back untouched. I couldn't tell but I thought maybe she was going thru some growing pains.

Growing a tail, whiskers and hair all over your body takes a tole. She would purr while sleeping sometimes, it was so cute.

The people that got more violent genetic modifications were the first to notice something wrong . You know the "I wanna be a tiger" , or "oh I wanna be a snake". Most of the early adapters were in the worst state of being .

Those splices took over very quickly and were the first we saw fully transform even after given massive amounts of true blood. People all over started acting more violent and the state of peace we had with all of our energy grid and clean water was getting cut off and put to a halt without the help of these crucial workers. We had to really bunk down to try and help out the "Creates" who have survived this far.

I don't know where my GF has gone of to . I had a drone go over to her place after having a weird feeling and found her gone. Not even a thing packed for any occasion.

This was common with the Creates. They'd Go "feral" and run off, most of the time to die from the massive bullet busses. I hope to the Omini that my GF did not die in that manner. It has been weeks now and I have not heard from her at all .

She gave me a beautiful locket of her hair pre modification . I keep it in this hallow necklace that was once my Mom's. If she doesn't show back up I don't know what I will do.

I think maybe I could try this new cloning system that came out. It's all the way in NY but It's suppose to help with all of the losses. They say that all the Creates that have died from this can be restored by cloning them. All you need is one strand of their DNA. Of course they are very $$$. Their bodies do degenerate 4 times as fast as a non clones tho .

Do I want to do that to her ?

Where could she have gone?

I have heard that the clones don't have this light in their eyes like the originals seem to have. Whatever that means. It should still work right? Oh wait the power just went out. This was fun. I like the vintage feel of the pen and paper. I will write my sorrows into you again sometime soon . If these power ever stays back on . It is getting really bad out .

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.